

CALIFORNIA'S PROTECTIONS FOR REPRODUCTIVE HEALTHCARE PROVIDERS, STAFF, AND VOLUNTEERS

While California cannot stop another state from initiating a legal action, if that case concerns you providing reproductive healthcare, California law has numerous protections.

You should seek legal advice from an attorney to understand how these protections may apply to you.

CALIFORNIA LAW PROTECTS YOUR ACCESS TO THE FACILITIES IN CALIFORNIA WHERE YOU PROVIDE REPRODUCTIVE HEALTHCARE:

- It is a criminal offense:
 - o to use force, threats of force, or violent physical obstruction to block access to a facility because you offer reproductive healthcare in that location;
 - o to intentionally destroy your property because you offer reproductive healthcare; or
 - o to intentionally try to intimidate you (or your patients) by videotaping, filming, photographing, or otherwise electronically recording you (or your patients) without consent within 100 feet of the facility where you provide reproductive healthcare.
- You have the right to sue anyone who physically obstructs or disrupts the normal function of your facility.

CALIFORNIA LAW PROTECTS YOU FROM OUT-OF-STATE ANTI-ABORTION LAWS:

- You cannot be arrested in California for performing or aiding in abortion care within California that is legal in California. If, for some reason, you are arrested, your bail must be set at \$0.
- You cannot be taken from California (aka "extradited") to another state for criminal prosecution for performing or aiding in reproductive healthcare that is legal in California so long as you were in California while providing that lawful care.
- California law enforcement and government employees will not cooperate with or provide information to any other state for investigations into abortion care that is legal in California.
- California courts will not enforce judgments in cases brought against you for abortion care.
- California courts will not subject you to out-of-state laws allowing civil lawsuits for performing abortions in California.
- California courts will not order you to appear as a witness in out-of-state criminal prosecutions stemming from reproductive healthcare. You also cannot be forced to provide information about individuals who obtained abortions, if the request for that information is based on an anti-abortion law.
- California courts will not issue subpoenas or approve warrants for investigations into abortion care that is legal in California.
- You can sue anyone (including a government official) who files a case against you for reproductive healthcare services or gender-affirming care.
- If you aid or assist a pregnant person in exercising their rights, you cannot be subject to civil or criminal liability or penalty in California, based solely on your actions to aid or assist the pregnant person in exercising their rights, so long as the pregnant person has consented.



CALIFORNIA LAW PROTECTS YOUR INFORMATION:

- It is illegal for California corporations to provide information in response to a subpoena or warrant if they reasonably know the request is related to investigations into you providing abortion care that is legal in California.
- It is illegal for people to collect, use, disclose, or retain your or your patients' personal information when you are located near or in your facility. You have the right to sue for any violations of this law.
- You can enroll in the California <u>Safe at Home</u> program, through which you can keep your address confidential.

CALIFORNIA LAW PROTECTS YOUR LICENSES, YOUR PRIVILEGES, AND YOUR MALPRACTICE INSURANCE:

- Your California license cannot be negatively affected for providing healthcare that is legal in California (like abortions, contraception, and gender-affirming care) to patients in states where that healthcare is prohibited or because you have a civil judgment, criminal conviction, or disciplinary action because you provided medical care that is legal in California.
- If you have a civil judgment, criminal conviction, or disciplinary action because you provided medical care that is legal in California:
 - o A health facility cannot remove your privileges;
 - o Healthcare service plans and healthcare insurers cannot terminate, discriminate, or otherwise penalize you;
 - o You cannot lose your malpractice insurance, or be charged more.

CALIFORNIA LAW REQUIRES AN EXPEDITED LICENSING APPLICATION PROCESS FOR PROSPECTIVE PROVIDERS OF ABORTION CARE:

• The <u>California Medical Board</u>, <u>Osteopathic Medical Board</u>, <u>Board of Registered Nursing</u>, and the <u>Physician Assistant Board</u> will expedite your licensing process if you show that you plan to provide abortion care.

For legal assistance, you can contact the <u>Southern California Legal Alliance for Reproductive Justice</u> at <u>larj@law.ucla.edu</u> or (310) 206-4466.

If you believe any of these rights have been violated, you can file a report with the <u>California Attorney</u> <u>General's Office</u> at <u>https://oag.ca.gov/report</u> or (916) 210-6276.

