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TO: ALL CALIFORNIA FIREARMS DEALERS AND MANUFACTURERS 

This bulletin provides a brief summary of new and amended California firearms/weapons laws 
effective January 1, 2004. For more detailed language regarding these legislative changes, you may 
contact the California State Capitol Legislative Bill Room at (916) 445-2323 to obtain copies of the 
bills (order by statute year and chapter number) or you may access the full text of the bills via the 
Internet at http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/. Additional information regarding firearms laws, including the 
full text of the Dangerous Weapons Control Law, is available on the Internet at the Department of 
Justice (DOJ) Firearms Division web site at http://www.ag.ca.gov/firearms. 

SB 238 (Stats. 2003, ch. 499) (Perata) 

!	 Present law requires that every police and sheriff’s department shall make a record entry 
into the Automated Firearms System (AFS) for each firearm that it recovers if that firearm is 
illegally possessed, has been used in a crime, is suspected of having been used in a crime, 
was reported lost, stolen, found, recovered or is under observation (safekeeping) (PC § 
11108). This legislation expressly permits any law enforcement agency to do the same. 

Additionally, this legislation allows any law enforcement agency or agent to make a record 
entry into the AFS for any firearm taken into custody for the purposes of tracing, except 
when the firearm is voluntarily placed with the law enforcement agency (PC § 11108.3).  

!	 Clarifies that sales of machineguns to law enforcement agencies may be transacted only by 
a person who has been issued the proper permit by the DOJ (PC § 12201). 

!	 Provides that a person who has been convicted for a violation of Penal Code Section 246 is 
prohibited from possessing firearms for his or her entire lifetime.  Prior to enactment of this 
legislation, such a conviction was a ten-year firearm prohibition (PC § 12021). 

!	 Repeals provisions that allowed law enforcement agencies to transfer assault weapons to 
retired sworn peace officers. Also repeals provisions that allowed retired peace officers 
who were transferred such assault weapons to be in possession of those assault weapons 
(PC § 12280). 

!	 Adds to the list of destructive devices any device (i.e., flamethrower) designed or intended 
to emit or propel a burning stream of combustible or flammable liquid a distance of 10 feet 
or more (PC § 12301). 

!	 Changes assault weapon “step-down” provisions by disallowing the late registration of an 
illegally possessed assault weapon and requiring the weapon's relinquishment or 
destruction. 
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SB 255 (Stats. 2003, ch. 298) (Ducheny) 

!	 Provides a procedure for any person to obtain a determination directly from the DOJ as to 
whether he or she is eligible to possess firearms.  No person may require or request another 
person to obtain such a firearms eligibility check.  The DOJ is authorized to charge a fee of 
$20 for conducting each check. The application form to request a personal firearms 
eligibility check will be made available on the DOJ Firearms Division website at 
http://www.ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/ (PC § 12077.5). 

SB 489 (Stats. 2003, ch. 500) (Scott) 

!	 Requires that effective January 1, 2006, no semiautomatic center-fire pistol model may be 
added to the roster of handguns certified for sale in California unless it has a chamber load 
indicator or, if it has a detachable magazine, a magazine disconnect mechanism.  No rimfire 
semiautomatic pistol that has a detachable magazine may be added to the certified list of 
handguns for sale in California unless it has a magazine disconnect mechanism.  Effective 
January 1, 2007, no semiautomatic pistol may be added to the roster unless it has both a 
chamber load indicator and, if it has a detachable magazine, a magazine disconnect 
mechanism.  Handgun models that have been placed on the roster prior to the new 
requirements becoming operative may remain on the roster without these features 
(PC §§ 12126, 12130). 

!	 Exempts the sale, loan, or transfer of any semiautomatic pistol that is to be used solely as a 
prop in a motion picture, television, or video production by an authorized agent of the entity 
producing the production or event from the requirements pertaining to the roster of 
handguns certified for sale in California (PC § 12132). 

SB 824 (Stats. 2003, ch. 502) (Scott) 

!	 Applies firearm dealership security requirements to all firearms dealers.  Prior to enactment 
of this legislation, some firearms dealers were exempt from security requirements if they 
were located in the unincorporated area of a county with a population under 200,000 
persons or within a city with a population under 50,000 persons. Also allows local licensing 
authorities to impose stricter security standards on firearms dealers that fall within their 
licensing jurisdictions (PC § 12071). 

!	 Allows firearms dealers to require each of their employees who has access to unsecured 
firearms or who handles, sells, or delivers firearms to obtain a Certificate of Eligibility 
(COE) from the DOJ as evidence that the employee is not prohibited from possessing 
firearms.  Also requires the salesperson to record his or her COE number, if he or she has a 
COE, on the Dealer’s Record of Sale (DROS) form for each firearm transaction that he or 
she conducts. Requires the DOJ to notify the firearms dealer in the event an employee is 
determined to be or becomes prohibited from possessing firearms (PC §§ 12071, 12077). 

!	 Requires the firearms dealer to record on the applicable DROS form the date a firearm is 
delivered to the purchaser/transferee (PC § 12077). 
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!	 Clarifies that a firearms dealer conducting a private party firearm transfer may charge a 
transfer fee of $10 per firearm in addition to the $20 in applicable DOJ fees.  The dealer 
may charge no other fee associated with such a transfer (PC § 12077). 

AB 161 (Stats. 2003, ch. 754) (Steinberg) 

!	 Expressly authorizes the DOJ to use the DROS fund to cover the costs of firearms-related 
regulatory and enforcement activities related to the sale, purchase, loan, or transfer of 
firearms (PC § 12076). 

AB 1455 (Stats. 2003, ch. 246) (McLeod) 

!	 Removes civil penalties that apply to commercially selling, making, distributing, etc., an 
imitation firearm that shoots any 6 mm or smaller caliber BB or pellet.  Prior to this change, 
only BB devices that shoot metallic BBs/pellets were exempt from civil penalties.  The 
effect of this change is that it allows air-soft imitation firearms and similar devices to be 
sold, kept for sale, transported, etc. As with any BB device, no such air-soft gun may be 
sold to a person who is under 18 years of age nor furnished to a person under 18 years of 
age without the express or implied consent of that minor’s parent or legal guardian 
(PC §§ 417.2, 12001, 12551, 12552). 

Revised Dealer’s Record of Sale of Firearms (DROS) Application/Worksheet 

Both the computerized DROS and the DROS worksheet have been revised to capture the 
salesperson’s COE number and the firearm delivery date as previously discussed.  You may make 
copies as needed or you may download additional copies from the DOJ Firearms Division web site at 
http://www.ag.ca.gov/firearms. In some instances, such as a computer malfunction or firearm 
transaction initiated at a gun show, firearms dealers may utilize the DROS application/worksheet.  If 
the transaction is started with the application/worksheet, it must be attached to the completed 
electronic printout. 
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If you have any questions or require further assistance concerning this Information Bulletin, please 
contact the Firearms Division at (916) 263-4887. 

Sincerely, 

RANDY ROSSI, Director 
Firearms Division 

For 	BILL LOCKYER 
Attorney General 
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