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Attorney General’s Annual Report   
on Accusations Prosecuted for  Department of  

Consumer Affairs  Client Agencies  

January 1, 2019 

 EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

This is the  second  annual  report by the  Office of  the Attorney General  pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code section 312.2, which became effective on January  1, 2016,  requiring annual  reports  
to be  filed by January 1st  each year.  This  report  is  based on data  from Fiscal Year 2017-18.  It  provides  
information concerning  accusation referrals  received  and accusations  adjudicated  for each Department  
of Consumer Affairs  client agency  represented by  the Licensing Section and Health Quality  
Enforcement Section of the Office of the  Attorney General.  

Each client agency is unique and not comparable to others, yet some general observations can be 
made from the data collected to compile this report. In Fiscal Year 2017-18, approximately 43 percent 
of the legal work performed by the Licensing Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section was for 
the prosecution of accusation matters, which are the focus of this report. During the year, 4,409 
accusation referrals were received from our Department of Consumer Affairs client agencies. About 2 
percent of accusation referrals to the Office of the Attorney General were rejected, and 5 percent of 
accusation referrals required further investigation. 

There were 3,310 adjudications of accusation matters by the Office of the Attorney General during 
the year. The accusations adjudicated were referred to this office in Fiscal Year 2017-18 or in a prior 
fiscal year. Multiple adjudications can occur when more than one licensee is included within one matter, 
each with different adjudication dates and types, or a client agency exercises its discretion to reject an 
original adjudication. Approximately 55 percent of the total adjudications were by stipulated settlement, 
29 percent by default, 13 percent by administrative hearing, and 3 percent resulted from withdrawal of 
accusations by the agencies. 

BACKGROUND  

Licensing Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section 

The Licensing Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section of the Office of the Attorney 
General’s Civil Law Division specialize in professional and vocational licensing law in California. These 
sections represent 38 Department of Consumer Affairs agencies that issue multiple types of 
professional and vocational licenses. They provide legal representation to these agencies in many 
kinds of licensing matters to protect California consumers and enhance the quality of the professions 
and vocations. Liaison deputies also regularly consult with agency staff to advise them on jurisdictional, 
legal, and programmatic issues. Both sections’ legal staff also provide training for the Department of 
Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, agency investigators, and agency staff. 

Both sections prosecute licensing matters, including accusations (license discipline), which 
comprise about 43 percent of their combined caseload. The balance of prosecution matters consist of 
statements of issues (appeal hearings when a license application has been denied), interim suspension 
petitions (hearings before the Office of Administrative Hearings for immediate suspension of a license), 
injunction proceedings (brought in superior court to stop unlicensed practice), post-discipline matters 
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(when a licensee petitions for reduction of penalty, or reinstatement of a revoked license), citations 
(appeal hearings when a citation has been issued), Penal Code section 23 petitions (seeking a license 
restriction during the pendency of a criminal proceeding), subpoena enforcement actions (to obtain 
records needed for the investigation of complaints), judicial review proceedings (superior court review 
of final administrative decisions), appeals (usually from superior court review proceedings), and civil 
litigation related to license discipline (defending agencies in civil lawsuits brought in state or federal 
courts). 

Of these many types of legal actions, Business and Professions Code section 312.2 requests data 
only for the prosecution of accusation matters. Accusations are the primary component of the 
enforcement program for each licensing agency. The legal services in other types of licensing matters 
handled by the Licensing Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section are not included in this 
report, except where accusations are combined with petitions to revoke probation. 

Department of Consumer Affairs Client Agencies 

The 38 Department of Consumer Affairs agencies represented by the Licensing Section and Health 
Quality Enforcement Section each have different licensing laws, programs, and processes unique to 
their practice areas. A few agencies issue only one type of license, but most issue multiple license 
types. As a result, they differ in how they refer accusation matters to the Office of the Attorney General; 
some refer one matter for each licensee, while others refer multiple licensees involved in the same or 
related acts for which discipline will be sought to be included in a single accusation. About one-third of 
client agencies represented by the Licensing Section file a single accusation naming all of their 
licensees involved in the events underlying the disciplinary action. None of the agencies represented by 
the Health Quality Enforcement Section file a single accusation against multiple licensees. Instead, a 
separate accusation is filed against each licensee, and when multiple licensees are involved in the 
same events, the accusations may be consolidated for hearing. Any agency may also refer additional 
investigations to the Office of the Attorney General for prosecution while an initial accusation matter is 
pending, and these subsequent investigations are counted as additional accusation referrals in this 
report. 

There are also other differences among the agencies. Some agencies have higher default rates 
than others, and some have higher rates of representation by counsel in their accusation matters. The 
applicable burden of proof varies based on the type of professional or business license. Generally, 
when there are specific educational and testing requirements to obtain a license, disciplinary charges 
must be proven by clear and convincing evidence to a reasonable certainty. Most accusation matters 
brought by Department of Consumer Affairs agencies are subject to this burden of proof, but a few 
license types are subject to a lower burden of proof, i.e., preponderance of evidence. Generally, these 
are licenses that permit operation of a business at a specific location, such as an automotive repair 
dealership or pharmacy. Only about a dozen Department of Consumer Affairs agencies are required to 
file their accusations within a prescribed statute of limitations, which generally range from one year to 
five years, but may be longer in specific circumstances. All Department of Consumer Affairs client 
agencies except the Medical Board of California are entitled to recover their costs of investigation and 
prosecution from respondents. The data included in this report are consistent with each client’s 
licensing programs and practices to the extent possible, but as a result of the wide variances among 
the many agencies, often are not comparable to each other in any meaningful way. 

Investigation Process 

Agencies also differ in how they investigate their cases. Investigations are assigned to balance 
quality and efficiency and avoid insufficient evidence, which causes delay while supplemental evidence 
is gathered. First and most commonly, agencies investigate their cases using their own staff, including 
inspectors, sworn and unsworn investigators, investigator assistants, or analysts. Second, certain kinds 
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of cases are required to be referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation for 
investigation consistent with Complaint Prioritization Guidelines developed pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code section 328. Medical Board cases are excluded from the requirements of section 
328. From 2006 to December 31, 2018, Medical Board investigations were handled under a third model 
known as Vertical Enforcement and Prosecution, pursuant to Government Code section 12529.6. 
Vertical Enforcement required a deputy attorney general to be jointly assigned to the investigation with 
a Division of Investigation investigator from the Health Quality Investigation Unit. If the investigation 
resulted in the filing of an accusation, the same deputy attorney general would also be responsible for 
prosecuting the case for the Medical Board. Some agencies represented by the Health Quality 
Enforcement Section opted to have some or all of their investigations conducted under the Vertical 
Enforcement model. 

Administrative Adjudication Process 

If the investigation reveals evidence that a licensee has violated the agency’s practice act, the 
agency refers the matter to the Office of the Attorney General to initiate a legal proceeding to revoke, 
suspend, limit, or condition the license, which is called an accusation. (Gov. Code, § 11503.) 

Upon receipt, a deputy attorney general reviews the transmitted evidence to determine its 
sufficiency to meet the requisite burden of proof and for any jurisdictional issues. If the evidence is 
insufficient and circumstances suggest additional avenues for evidentiary development, the deputy may 
request further investigation from the agency. When evidence is insufficient and further investigation is 
not recommended, or legal issues prevent prosecution, the Office of the Attorney General declines 
prosecution, and the case is rejected, or reviewed and returned to the agency. 

Based on sufficient evidentiary support, a deputy attorney general prepares an accusation to initiate 
the agency’s adjudicative proceeding. The accusation pleading is sent to the agency for signature by 
the executive director, executive officer, or other designated complainant for the agency. The 
accusation is filed when the complainant signs it, and it is then served by the agency, or returned to the 
Office of the Attorney General for service on the licensee, known in the accusation proceeding as the 
respondent. When charged in an accusation, a respondent has a right to an adjudicative hearing under 
the California Administrative Procedure Act (Gov. Code, tit. 2, div. 3, ch. 5, commencing with §11500). 
Once served with an accusation, the respondent must file a notice of defense within fifteen days, or is 
in default. Once the notice of defense has been received, a hearing is scheduled with the Office of 
Administrative Hearings. If no notice of defense is received, then a default is prepared for presentation 
to the client agency for its ultimate decision. 

The deputy attorney general prosecutes the accusation case before the Office of Administrative 
Hearings. Upon conclusion of the hearing, the case is submitted to the administrative law judge who 
presides over the hearing, prepares a proposed decision, and sends it to the agency for its ultimate 
decision. Of course, a stipulated settlement (such as public reprimand, probation, license surrender, or 
revocation) can occur at any time and is the most common method of adjudication of accusation 
matters. 

The agency itself makes the final decision in each accusation case. The agency can accept or 
reject a settlement, and if rejected, the proceedings will continue. After an administrative hearing, the 
agency can accept the proposed decision issued by the administrative law judge, in which case it 
becomes the final decision. However, the agency may opt to reduce the penalty, or reject the proposed 
decision and order the hearing transcript. After review of the transcript and the evidence in the case, it 
can then adopt the proposed decision or issue its own decision. Most cases are resolved when the 
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agency accepts a stipulated settlement or proposed decision, but if not, additional proceedings ensue, 
which take more time. 

Even after an agency’s decision is issued, it may not be final. A respondent may exercise the right 
to petition for reconsideration, and if granted by the agency, the final decision will be reconsidered. This 
can also happen if an agency decides a case based upon the default of a respondent for failure to 
timely file a notice of defense, or failure to appear at a duly noticed hearing. Upon petition by the 
respondent, the agency can vacate the default decision, and additional proceedings are conducted to 
ultimately decide the case. Each of these types of post-submission events will lengthen the processing 
of a case and require further adjudication. 

Once the agency’s decision is final, it is still subject to judicial review in administrative mandamus 
and appellate proceedings. In very few cases, judicial review results in remand to the agency to 
conduct further administrative proceedings or reconsider its decision. In these cases, the ultimate, final 
decision of the agency may be delayed by many months, or even one or more years. 

MEASURES REPORTED 

The text of Business and Professions Code section 312.2 is set forth in its entirety in the attached 
appendix. We provide the following interpretation of terms, and description of the manner in which the 
data was gathered for each of the reporting metrics in subdivisions (a)(1) – (7) and (b)(1) – (6) as 
follows. 

(a)(1) The number of accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 

Accusation matter means an investigation of one or more complaints which the agency has referred 
to the Office of the Attorney General to review evidence and, if appropriate, prosecute the matter 
through the disciplinary process as an accusation. 

Accusation matters are counted by each investigation report received that bears a distinct 
investigation number. Some agencies request that more than one respondent be named and 
prosecuted in a single accusation, in which case the investigation number is counted as an accusation 
matter for each respondent. Multiple investigations may be referred during the time that the Office of 
the Attorney General is prosecuting the agency’s initial accusation referral, which can span different 
fiscal years. Each investigation received during the reporting period is counted for each respondent to 
which it pertains. 

(a)(2) The number of accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 

Rejected for filing describes the determination made by a deputy attorney general with a 
supervisor’s approval, that an accusation should not be filed. An accusation can be rejected for many 
reasons, including (1) because the evidence submitted is insufficient to meet the burden of proof to 
sustain a cause for discipline under the agency’s applicable practice act, (2) the events in question are 
not within the statute of limitations, and/or (3) disciplinary action is not supported by law or public policy. 
When prosecution is declined, the investigative file is returned to the client agency and the case is 
closed in the Office of the Attorney General. 

A rejection for filing during the reporting period is counted once for each respondent to which the 
rejection pertains, without regard to the number of investigations referred to the Office of the Attorney 
General for consideration. 
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(a)(3) The number of accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the 
Attorney General. 

Further investigation requested describes an instance when a deputy attorney general reviews the 
evidence in the investigation and determines that it is insufficient to meet the burden of proof, but there 
are avenues available to augment the evidence to support a cause for discipline under the agency’s 
applicable practice act. With supervisory approval, the deputy may request further investigation from 
the agency or the Division of Investigation, or it is done internally at the Office of the Attorney General. 
When further investigation is requested in a matter handled by the Licensing Section, the file remains 
open pending receipt of supplemental investigation, and is documented accordingly. In the Health 
Quality Enforcement Section, the file is returned to the client agency, and the matter is closed. The file 
is reopened if the matter is re-referred to the Office of the Attorney General with additional evidence. 

Each request for further investigation made during the reporting period is counted in each matter, 
and is not necessarily associated with the number of referrals received in the matter, or number of 
respondents to which the further investigation may pertain. There may be only one request for further 
investigation in a matter that contains more than one respondent or more than one investigation. There 
may also be more than one further investigation request made pertaining to a single respondent in a 
matter with only one referral. 

(a)(4) The number of accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the 
Attorney General. 

Further investigation received describes the additional investigation received as a result of further 
investigation requested, as described above. Very rarely, an agency refers a matter back to the Office 
of the Attorney General with additional investigation and requests reconsideration of a previous 
decision not to prosecute (i.e., rejected). If the matter is accepted for prosecution, this is also recorded 
as further investigation received. Additional investigation received is distinguished from a new referral 
of an accusation matter from a client agency, which is counted in subdivision (a)(1), but is not counted 
in (a)(4). 

Each supplemental investigation received during the reporting period is counted in each matter and 
is not necessarily associated with the number of referrals received in the matter or number of 
respondents to which the further investigation may pertain. 

(a)(5) The number of accusations filed by each constituent entity. 

Accusation means the initial accusation filed in a matter to initiate proceedings to revoke or 
suspend a license against one or more respondents, and any subsequent amended accusation filed in 
the matter. Accusations may be amended during the pendency of a case for a variety of reasons, most 
commonly because the client agency refers an additional investigation of a new complaint, and the 
accusation is amended to add new causes for discipline based on the new investigation. Filed means 
the accusation or amended accusation is signed by the agency’s designee, known as the complainant, 
who is usually the executive officer or executive director of the agency. The accusation is filed on the 
date the document is signed. 

Each accusation or amended accusation filed during the reporting period is counted and reported 
under subdivision (a)(5). 
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(a)(6) The number of accusations a constituent entity withdraws. 

On occasion, the complainant withdraws the accusation after it has been filed, terminating the 
prosecution of the accusation matter. A common reason for an accusation to be withdrawn is the death 
of the respondent against whom the accusation is filed. In other cases, the evidentiary basis for the 
matter may change during litigation, or evidence received from a respondent in the course of discovery 
may lead to re-evaluation of the merits of the case. The withdrawal of an accusation is counted 
separately for each respondent named in the accusation. 

(a)(7) The number of accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 

Adjudication means the work of the Office of the Attorney General has been completed to bring the 
case back before the agency’s decision maker for its final decision. There are four types of adjudicative 
events: (1) A default decision and order prepared and sent to the agency because a respondent did not 
file a notice of defense or failed to appear at a duly noticed administrative hearing; (2) A stipulated 
settlement signed by a respondent and sent to the agency to consider accepting as its disposition of the 
matter for that respondent; (3) The submission of the case at the conclusion of an administrative 
hearing to an administrative law judge to prepare a proposed decision, and the decision is sent to the 
agency for its consideration; and (4) Withdrawal of an accusation by the complainant, which terminates 
the matter. An adjudicative event for each respondent named in an accusation is necessary before the 
matter is fully adjudicated. 

An adjudicative event is counted for each named respondent that occurs during the reporting 
period. In matters where more than one licensee is named in the accusation, more than one 
adjudicative event will be counted if it occurs during the reporting period. 

Multiple adjudicative events can also occur in cases with only a single respondent. This happens 
when an agency does not accept a stipulated settlement, does not adopt a proposed decision 
submitted by an administrative law judge, grants reconsideration of its decision, or when a superior 
court judge remands the matter to the agency for further consideration. These post-submission 
adjudicative events are counted in reporting the number of accusation matters adjudicated in 
subdivision (a)(7), but because they are not original adjudications they are not included in calculating 
the averages reported in subdivisions (b)(3), (b)(4), and (b)(6). 

(b)(1) The average number of days from the Attorney General receiving an accusation 
referral to when an accusation is filed by the constituent entity. 

The date that each accusation referral is received in the Office of the Attorney General is 
documented. The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(1) begins on the date of receipt 
of the first accusation referral in each matter and ends on the date the complainant signs the initial 
accusation in each matter. Amended accusations received after the client agency’s initial referral are 
not included in the average. 

(b)(2) The average number of days to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to 
the Attorney General after further investigation is received by the Attorney General from a 
constituent entity or the Division of Investigation. 

Prepare an accusation in subdivision (b)(2) is different from filing an accusation in subdivision 
(b)(1). An accusation is prepared (i.e., the preparation is based on an attorney’s familiarization with the 
technical subject matter issues, thorough review of the evidence and expert reports to determine 
chargeable causes for discipline, then drafting, and supervisorial review of the accusation) by the 
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assigned deputy attorney general and then sent to the complainant at the agency to be reviewed, 
approved, and signed. 

Re-referred means the date when supplemental investigation has been received by the Office of the 
Attorney General in response to a request for further investigation, or, in rare cases, following rejection 
of an accusation matter. 

The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(2) begins on the date each initial 
accusation referral was received in the Office of the Attorney General – including time for initial review 
of the matter, request for further investigation, further investigation conducted, receipt of the 
supplemental investigation by the Office of the Attorney General from the agency, re-review by the 
deputy, and the deputy preparing the accusation – and ends on the date the deputy sends the prepared 
accusation to the complainant for review and filing in each matter. The average may also include review 
of additional referrals received while further investigation is being conducted on the initial referral that 
required it. 

Notably, the matters that required further investigation before preparation of an accusation reported 
in subdivision (b)(2) are included in the average number of days to file accusations reported in 
subdivision (b)(1). As a consequence, delays in preparing accusations for cases that required further 
investigation generally will increase the average number of days to file the agency’s accusations 
reported in subdivision (b)(1). 

(b)(3) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 
General transmitting a stipulated settlement to the constituent entity. 

Settlements are negotiated according to authorization provided by the complainant based on the 
agency’s published disciplinary guidelines. A stipulated settlement is provided to the agency’s decision 
maker who decides whether to accept the settlement as its disposition of the case against the 
respondent. 

The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(3) begins on the date of filing the initial 
accusation in each matter, and ends on the date the stipulated settlement for each respondent is sent 
to the agency for its consideration. 

As described in subdivision (a)(7), above, post-submission settlements are not included in 
calculating the average reported in subdivision (b)(3). Only one settlement that occurs during the 
reporting period for each respondent named in an accusation is included to calculate the average. In 
matters where more than one respondent is named in the accusation, more than one stipulated 
settlement will be included in the average if they all occurred during the reporting period. 

(b)(4) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 
General transmitting a default decision to the constituent entity. 

If a respondent fails to send a notice of defense to the assigned deputy attorney general or agency 
within 15 days after service of the accusation, or fails to appear at a duly noticed administrative hearing 
on the accusation, the respondent is in default. The agency can opt to present the case to an 
administrative law judge without participation by the respondent who has defaulted. However, most 
often, the agency requests the deputy to prepare a default decision and order for the agency’s decision-
maker to consider issuing as its final decision against the respondent. Many agencies have delegated 
authority to their executive officers to adopt default decisions as a matter of course without 
consideration by the board itself. 
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The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(4) begins on the date each initial 
accusation in a matter is filed, and ends on the date of transmission of the default decision and order to 
the agency for each respondent. 

As described in subdivision (a)(7), above, post-submission defaults are not included in calculating 
the average reported in subdivision (b)(4). To calculate the average, only one default that occurs during 
the reporting period for each respondent named in an accusation is included. In matters where more 
than one respondent is named in the accusation, more than one default will be included in the average 
if they all occurred during the reporting period. 

(b)(5) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 
General requesting a hearing date from the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

After a notice of defense has been received from each respondent named in an accusation, the 
deputy attorney general assigned to the matter is responsible to coordinate with opposing counsel, 
unrepresented respondents, prosecution witnesses, and the Office of Administrative Hearings to 
determine a hearing date when everyone is available. The deputy attorney general prepares a request 
to set the hearing based on this coordination and sends it to the Office of Administrative Hearings to 
calendar the hearing. 

The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(5) begins on the date the initial 
accusation in each matter is filed, and ends on the date the request to set a hearing in each case is 
sent to the Office of Administrative Hearings. Infrequently, a request to set a hearing is done more than 
once in a case, usually because a continuance has been granted. Only the first request to set a hearing 
in a case is included in calculating the average. 

(b)(6) The average number of days from the Attorney General's receipt of a hearing date 
from the Office of Administrative Hearings to the commencement of a hearing. 

When the Office of Administrative Hearings receives the request to set hearing sent by the deputy 
attorney general, the hearing date is set on its calendar and the parties are informed of the hearing 
date. Unless an intervening motion for a continuance is granted by an administrative law judge, the 
hearing will commence on that date, and depending on the length of the hearing and intervening 
factors, may conclude on the same day or at a later date. 

The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(6) begins on the date the deputy attorney 
general receives notice from the Office of Administrative Hearings that the hearing date has been set 
for each case, and ends on the date the hearing in each case actually commences. As described in 
subdivision (a)(7), above, any post-submission commencement of a hearing is not included in 
calculating the average reported in subdivision (b)(6). When motions to continue hearings are granted, 
the commencement of hearings are delayed, and the average number of days will increase as a 
consequence. 

METHODOLOGY 

Case Management System 

This report is based on data entered by legal professionals in ProLaw, the case management 
system of the Office of the Attorney General. Each matter received by the Licensing Section and Health 
Quality Enforcement Section from a client is opened in this system. Rules for the entry of data have 
been created by the sections, and are managed by the Case Management Section of the Office of the 
Attorney General, which dictates the definitions, dating, entry, and documentation for each data point. 
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Section-specific protocols, business processes, and uniform standards across all professionals 
responsible for data entry ensure the consistency, veracity, and quality of the reported data. The data 
entered has been verified to comply with established standards. The data markers in administrative 
cases have been used to generate the counts and averages in this report. Every effort has been made 
to report data in a transparent, accurate, and verifiable manner. The Office of the Attorney General 
continues to improve its technology, systems and protocols, and integrate these into its business 
routines and operations. 

Data Presentation 

The information required to be reported by Business and Professions Code section 312.2 has been 
organized on a separate page for each constituent entity in the Department of Consumer Affairs 
represented by the Licensing Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section of the Office of the 
Attorney General. Each page includes the number of licenses and types of licenses issued by the 
agency, which were taken from the 2017 Annual Report of the California Department of Consumer 
Affairs, containing data from Fiscal Year 2016-17. The report can be found online at: 
https://www.dca.ca.gov/publications/2017_annrpt.pdf. The following Department of Consumer Affairs 
website contains links for further information: http://www.dca.ca.gov/about_dca/entities.shtml. Any 
applicable statute of limitations has been included for each client agency’s page, as well as the 
frequency of more than one respondent being named in the agency’s accusations. 

Table 1: Business and Professions Code section 312.2, subdivision (a) 

Table 1 on the page for each agency provides the counts for various aspects of accusation matters, 
as requested under subdivision (a) of section 312.2, such as the number of accusation referrals 
received and the number of accusations filed (subd. (a)(1) and (5)). There are some differences in the 
counts reported for subdivision (a) in this report compared to the first annual report. First, in reporting 
the number of accusation matters received pursuant to subdivision (a)(1), this year we have reported 
every accusation referral received for each client agency of the Licensing Section and Health Quality 
Enforcement Section in a consistent manner across the two sections. In the first annual report, every 
referral was counted by the Health Quality Enforcement Section. However, due to different business 
processes and rules for entering data in ProLaw for the Licensing Section, count of referrals was based 
only on new matters opened in ProLaw, and therefore did not include referrals for each licensee named 
in multiple respondent cases and subsequent referrals received after the initial referral. Effective in 
Fiscal Year 2017-18, the case management system rules were adapted to provide consistency in the 
manner in which referrals are counted for both sections. As a result, in this second annual report, the 
number of referrals reported for all client agencies represented by the Licensing Section exceeds the 
number of referrals reported last year by 42 percent. 

The second difference this year is in the manner of counting accusations pursuant to subdivision 
(a)(5). This year we have reported the total number of accusations filed for each client agency, which 
include both initial accusations filed to initiate disciplinary proceedings and amended accusations. In 
the first report, only the Health Quality Enforcement Section reported amended accusations. In this 
report, we have ensured that the count of accusations is consistent for all client agencies, including 
both initial and amended accusations. 

Table 2: Business and Professions Code section 312.2, subdivision (b) 

Table 2 provides the averages requested under subdivision (b) of section 312.2, which are based 
on the accusation matters adjudicated during the year, as reported under subdivision (a)(7). We have 
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included the mean, median, standard deviation, and number of values in the data set from which the 
averages were determined. The average expresses the central or typical value in a set of data, which is 
most commonly known as the arithmetic mean. The central value in an ordered set of data is known as 
the median. The standard deviation (SD) for a data set provides context for averages. A low SD 
indicates that the data points tend to be close to the mean of the set, while a high SD indicates that the 
data points are spread out over a wider range of values. 

Compared to the median, the mean is more sensitive to extreme values, or outliers, and the number 
of values, or sample size. When the mean and median are nearly equivalent, that is a likely indicator 
that there are no or few extreme values in the data set. However, when there is a large difference 
between the mean and median, it is likely that there are one or more extreme values skewing the data. 
For example, for the California Board of Accountancy (page 12), the average number of days from filing 
an accusation to when a stipulated settlement was sent to the agency was 117 days for the mean and 
84 days for the median, with SD of 97, based on 81 stipulations, suggesting the mean is a fair 
representation of the number of days to reach settlement. In contrast, for the Bureau of Security and 
Investigative Services (page 445), the average for settlements was 570 days for the mean and 245 
days for the median, with SD of 699, based on 22 stipulations. The data for this agency included one 
case with four respondents, all of whom settled 2,008 days after the accusation was filed. This skewed 
the data and impacted the mean, as shown by the large 325-day difference between the mean and 
median, and extremely high SD of 699.1 This example shows how extreme values influence the mean, 
especially when the sample size is small, underscoring the importance of considering all results 
provided when interpreting the data. 

There are some differences in the manner in which averages were calculated in this report 
compared to the first annual report for subdivisions (b)(3) through (6). Data for adjudication of the 
accusation matter for each respondent named in an accusation whose initial default or settlement was 
not accepted by the agency as its final decision are not included in these reports. On occasion, an 
agency grants a petition for reconsideration for a respondent who has defaulted in an accusation 
matter, vacating the default and allowing the respondent to litigate the case. Similarly, the agency may 
decide not to accept a stipulated settlement as the final disposition of the case, directing that a different 
settlement be negotiated, and/or requiring the matter to be set for an administrative hearing before an 
administrative law judge. In cases where defaults are vacated or proposed stipulated settlements are 
not adopted by the agency, those subsequent adjudications are not included in the data reported in 
subdivisions (b)(3) and (4). By excluding subsequent adjudications that are necessitated by agencies’ 
decision making, the average number of days it takes to adjudicate matters by settlement and default is 
more closely associated with the work of the Office of the Attorney General. 

Similarly, under subdivision (b)(6) reporting the average number of days from hearing date received 
to hearing commenced, we have excluded hearings commenced after reconsideration or non-adoption 
by an agency. 

The individual client agency pages that follow have been organized in alphabetical order for 
convenience. 

1 The extreme age of that particular matter was due to a series of delaying events. It started as one referral 
against one licensee, for which further investigation was requested. The additional investigation was extensive 
and ultimately resulted in a total of nine referrals against four licensees. There was a two-year cessation of that 
investigation due to redirection of key investigatory staff to internal projects by the agency. A second lengthy 
delay was caused by an intervening investigation by the district attorney until he decided not to file criminal 
charges. The case was further delayed intermittently due to attrition of the agency’s top two decision makers 
during critical junctures in the litigation. 
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California Board of Accountancy 

The California Board of Accountancy regulated 102,882 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17, with five 
license types. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s own 
investigators, who are either certified public accountants or analysts. Some investigations are assisted 
by the Office of Attorney General and the Board’s Enforcement Advisory Committee through the taking 
of testimony under oath of licensees under investigation. There were multiple respondents in about 25 
percent of the Board’s accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 
2017-18. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

      Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  96 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   6 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  6 

 (5) accusations filed.  80 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  1 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  102 

  
 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

     Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

   (1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  157  126  101  81 

  (2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   312  312  89  2 

  (3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  117  85  96  83 

    (4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   101  56  128  17 

    (5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  119  92  103  10 

   (6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  178  178  0  1 
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California Acupuncture Board 

The California Acupuncture Board regulated 11,999 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-2017 with one 
license type, Licensed Acupuncturist. Complaints received by the Board are investigated by the 
Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. There 
is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  11 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   3 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  4 

 (5) accusations filed.  14 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  11 

 

   
 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

     Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

   (1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  119  43  157  11 

  (2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   364  364  0  1 

  (3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  147  152  91  8 

    (4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   95  88  59  3 

    (5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  54  31  39  5 

   (6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  0  0  0  0 
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California Architects Board 

The California Architects Board regulated 21,025 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with only one 
license type, Licensed Architect. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s 
own staff and architect consultants, and when appropriate referred to the Department of Consumer 
Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. The statute of limitations to file an 
accusation is generally five years from discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  1 

    (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   1 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  1 

 (5) accusations filed.  1 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  1 

 

  
 

     

        

   
     

 
       

  
       

   
     

    
     

   
     

 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters – Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 69 69 0 1 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 0 0 0 0 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 0 0 0 0 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 0 0 0 0 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 171 171 0 1 
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California State Athletic Commission 
The California State Athletic Commission regulated 3,595 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with 

nine license types. The Commission referred three arbitration matters and two suspension appeals to 
the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2017-18, but did not refer any accusation matters. 
There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The balance of this page has intentionally been left blank. 
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Bureau of Automotive Repair 

The Bureau of Automotive Repair regulated 73,624 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with 10 
license types. Complaints and other matters are investigated by the Bureau’s own program 
representatives. There were multiple respondents in over 60 percent of the Bureau’s accusation cases 
prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2017-18. The statute of limitations to file 
an accusation is generally three years from the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  907 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  1 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   6 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  10 

 (5) accusations filed.  463 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  9 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  425 

 

  
 

 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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     Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

   (1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  166  140  116  273 

   (2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   370  279  236  7 

  (3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  217  213  143  160 

   (4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   124  100  92  167 

    (5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  102  65  107  97 

   (6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  144  135  105  71 



 

 

 
  

 

 
   
  

 
    

   
     

 
 

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 

The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology regulated 612,016 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with 
10 license types. The Board receives consumer complaints and routinely inspects establishments for 
health and safety. The Board’s cases are investigated by the Board’s own inspectors or other staff, and 
when appropriate, may also be referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of 
Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. There were multiple respondents in less than 5 
percent of the Board’s accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 
2017-18. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  88 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  2 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   4 

   (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  3 

 (5) accusations filed.  72 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  5 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  71 
 

  
 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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     Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

   (1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  175  148  111  68 

 (2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
    Attorney General after further investigation is received.   257  257  193  2 

  (3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  149  113  98  36 

  (4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is  
sent to the agency.   100  84  67  20 

   (5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  118  81  70  12 

   (6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  129  158  57  10 



 

 

 
  

 

    
  

  
   

  

 
 

Board of Behavioral Sciences 

The Board of Behavioral Sciences regulated 108,662 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with seven 
license types. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s own investigators 
or staff, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and 
Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. The statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three 
years from discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  120 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  2 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   4 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  4 

 (5) accusations filed.  128 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  1 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  110 

  
 

     

        

   
     

  
       

  
       

    
     

    
     

   
     

 
 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters – Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 129 109 93 108 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 261 309 136 5 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 200 175 166 66 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 75 48 55 24 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 164 120 153 33 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 178 178 83 15 
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Cemetery and Funeral Bureau 

The Cemetery and Funeral Bureau regulated 13,147 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with 13 
license types. Most complaints received by the Bureau are investigated by the Bureau’s field 
representatives or staff, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 
Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There were multiple respondents in 60 percent 
of the Bureau’s accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2017-
18. The statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from the act or omission for 
cemetery licensees and two years for funeral licensees charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  24 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   2 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  0 

 (5) accusations filed.  4 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  7 

  
 

 
  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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     Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

   (1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  181  161  44  4 

  (2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   231  231  0  1 

  (3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  142  140  53  6 

    (4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   241  241  0  1 

    (5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  107  107  0  1 

   (6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  0  0  0  0 



 

 

  
 

  
  

    
  

   
  

 

 

Board of Chiropractic Examiners 

The Board of Chiropractic Examiners regulated 13,191 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with one 
license type, Doctor of Chiropractic. It also authorizes satellite offices, chiropractic corporations and 
referral services. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s own 
investigators or staff, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 
Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to 
file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  31 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   5 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  6 

 (5) accusations filed.  38 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  32 

 

  
 

  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

19 

     Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

   (1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  185  172  155  32 

 (2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
    Attorney General after further investigation is received.   371  373  208  5 

  (3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  276  290  153  21 

  (4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is  
sent to the agency.   67  50  35  8 

   (5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  204  162  172  8 

   (6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  74  74  18  2 



 

 

 
  

  
    

 
  

  
    

  

 
 

     

   

   

      

     

     

  

   

   

 

  
 

     

        

   
     

    
       

  
       

    
     

    
     

   
     

  

Contractors State License Board 

The Contractors State License Board regulated 305,611 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with two 
license types and many classifications, including general contractor. Most complaints received by the 
Board are investigated by the Board’s own enforcement representatives, some of whom are sworn 
investigators. There were very few multiple respondents in the Board’s accusation cases prosecuted by 
the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2017-18. However, the number of adjudications 
reported in subdivision (a)(7) include licensees affiliated with respondents that are entities. The statute 
of limitations to file an accusation is generally four years from an act or omission charged in the 
accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2016-17. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 455 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General. 19 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 22 

(5) accusations filed. 357 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 10 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 315 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters – Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 188 146 140 306 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 248 216 120 23 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 265 232 162 109 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 69 36 97 142 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 113 97 94 70 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 149 118 81 46 
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Court Reporters Board of California 

The Court Reporters Board of California regulated 6,687 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with one 
license type, Certified Shorthand Reporter. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by 
the Board’s own staff, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 
Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to 
file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  5 

   (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   0 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  0 

 (5) accusations filed.  2 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  0 

 

  
 

  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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     Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

   (1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  0  0  0  0 

 (2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   0  0  0  0 

  (3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  0  0  0  0 

   (4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   0  0  0  0 

    (5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  0  0  0  0 

   (6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  0  0  0  0 



 

 

  
  

 
   

   
 

   
    

 
 

     

   

   

      

     

    

  

   

   

 

  
 

     

        

   
     

 
         

  
       

   
     

   
     

   
     

 
  

Dental Board of California 

The Dental Board of California regulated 106,416 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with 16 license 
types. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s own staff or investigators, 
some of whom are sworn investigators, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of 
Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. The statute of limitations to file 
an accusation is generally three years from discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 110 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 4 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General. 5 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 5 

(5) accusations filed. 86 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 3 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 76 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters – Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 131 126 77 73 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 153 212 85 5 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 300 287 148 47 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 149 130 82 12 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 148 134 83 24 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 134 121 56 11 
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Dental Hygiene Committee of California 

The Dental Hygiene Committee of California regulated 23,448 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with 
four license types. Most complaints received by the Committee are investigated by the Dental Board’s 
staff or investigators, some of whom are sworn officers, or referred to the Department of Consumer 
Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There is no 
statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  3 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  1 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   0 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  1 

 (5) accusations filed.  10 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  10 

   
 

 
  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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     Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

   (1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  137  113  69  10 

  (2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   0  0  0  0 

  (3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  277  276  44  8 

   (4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   84  84  0  1 

    (5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  143  147  30  7 

   (6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  21  21  0  1 



 

 

 

 
 

    
   

  
    

  

  

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, 

Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation 

The Bureau regulated 40,671 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with 15 license types. Most 
complaints received by the Bureau are investigated by the Bureau’s own investigators or staff, or 
referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and 
Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations 
for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  0 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   0 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  0 

 (5) accusations filed.  1 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  1 

  
 

 
  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  109  109  0  1 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   0  0  0  0 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  0  0  0  0 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   139  139  0  1 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  0  0  0  0 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  0  0  0  0 



 

 

 

 
   

     
   

 
 

  
   

 

   

  

State Board of Guide Dogs for the Blind 
The State Board of Guide Dogs for the Blind regulated 108 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with 

two license types. The Board did not refer any accusation matters to the Office of the Attorney General 
in Fiscal Year 2017-18. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

Assembly Bill (AB) 1705 was signed into law October 11, 2017, and became effective January 1, 
2018. It repealed the chapter regulating guide dog instruction. 

The balance of this page has intentionally been left blank. 

25 



 

 

 
  

  
  

    
     

   

 

Landscape Architects Technical Committee 
The Landscape Architects Technical Committee regulated 3,607 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 

with one license type, Landscape Architect. Most complaints received by the Committee are 
investigated by the Committee’s own enforcement staff, and some are reviewed by the Committee’s 
subject matter experts. When appropriate, complaints may be referred to the Department of Consumer 
Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. The statute of limitations to file an 
accusation is generally three years from discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  2 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   0 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  0 

 (5) accusations filed.  2 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  1 

  
 

 

  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  114  114  0  1 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   0  0  0  0 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  116  116  0  1 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   0  0  0  0 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  0  0  0  0 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  0  0  0  0 



 

 

   

 
  

    
   

  
  

      
  

 
 

Licensed Midwives Program (Medical Board of California) 

The Medical Board of California regulated 390 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-2017 with one license 
type, Licensed Midwife. Complaints received by the Midwives Program are investigated by the 
Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Health Quality Investigation Unit. There is no 
specific statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this program. However, because 
licensed midwives are within the jurisdiction of the Medical Board of California, accusations are filed 
within the same limitations period pertaining to the Medical Board, which is generally three years from 
the discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  2 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   0 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  0 

 (5) accusations filed.  0 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  0 

  
 

  

Table 2 are based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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     Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

   (1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  0  0  0  0 

  (2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   0  0  0  0 

  (3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  0  0  0  0 

  (4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is  
sent to the agency.   0  0  0  0 

    (5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  0  0  0  0 

   (6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  0  0  0  0 



 

 

 

    
   

  
   

   
   

  
      

      
  

 

      

   

   

      

     

     

  

   

   

  
  

     

        

   
     

    
       

  
       

   
     

    
     

   
     

  

Medical Board of California 

The Medical Board of California regulated 157,441 licenses, registrations, and permits of eight 
types in Fiscal Year 2016-2017 (excluding Licensed Midwives, data for which is set forth on the 
preceding page). Data for Physicians and Surgeons, Research Psychoanalysts, and Polysomnographic 
Program are consolidated below. Complaints received by the Board are investigated by its in-house 
Complaint Investigation Office or by the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 
Health Quality Investigation Unit. The Board used vertical enforcement in investigations referred to the 
Health Quality Investigation Unit until approximately November 2018. In Fiscal Year 2017-18, 70 
percent of the accusation matters referred to the Attorney General were vertical enforcement joint 
investigations. The statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from discovery of 
the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 513 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 7 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General. 19 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 61 

(5) accusations filed. 465 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 7 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 322 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions Code 
section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters – Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 61 49 51 312 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 173 143 107 6 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 227 214 139 221 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 94 50 163 33 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 71 49 67 122 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 201 173 136 59 
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Naturopathic Medicine Committee 

The Naturopathic Medicine Committee regulated 828 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-2017, with one type 
of license, Naturopathic Doctor. Complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Department 
of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. The Committee did 
not refer any accusation matters in Fiscal Year 2017-2018. There is no statute of limitations within 
which to file accusations for this agency. 
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California Board of Occupational Therapy 

The Board of Occupational Therapy regulated 15,553 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with four 
license types. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s own investigators 
or staff, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and 
Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations 
for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  31 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  1 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   2 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  2 

 (5) accusations filed.  29 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  3 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  13 

  
 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  89  59  58  13 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   0  0  0  0 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  92  82  38  7 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   44  46  18  3 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  90  33  90  3 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  0  0  0  0 



 

 

 
  

 

     
    

    
   

    
   

 

California State Board of Optometry 

The Board of Optometry includes the Dispensing Optician Committee. The Board regulated 17,082 
licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with 12 types of licenses, including those for optometrists and 
opticians. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s own staff, or referred 
to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit, 
when appropriate. The Board does not employ its own investigators. The statute of limitations to file an 
accusation is generally three years from discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

 (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  17 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  1 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   1 

   (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  1 

 (5) accusations filed.  21 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  1 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  16 

  
 

  

Table 2 are based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  124  129  63  16 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   76  76  0  1 

   (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  174  169  54  6 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   55  55  23  7 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  75  70  43  4 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  100  100  24  2 



 

 

 

 
 

  
   

    
 

 

Osteopathic Medical Board of California 

The Osteopathic Medical Board of California regulated 9,843 licenses and registrations in Fiscal 
Year 2016-2017, with one type of license, Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon. In Fiscal Year 2017-18, 
the Board used vertical enforcement in select accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. The 
statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from discovery of the act or omission 
charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

     Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  24 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  1 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   5 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  2 

 (5) accusations filed.  19 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  14 

  
 

  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  48  43  36  13 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   0  0  0  0 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  274  236  170  12 

     (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   67  67  0  1 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  50  50  16  2 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  0  0  0  0 



 

 

 
  

   
   

   
     

  
  

  

California State Board of Pharmacy 

The Board of Pharmacy regulated 139,164 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with more than 25 
license types. The Board receives consumer complaints and routinely inspects pharmacies for 
compliance. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s own inspectors, 
who are licensed pharmacists themselves. There were multiple respondents in about 37 percent of the 
Board’s accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2017-18. 
There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  438 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  10 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   20 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  20 

 (5) accusations filed.  294 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  7 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  360 

  
 

  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  228  182  177  266 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   249  192  136  19 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  326  301  218  203 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   116  88  97  109 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  140  118  95  82 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  144  146  84  28 



 

 

 

 
  

  
   

    

 

Physical Therapy Board of California 

The Physical Therapy Board of California regulated 37,184 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-2017 with 
two license types, Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant. Complaints received by the 
Board are investigated by the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations 
and Enforcement Unit. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  38 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   1 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  5 

 (5) accusations filed.  35 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  3 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  23 

  
 

 
  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  112  86  112  22 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   0  0  0  0 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  210  205  119  15 

     (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   110  110  37  2 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  43  34  23  8 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  204  175  56  3 



 

 

  

 
 

 
    

  
   

  
  

 

Physician Assistant Board 

The Physician Assistant Board regulated 11,534 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-2017 with one 
license type, Physician Assistant. Complaints received by the Board are investigated by the 
Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Health Quality Investigation Unit. In Fiscal 
Year 2017-18, the Board used vertical enforcement in 87 percent of the accusation matters referred to 
the Attorney General. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 
However, the Board follows the Medical Board of California’s limitations period, which is generally three 
years from discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

    Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  24 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   2 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  6 

 (5) accusations filed.  22 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  33 

  
 

  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  110  52  131  29 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   256  256  0  1 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  340  234  349  25 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   62  62  2  2 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  131  129  67  6 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  207  134  192  3 



 

 

 

 
   

   
   

 
    

  

 

California Board of Podiatric Medicine 

The California Board of Podiatric Medicine regulated 2,182 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-2017 with 
three license types, including Doctor of Podiatric Medicine. Complaints received by the Board are 
investigated by the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Health Quality 
Investigation Unit. The Board used vertical enforcement in all of its investigations in Fiscal Year 2017-
18. The statute of limitations generally requires accusations to be filed within three years after the 
discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

   (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  22 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   0 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  2 

 (5) accusations filed.  10 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  9 

   
 

   

          

   
     

 
       

  
       

   
     

    
     

   
     

 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters – Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 77 58 56 9 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 254 288 124 6 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 88 88 0 1 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 103 103 0 1 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 98 98 5 2 
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Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

The Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education issues three types of approvals, which authorize 
private postsecondary institutions to operate. It regulated 1,111 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17. The 
Bureau does not employ investigators and most complaints are investigated by the Board’s own staff, 
or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and 
Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations 
for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

    Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  6 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   0 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  0 

 (5) accusations filed.  8 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  2 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  7 

  
 

  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  200  194  53  7 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   0  0  0  0 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  293  306  80  3 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   503  503  0  1 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  226  240  94  4 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  114  114  0  1 



 

 

  
  

 
 

   
   

    

 

Board for Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists 

The Board for Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists regulated 106,673 
licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with 28 license types. The Board does not employ investigators and 
most complaints are investigated by the Board’s own staff, or referred to the Department of Consumer 
Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There is no 
statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  31 

    (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   0 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  1 

 (5) accusations filed.  23 

 (6) accusations withdrawn.  1 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  21 

  
 

 
  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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    Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  243  121  244  21 

     (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   802  802  0  1 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  384  306  266  14 

     (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   59  57  15  3 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  331  138  340  9 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
  commencement of a hearing.  119  124  30  3 



 

 

 
  

  
   

  
  

 

   

   

   

      

     

     

  

   

  

  
 

   

        

   
     

  
       

  
       

   
     

    
     

   
     

 

  

Professional Fiduciaries Bureau 

The Professional Fiduciaries Bureau regulated 995 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with one 
license type, Professional Fiduciary. Complaints received by the Bureau are investigated by the 
Bureau’s own staff, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 
Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to 
file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 5 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General. 3 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 2 

(5) accusations filed. 3 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 5 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters – Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 181 181 67 3 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 251 251 0 1 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 73 73 0 1 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 60 60 6 2 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 0 0 0 0 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 0 0 0 0 
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California Board of Psychology 

The California Board of Psychology regulated 22,449 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-2017 with three 
license types, Psychologist, Psychological Assistant, and Registered Psychologist. In Fiscal Year 2017-
18, the Board used vertical enforcement in 67 percent of the accusation matters referred to the Attorney 
General. The statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from discovery of the 
act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18 

   

   

   

      

     

     

  

   

  

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 32 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 7 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General. 5 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 7 

(5) accusations filed. 22 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 2 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 28 

  
 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

   

        

     
     

    
       

  
       

     
     

    
     

  
     

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters – Mean Median SD Count 

(1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 63 49 55 27 

(2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 0 0 0 0 

(3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 228 196 116 20 

(4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 151 156 72 3 

(5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 76 62 59 10 

(6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 185 200 60 3 
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Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers 

The Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers regulated 10,630 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with six 
license types. Most complaints received by the Bureau involved violations of the Uniform Standards 
of Professional Appraisal Practice and are investigated by the Bureau’s own staff of investigators 
who each hold a certified appraiser license. Federal law directs the resolution of administrative 
actions within one year after a complaint is filed with the Bureau. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  5 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   0 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  0 

 (5) accusations filed.  6 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  4 

  
 

 
  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  37  17  72  4 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   150  150  0  1 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  252  252  95  2 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   34  34  0  1 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  218  218  0  1 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  68  68  0  1 



 

 

 
  

 

 
  

    
 

  

 

Board of Registered Nursing 

The Board of Registered Nursing regulated 549,047 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with nine 
license types. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s own staff of 
investigators, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations 
and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to file 
accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

  Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  866 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  38 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   63 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  59 

 (5) accusations filed.  840 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  30 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  855 

  
 

 
  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  144  103  137  822 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   310  272  195  64 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  194  178  134  491 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   63  35  74  209 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  134  103  120  235 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  154  128  116  98 



 

 

 

 

  
       

 

 

Respiratory Care Board of California 

The Respiratory Care Board of California regulated 23,473 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-2017 with 
one license type, Respiratory Care Practitioner. Complaints received by the Board are investigated by 
Board staff. The statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from discovery of the 
act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  46 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   4 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  8 

 (5) accusations filed.  40 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  48 

  
 

 

  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  65  55  40  46 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   79  43  63  3 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  154  152  77  28 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   56  48  27  16 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  82  40  78  9 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  193  116  115  3 



 

 

 
  

  
   

     
   

  

 

Bureau of Security and Investigative Services 

The Bureau of Security and Investigative Services regulated 404,837 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-
17 with 23 license types. Most complaints received by the Bureau are investigated by the Bureau’s own 
staff, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and 
Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There were multiple respondents in about 13 percent of the 
Board’s accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2017-18. 
There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  45 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   6 

   (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  5 

 (5) accusations filed.  44 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  2 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  50 

   
 

 
  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  199  190  125  44 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   241  216  100  8 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  570  245  699  22 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   140  96  105  21 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
  requesting a hearing date.  165  49  228  7 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  145  141  36  5 



 

 

  
 

   

   
    

   
    

 

 

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology 
and Hearing Aid Dispensers Board 

The Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology and Hearing Aid Dispensers Board regulated 24,021 
licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-2017 with 13 license types, including Speech and Language Pathologist, 
Audiologist, Dispensing Audiologist, Speech Language Pathology Assistant, and Hearing Aid 
Dispenser. Complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Department of Consumer Affairs 
Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. There is no generally applicable statute 
of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency, with the exception of certain kinds of 
violations, for which an accusation must be filed within three or four years from the act or omission 
charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  7 

    (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  1 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   1 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  0 

 (5) accusations filed.  5 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  1 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  9 

  
 

  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  162  42  186  7 

     (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   0  0  0  0 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  166  154  67  6 

     (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   0  0  0  0 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  41  41  8  3 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  166  166  0  1 



 

 

 
 

  
  

    
     

  
   

  
 

  

Structural Pest Control Board 

The Structural Pest Control Board regulated 27,557 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with five 
license types. Most complaints received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s own staff of 
investigators, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations 
and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There were multiple respondents in about 22 percent of the 
Board’s accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2017-18. The 
statute of limitations requires a complaint to be received by the Board within two years from an alleged 
act or omission, and generally the accusation must be filed within 18 months after the Board’s receipt of 
the complaint. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  75 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   1 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  2 

 (5) accusations filed.  49 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  2 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  54 

  
 

   

        

     
     

    
       

  
       

    
     

    
     

  
     

 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters – Mean Median SD Count 

(1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 70 69 42 44 

(2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 120 88 71 4 

(3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 163 163 82 28 

(4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 107 96 67 14 

(5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 86 71 53 11 

(6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 144 151 34 7 
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Veterinary Medical Board 

The Veterinary Medical Board regulated 29,545 licensees in Fiscal Year 2016-17 with six license 
types. The Board receives consumer complaints and routinely inspects veterinary hospital premises for 
compliance. The Board’s cases are investigated by the Board’s own inspectors or other staff, and when 
appropriate, may also be referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 
Investigations and Enforcement Unit. There were multiple respondents in about 23 percent of the 
Board’s accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2017-18. 
There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  45 

     (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  0 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   5 

    (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.  6 

 (5) accusations filed.  44 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  0 

 (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  22 

  
 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

     (1)from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed.  251  197  160  22 

    (2)to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
  Attorney General after further investigation is received.   352  366  103  4 

  (3)from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  313  287  154  16 

    (4)from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency.   79  84  28  4 

    (5)from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date.  93  78  51  11 

  (6)from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing.  317  317  172  2 



 

 

 
  

    
   

  
   

 

Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians 

The Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians regulated 137,796 licensees in Fiscal 
Year 2016-17 with two license types, Vocational Nurse and Psychiatric Technician. Most complaints 
received by the Board are investigated by the Board’s own staff or investigators, and referred to the 
Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when 
appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2017-18. 

   Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

  Number of – Count  

  (1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General.  287 

    (2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General.  10 

   (3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.   25 

   (4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General.   21 

 (5) accusations filed.  261 

  (6) accusations withdrawn.  6 

  (7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  257 

  
  

 
  

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 
Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 
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   Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

   Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean  Median   SD Count  

    (1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
  accusation is filed.  144  121  111  251 

    (2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
   Attorney General after further investigation is received.   269  253  154  20 

  (3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
   settlement is sent to the agency.  192  174  118  94 

    (4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
 sent to the agency.   94  67  86  93 

    (5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
  requesting a hearing date.  135  94  121  71 

  (6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
  commencement of a hearing.  137  111  99  51 



 

 

 

     
      

        
   

  
  

    
     

   
    

    
 

 
   

 
 

 
 

   
 

  

CONCLUSION 

This report for the data in Fiscal Year 2017-18 is based on some differences in calculating counts 
and averages compared to the first report. We expect consistency in these calculations going forward. 
Over time, the Office of the Attorney General will be able to derive insights related to performance, 
productivity, and public protection enhancements with respect to the reported-on prosecutions. The 
report will allow for statistical and predictive modeling techniques to identify trends and correlations to 
drive beneficial changes in business processes. The insights and value derived from this data will also 
provide the basis for the Office of the Attorney General to support the acquisition of additional 
resources and data tools as needed. We will endeavor to identify any performance gaps as additional 
relevant data is generated and case delivery mechanisms are examined. We anticipate that this report 
will facilitate collaboration among the Office of the Attorney General, Office of Administrative Hearings, 
and Department of Consumer Affairs, all of which join in responsibility for protection of the public 
through efficiency in adjudicating accusation matters. 

This Attorney General’s Annual Report on Accusations Prosecuted for Department of Consumer 
Affairs Client Agencies is also available on the Attorney General’s website at 
http://oag.ca.gov/publications. 

If you have any questions regarding this report, or if you would like additional information, please 
contact Sirat Attapit, Director of Legislative Affairs, at (916) 210-6192. 
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APPENDIX 

Business and Professions Code section 312.2 states: 

(a) The Attorney General shall submit a report to the department, the Governor, and the 
appropriate policy committees of the Legislature on or before January 1, 2018, and on or 
before January 1 of each subsequent year that includes, at a minimum, all of the 
following for the previous fiscal year for each constituent entity within the department 
represented by the Licensing Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section of the 
Office of the Attorney General: 

(1) The number of accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 

(2) The number of accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 

(3) The number of accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by 
the Attorney General. 

(4) The number of accusation matters for which further investigation was received by 
the Attorney General. 

(5) The number of accusations filed by each constituent entity. 

(6) The number of accusations a constituent entity withdraws. 

(7) The number of accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 

(b) The Attorney General shall also report all of the following for accusation matters 
adjudicated within the previous fiscal year for each constituent entity of the department 
represented by the Licensing Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section: 

(1) The average number of days from the Attorney General receiving an accusation 
referral to when an accusation is filed by the constituent entity. 

(2) The average number of days to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred 
to the Attorney General after further investigation is received by the Attorney 
General from a constituent entity or the Division of Investigation. 

(3) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 
General transmitting a stipulated settlement to the constituent entity. 

(4) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 
General transmitting a default decision to the constituent entity. 

(5) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 
General requesting a hearing date from the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

(6) The average number of days from the Attorney General's receipt of a hearing date 
from the Office of Administrative Hearings to the commencement of a hearing. 

(c) A report to be submitted pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be submitted in compliance 
with Section 9795 of the Government Code. 
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