About the AG

  • Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Frequently Asked Questions

Handgun Safety Certificate Program

General FAQs

  1. What are the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) requirements?
  2. How do I get a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC)?
  3. How much does the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) cost?
  4. Are there any minimum qualifications/requirements for a person who wants to take the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) test?
  5. How can I prepare for the Handgun Safety Certificate Test?
  6. How can I get a Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guide?
  7. How can I get a Handgun Safety Certificate Video Guide?
  8. If I don't pass the test, can I take it again?
  9. How long is a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) valid?
  10. What are the exemptions to the Handgun Safety Certificate requirement?
  11. If I already have a Basic Firearms Safety Certificate (BFSC), do I still need a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC)?
  12. If I lose my Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) can I get a replacement?
  13. Do I need a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) if I am receiving a handgun from my mother or father?
  14. Do I have to carry my Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) with me whenever I possess or transport my handgun?
  15. Is a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) required when a handgun is being loaned?
  16. Do I need a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) for my handgun I purchased before January 1, 2003?
  17. I am moving into California and intend to bring my handgun with me. Do I need a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC)?
  18. What is the "safe handling demonstration" requirement?
  19. When must the safe handling demonstration take place?
  20. What are the exemptions to the safe handling demonstration requirement?

Back To Top



  1. What are the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) requirements?
    • Prior to purchasing or acquiring a handgun, unless exempted, you must have a valid Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC). You must present your HSC to the firearms dealer at the time you begin a transaction to purchase/acquire a handgun.

  2. How do I get a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC)?
    • To obtain a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) you must score at least 75% (23 correct answers out of 30 questions) on the Handgun Safety Certificate Test covering handgun safety and basic firearms laws. The true/false and multiple choice test is given by Department of Justice Certified Instructors who are generally located at firearms dealerships.

  3. Back To Top

  4. How much does the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) cost?
    • The fee for taking the Handgun Safety Certificate Test and obtaining a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) is twenty five dollars ($25). The $25 fee entitles you to take the test twice if necessary.

  5. Are there any minimum qualifications/requirements for a person who wants to take the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) test?
    • The only requirements are that the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) applicant must be at least 18 years of age and must present clear evidence of identity and age by presenting a California Driver's License or California Department of Motor Vehicles Identification Card.

  6. Back To Top

  7. How can I prepare for the Handgun Safety Certificate Test?
    • The best way to prepare for the Handgun Safety Certificate Test is to read the Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guide. The study guide contains all the information necessary to pass the test. The Handgun Safety Certificate Video Guide is also a good supplemental study tool.

  8. How can I get a Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guide?
    • Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guides are available from licensed California Firearms Dealers or DOJ Certified Instructors at $.50 each. You can also order a study guide with a Department of Justice downloadable order form, FD040, pdf. You can also view or download the Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guide, pdf for free on this website.

  9. Back To Top

  10. How can I get a Handgun Safety Certificate Video Guide?
    • Handgun Safety Certificate Videos are available from licensed California Firearms Dealers and some DOJ Certified Instructors at $5.00 each. You can also order a video with a Department of Justice downloadable order form, FD040, pdf.

  11. If I don't pass the test, can I take it again?
    • Yes. The $25 fee entitles you to take the test twice if necessary. If you fail the test the first time, you may retake another version of the test from the same DOJ Certified Instructor without any additional fee after 24 hours have elapsed. The Certified Instructor is required to offer or make available to you the Handgun Safety Certificate Video Guide.

  12. Back To Top

  13. How long is a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) valid?
    • A Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) is valid for five years from the date of issuance.

  14. What are the exemptions to the Handgun Safety Certificate requirement?
    • There are a variety of Handgun Safety Certificate requirement exemptions. It should be noted that these exemptions are not identical to the former Basic Firearms Safety Certificate (BFSC) certification exemptions. Two general BFSC exemption categories, persons who hold a valid hunting license issued by the State of California and persons who were honorably discharged from the military, do not qualify as exemptions from HSC certification requirements.

  15. Back To Top

  16. If I already have a Basic Firearms Safety Certificate (BFSC), do I still need a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC)?
    • Yes. There are no "grandfathering" provisions in the statute ending the Basic FirearmsSafety Certificate (BFSC) program and initiating the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) program. Anyone wishing to purchase or acquire a handgun needs an HSC, regardless of whether he/she possesses a BFSC.

  17. If I lose my Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) can I get a replacement?
    • Yes. A replacement Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) is available only through the DOJ Certified Instructor who issued your HSC. The HSC replacement cost is $15. The replacement HSC will reflect the same expiration date as your original HSC.

  18. Back To Top

  19. Do I need a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) if I am receiving a handgun from my mother or father?
    • Yes. Prior to taking possession of the handgun, you must havea valid Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC). You must also report the transfer to DOJ, pursuant to Penal Code section 12078(c)(2)(A), within 30 days of the transfer. You may obtain Form FD4544A, pdf for this purpose on this website.

  20. Do I have to carry my Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) with me whenever I possess or transport my handgun?
    • No. Mere possession/ownership of a personally-owned handgun does not require a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC). However, you do have to present your HSC to the firearms dealer at the time you begin a transaction to purchase/acquire a handgun.

  21. Back To Top

  22. Is a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) required when a handgun is being loaned?
    • It depends on the specific circumstances. Generally, a person being loaned a handgun must have a current Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC). However, an HSC is not required when the loan does not exceed three days in duration and the person loaning the handgun is at all times within the presence of the person being loaned the handgun.

  23. Do I need a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) for my handgun I purchased before January 1, 2003?
    • No. Mere possession/ownership of a personally-owned handgun does not require a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC).

  24. Back To Top

  25. I am moving into California and intend to bring my handgun with me. Do I need a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC)?
    • No, you do not need a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) for the purpose of moving into California with your handgun. However, pursuant to Penal Code section 12072(f)(2), there are important personal handgun importation responsibilities that are explained on this website.

  26. What is the "safe handling demonstration" requirement?
    • The safe handling demonstration is a statutory requirement mandating handgun purchasers/recipients to execute a series of specific steps related to loading and unloading the handgun safely. The safe handling demonstration must be performed under the supervision of a DOJ Certified Instructor, and the purchaser must sign an affidavit attesting completion of the safe handling demonstration. The performance steps of a successful safe handling demonstration can be found beginning on page 45 of the Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guide, pdf.

  27. Back To Top

  28. When must the safe handling demonstration take place?
    • The safe handling demonstration must be performed on or after the date the Dealer Record of Sale (DROS) is submitted to DOJ, and prior to the delivery of the handgun. You may find it helpful to perform the safe handling demonstration prior to actually initiating the DROS to ensure that you will be able to take possession of the make and model you select.

  29. What are the exemptions to the safe handling demonstration requirement?
    • The exemptions to the safe handling demonstration include all the exemptions from the Handgun Safety Certificate requirement.

      The HSC program also provides for an exemption when physical disability deprives an individual the necessary agility to execute the demonstration. A signed, written letter from a licensed physician attesting that a physical disability precludes an individual from being able to perform the safe handling demonstration is required for this exemption. This exemption applies to the safe handling demonstration only. There is no exemption from the Handgun Safety Certificate requirement based on physical disability.

  30. Back To Top

Certified Instructor FAQs

  1. What is the DOJ Certified Instructor's role in the Handgun Safety Certificate Program?
  2. What are the qualifications for becoming a DOJ Certified Instructor?
  3. Where can I obtain the firearms safety instruction training that will qualify me to obtain DOJ Certified Instructor certification?
  4. How do I apply to become a DOJ Certified Instructor?
  5. How long is my DOJ Certified Instructor Certificate valid?
  6. What are the requirements for renewing my DOJ Certified Instructor Certificate?
  7. If I lose my DOJ Certified Instructor Certificate can I get a replacement?
  8. How much can I charge for administering the Handgun Safety Certificate Test and issuing the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC)?
  9. Are there any minimum qualifications/requirements for a person who wants to take the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) test?
  10. Under what circumstances can a DOJ Certified Instructor delegate Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) Test giving and issuing HSCs to his/her employees?
  11. Can the DOJ Certified Instructor delegate overseeing the safe handling demonstration to his/her employees?
  12. When a DOJ Certified Instructor purchases/acquires a handgun, can he/she sign the Certified Instructor portion of the Safe Handling Demonstration Affidavit?
  13. What is "that handgun," as used by the 12071(b)(8)(D) PC safe handling demonstration mandate?
  14. What are the Safe Handling Demonstration Affidavit responsibilities?
  15. When must the Safe Handling Demonstration be performed?
  16. How does the DOJ Certified Instructor obtain the necessary Handgun Safety Certificate Program materials?
  17. Can I order a single Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC)?
  18. Can I order a single Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guide?
  19. Can Handgun Safety Certificates (HSCs) be sold or transferred among DOJ Certified Instructors?
  20. What can I do if I damage a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) or make a mistake while filling out the HSC?
  21. If I discontinue my participation in the Handgun Safety Certificate Program, can I return any unused Handgun Safety Certificates (HSCs)?
  22. How long must I retain Handgun Safety Certificate Test Answer Sheets and Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) issuance records?
  23. What are the reporting requirements for Handgun Safety Certificates (HSCs)?

Back To Top



  1. What is the DOJ Certified Instructor's role in the Handgun Safety Certificate Program?
    • The DOJ Certified Instructor may administer the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) Test, issue HSCs, and oversee safe handling demonstrations.

  2. What are the qualifications for becoming a DOJ Certified Instructor?
    • DOJ Certified Instructor applicants must be legally eligible to possess firearms in California. A background check is performed on all DOJ Certified Instructor applicants.

      DOJ Certified Instructor applicants also must possess certification to provide firearms training from one of the entities detailed in Penal Code section 12804(j).

  3. Back To Top

  4. Where can I obtain the firearms safety instruction training that will qualify me to obtain DOJ Certified Instructor certification?
    • The training entities detailed in Penal Code section 12804(j) provide the necessary training to qualify individuals for DOJ Certified Instructor certification. However, not all these training courses are available to the public.

      The entities determined by DOJ to give comparable instruction in firearms safety listed on this website are generally more directly available to the public.

  5. How do I apply to become a DOJ Certified Instructor?
    • To become a DOJ Certified Instructor you must submit a Certified Instructor Application, Form FD037, pdf, to DOJ with a copy of your valid qualifying certification pursuant to California Penal Code section 12804(j) and a $14 non-refundable fee. The $14 fee is waived if you hold a current Certificate of Eligibility and so indicate on your application form.

  6. Back To Top

  7. How long is my DOJ Certified Instructor Certificate valid?
    • The DOJ Certified Instructor Certificate is valid for 5 years.

  8. What are the requirements for renewing my DOJ Certified Instructor Certificate?
    • DOJ will send renewal notices to certified instructors approximately 30 days prior to when their current certificate will expire. To avoid delays in processing, please notify DOJ of any address change prior to when the renewal notice is expected to be mailed out. You can submit address changes or make inquiries as to the status of your renewal notice if you have not received it within 30 days of when your current certificate expires to BOFHSCProgram@doj.ca.gov. Please note that an initial Certified Instructor application (Form BOF 037) should not be submitted to renew the certificate. After you receive the renewal notice, you are required to complete the information and return it, along with applicable fees, to DOJ for processing.

  9. If I lose my DOJ Certified Instructor Certificate can I get a replacement?
    • Yes. In the event of loss or destruction, you may request a replacement DOJ Certified instructor certificate. The request must be made in writing and include a copy of your California Driver's License or California Identification Card, and a ten dollar ($10) processing fee.

  10. Back To Top

  11. How much can I charge for administering the Handgun Safety Certificate Test and issuing the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC)?
    • The maximum fee you can charge for administering the Handgun Safety Certificate Test and issuing a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) is $25. This fee entitles the applicant to take the test twice if necessary.

  12. Are there any minimum qualifications/requirements for a person who wants to take the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) test?
    • The only requirements are that the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) applicant must be at least 18 years of age and must present clear evidence of identity and age by presenting a California Driver's License or California Department of Motor Vehicles Identification Card.

  13. Back To Top

  14. Under what circumstances can a DOJ Certified Instructor delegate Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) Test giving and issuing HSCs to his/her employees?
    • Only licensed firearms dealers who are also DOJ Certified Instructors may delegate HSC test giving and HSC issuances to their employees.

      Non-dealer DOJ Certified Instructors may not delegate testing/certificate issuance responsibilities. Similarly, employees at firearms dealerships who are DOJ Certified Instructors may not delegate testing/certificate issuance responsibilities.

  15. Can the DOJ Certified Instructor delegate overseeing the safe handling demonstration to his/her employees?
    • No. Only DOJ Certified Instructors may oversee the safe handling demonstration.

  16. Back To Top

  17. When a DOJ Certified Instructor purchases/acquires a handgun, can he/she sign the Certified Instructor portion of the Safe Handling Demonstration Affidavit?
    • Instructor may oversee his/her own safe handling demonstration and sign the safe handling demonstration affidavit.

  18. What is "that handgun," as used by the 12071(b)(8)(D) PC safe handling demonstration mandate?
    • "That handgun" is either the very handgun being transferred, or one of the same make and model as the one being transferred.

  19. Back To Top

  20. What are the Safe Handling Demonstration Affidavit responsibilities?
    • The firearms dealer or his/her employee agent must complete and attach to the Dealer Record of Sale (DROS) the affidavit stating the safe handling demonstration requirement was met. The DOJ Safe Handling Demonstration Affidavit, Form FD039, pdf, must be signed and dated by the DOJ Certified Instructor, the handgun purchaser/recipient, and the dealer or his/her employee agent delivering the handgun.

  21. When must the Safe Handling Demonstration be performed?
    • The safe handling demonstration must be performed on or after the date the Dealer Record of Sale (DROS) is submitted to DOJ, and prior to the delivery of the handgun. The Safe Handling Demonstration Affidavit must be completed prior to the delivery of the handgun.

  22. Back To Top

  23. How does the DOJ Certified Instructor obtain the necessary Handgun Safety Certificate Program materials?
    • How does the DOJ Certified Instructor obtain the necessary Handgun Safety Certificate Program materials?

  24. Can I order a single Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC)?
    • No. Handgun Safety Certificates (HSCs) must be ordered in sets of ten, at a cost of $150 per set.

  25. Back To Top

  26. Can I order a single Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guide?
    • No. A minimum order of 25 study guides is required by firearms dealers and DOJ Certified Instructors. Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guides are $.50 each.

  27. Can Handgun Safety Certificates (HSCs) be sold or transferred among DOJ Certified Instructors?
    • No. Handgun Safety Certificates (HSCs) are recorded under the name of the specific DOJ Certified Instructor who purchased them and may not be sold or transferred to another DOJ Certified Instructor.

  28. Back To Top

  29. What can I do if I damage a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) or make a mistake while filling out the HSC?
    • You can exchange a damaged Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) for a replacement HSC at no charge by returning the voided HSC to DOJ. When returning damaged HSCs, you must provide your DOJ Certified Instructor number and indicate you want to receive a replacement HSC. Send damaged HSCs to:

      • California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms - HSC,
        P. O. Box 820200,
        Sacramento, CA 94203-0200.

  30. If I discontinue my participation in the Handgun Safety Certificate Program, can I return any unused Handgun Safety Certificates (HSCs)?
    • Yes. Any unused Handgun Safety Certificates (HSCs) can be returned to DOJ for a refund of the actual purchase price minus a $5 processing fee. If you are discontinuing as a DOJ Certified Instructor, provide a brief resignation statement along with any unused HSCs. Whenever returning HSCs, you must provide your DOJ Certified Instructor number and indicate you want to receive a refund. Return HSCs and accompanying refund request documentation to:

      • California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms - HSC,
        P. O. Box 820200,
        Sacramento, CA 94203-0200.

  31. Back To Top

  32. How long must I retain Handgun Safety Certificate Test Answer Sheets and Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) issuance records?
    • You must retain all completed test answer sheets for three years from the test date. You must retain Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) issuance records for five years.

  33. What are the reporting requirements for Handgun Safety Certificates (HSCs)?
    • Each year during the month of January, DOJ will mail a reminder that, by March 1st, all DOJ Certified Instructors who have ordered Handgun Safety Certificates (HSC) will be required to report the total number of HSCs issued during the previous calendar year. This volume report is required even if zero HSCs were issued.

  34. Back To Top



Firearms Dealers' FAQs

  1. What is the firearms dealer's role in the Handgun Safety Certificate Program?
  2. How do I order the necessary Handgun Safety Certificate Program materials?
  3. What are my Handgun Safety Certificate Program documentation requirements with respect to the transfer of handguns?
  4. It is illegal to photocopy federal credentials. How do I retain a copy of the proof of exemption documentation for individuals with federal credentials?
  5. Are the exemptions from the Handgun Safety Certificate Program requirements the same exemptions as those under the old Basic Firearms Safety Certificate (BFSC) Program?
  6. What are the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) requirement exemption codes?
  7. What are the Safe Handling Demonstration Affidavit responsibilities?
  8. What are the qualifications for becoming a DOJ Certified Instructor?
  9. Where can I obtain the firearms safety instruction training that will qualify me to obtain DOJ Certified Instructor certification?
  10. How do I apply to become a DOJ Certified Instructor?

Back To Top



  1. What is the firearms dealer's role in the Handgun Safety Certificate Program?
    • The firearms dealer ensures and documents that handgun purchasers/transferees present a valid Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) or valid exemption documentation at the time of purchase; completes and maintains a Safe Handling Demonstration Affidavit attesting the mandated safe handling demonstration was successfully performed; and makes the Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guide available to the public at $.50 each.

  2. How do I order the necessary Handgun Safety Certificate Program materials?
    • Firearms dealers may obtain pertinent Handgun Safety Certificate Program supplies by submitt and correct remittance to:

      • California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms - HSC
        P. O. Box 820200,
        Sacramento, CA 94203-0200.

      Please note that, absent DOJ Certified Instructor certification, not all Handgun Safety Certificate Program supplies such as the HSC Tests and Handgun Safety Certificates (HSCs) are available to dealers.

  3. Back To Top

  4. What are my Handgun Safety Certificate Program documentation requirements with respect to the transfer of handguns?
    • In addition to writing the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) number or the HSC exemption code on the Dealer Record of Sale (DROS), you must also keep a copy of the HSC or a copy of the proof of exemption documentation with the original DROS.

      You must also complete and attach to the DROS, an affidavit stating the safe handling demonstration requirement was met.

  5. It is illegal to photocopy federal credentials. How do I retain a copy of the proof of exemption documentation for individuals with federal credentials?
    • For individuals with federal credentials record the person's name, federal agency, and credential number rather than photocopying the credentials.

  6. Back To Top

  7. Are the exemptions from the Handgun Safety Certificate Program requirements the same exemptions as those under the old Basic Firearms Safety Certificate (BFSC) Program?
    • No. The most common exemptions under the Basic Firearms Safety Certificate (BFSC) law that were removed under the new Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) law are: 1) persons who hold a valid hunting license issued by the State of California; 2) persons who were honorably discharged from the military; and 3) firearms dealers when acquiring a handgun for their personal ownership, regardless of whether the handgun is acquired from another dealer or from the dealer's own inventory. These exemptions to BFSC do not apply to HSC.

  8. What are the Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) requirement exemption codes?
      • X01 = Special Weapons Permit Holder
      • X02 = Operation of Law Representative
      • X03 = Handgun being returned to the owner
      • X13 = FFL collector with COE (curio and relic handguns only)
      • X21 = Military - Active Duty
      • X22 = Military - Reserve
      • X25 = Military - Honorably Retired
      • X31 = Peace Officer - California - Active
      • X32 = Peace Officer - Federal - Active
      • X33 = Peace Officer - California - Honorably Retired
      • X34 = Peace Officer - California - Reserve
      • X35 = Peace Officer - Federal - Honorably Retired
      • X41 = Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) Permit Holder
      • X81 = P.O.S.T. 832 PC (Firearms) Training
      • X91 = Particular and Limited Authority Peace Officers
      • X95 = Law Enforcement Service Gun to Family Member

  9. Back To Top

  10. What are the Safe Handling Demonstration Affidavit responsibilities?
    • The firearms dealer or his/her employee agent must complete and attach to the Dealer Record of Sale (DROS) the affidavit stating the safe handling demonstration requirement was met. The DOJ Safe Handling Demonstration Affidavit, Form FD039, pdf, must be signed and dated by the DOJ Certified Instructor, the handgun purchaser/recipient, and the dealer or his/her employee agent delivering the handgun.

  11. What are the qualifications for becoming a DOJ Certified Instructor?
    • DOJ Certified Instructor applicants must be legally eligible to possess firearms in California. A background check is performed on all DOJ Certified Instructor applicants.

      DOJ Certified Instructor applicants also must possess certification to provide firearms training from one of the entities detailed in Penal Code section 12804(j).

  12. Back To Top

  13. Where can I obtain the firearms safety instruction training that will qualify me to obtain DOJ Certified Instructor certification?
    • The training entities detailed in Penal Code section 12804(j) provide the necessary training to qualify individuals for DOJ Certified Instructor certification. However, not all these training courses are available to the public.

      The entities determined by DOJ to give comparable instruction in firearms safety listed on this website are generally more directly available to the public.

  14. How do I apply to become a DOJ Certified Instructor?
    • To become a DOJ Certified Instructor you must submit a Certified Instructor Application, Form FD037, pdf, to DOJ with a copy of your valid qualifying certification pursuant to California Penal Code section 12804(j) and a $14 non-refundable fee. The $14 fee is waived if you hold a current Certificate of Eligibility and so indicate on your application form.

  15. Back To Top



Interested Certified Instructor Training Entity FAQs

  1. Does the California Department of Justice recognize training entities that can provide the marketplace with individuals qualified to serve as DOJ Certified Instructors?
  2. What are the minimum qualifications for California Department of Justice recognition of an entity providing comparable instruction in firearms safety as the entities specified in Penal Code section 12804(j)?
  3. How can I apply for DOJ recognition of my firearms training entity?
  4. How can I obtain an application for California Department of Justice (DOJ) recognition of my firearms training entity?

Back To Top



  1. Does the California Department of Justice recognize training entities that can provide the marketplace with individuals qualified to serve as DOJ Certified Instructors?
    • While only the California Department of Justice (DOJ) can certify DOJ Certified Instructors, the Handgun Safety Certificate statutes authorize DOJ to recognize training entities whose training can qualify individuals for DOJ Certified Instructor certification.

      Penal Code section 12804 (j) authorizes DOJ to recognize entities which provide comparable instruction in firearms safety training as the entities specified within that subdivision. The statute also authorizes DOJ to issue a DOJ Certified Instructor card to applicants possessing training certification from any entity so recognized by DOJ.

  2. Back To Top

  3. What are the minimum qualifications for California Department of Justice recognition of an entity providing comparable instruction in firearms safety as the entities specified in Penal Code section 12804(j)?
    • The minimum training entity instructor qualifications are that the proposed instructor must be a DOJ Certified Instructor with a minimum of 100 hours verifiable experience in providing handgun safety teaching/training.

      The proposed training curriculum must minimally present the following course content:

      Instruction on Safe Handling Demonstration Steps as required by 12070 (b)(8)(D) PC for the following conventional handgun types:

      • Semiautomatic
      • Double Action Revolver
      • Single Action Revolver

      Instruction on Safe Handling Demonstration Steps as required by 12070 (b)(8)(D) PC for the following Handguns with Alternative Designs:

      • Semiautomatic pistol with a non-locking slide
      • Semiautomatic pistol with a fixed magazine
      • Semiautomatic pistol with a magazine-operated toggle lock
      • Semiautomatic pistol with a top-feeding magazine
      • Semiautomatic pistol with a tip-up barrel
      • Break-top revolver
      • Single shot pistol
      • Derringer

      Instruction on how to render a handgun safe in the event of a jam (malfunction) as required by as required by 12070 (b)(8)(E) PC

      Requirement for all students to successfully perform the Safe Handling Demonstration as required by 12070 (b)(8)(D) PC with the three conventional handgun types (Semiautomatic, Double Action Revolver, Single Action Revolver). The handguns used for the demonstration must be provided by the instructor/training entity.

  4. Back To Top

  5. How can I apply for DOJ recognition of my firearms training entity?
    • The completed application package for DOJ recognition of comparable instruction in firearms safety comprises all of the following requisite items:

      • A completed Department of Justice Recognition of Comparable Entity in Firearms Safety Instruction Application Form.
      • A resume or curriculum vitae providing verifiable documentation of having provided at least 100 hours of handgun safety teaching/training for each instructor applicant.
      • A course outline, syllabus, text, or script of the proposed handgun safety instruction curriculum containing the minimum required course content.
      • A sample copy of the applicant training entity's Certificate of Completion.

      The application package for DOJ recognition of comparable instruction in firearms safetyas the entities specified by 12804(j) PC can be submitted to:

      • California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms - HSC Analyst,
        P.O. Box 820200, Sacramento,
        CA 94203-0200.

      There is no DOJ fee associated with this application process.

  6. Back To Top

  7. How can I obtain an application for California Department of Justice (DOJ) recognition of my firearms training entity?
    • Application for Department of Justice Recognition of Entity Giving Comparable Firearms Safety Instruction to Entities Specified in Penal Code Section 12804(j) form is downloadable from this website. The form is also available by written request to:

      • California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms - HSC Analyst,
        P.O. Box 820200,
        Sacramento, CA 94203-0200.

  8. Back To Top



Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]