Effective January 1, 2005.
New California law restricts possession of .50 BMG rifles and requires that anyone who lawfully possessed one prior to January 1, 2005 register it by April 30, 2006.
Effective January 1, 2005, any person who lawfully possesses a .50 BMG rifle prior to January 1, 2005, is required to do one of the following by April 30, 2006:
- Complete and submit a .50 BMG Rifle Registration Application form along with $25.00 to the Department of Justice. Any number of .50 BMG rifles can be registered for the $25.00 fee provided they are submitted at the same time on the same day. Note: In addition to complete rifles, only fully functional serialized receivers may be legally registered. .50 BMG Rifle Registration Application forms can be obtained from licensed California firearms dealers, and the California Department of Justice Bureau of Firearms at (916) 263-4887.
- Make arrangements with your local police or sheriff's office to relinquish your .50 BMG Rifle. CALL FIRST. DO NOT GO TO THE POLICE OR SHERIFF'S OFFICE WITHOUT FIRST MAKING ARRANGEMENTS.
- Remove the .50 BMG rifle from the state.
Please be aware that failure to comply with these requirements could result in criminal prosecution (Penal Code Section 12280).