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SECTION 1. Title. 

PROTECT HOMEOWNERS AND CLOSE 
CORPORATETAXLOOPHOLESACT 

This Act shall be known as the "Protect Homeowners and Close Corporate Tax 
Loopholes Act." 

SECTION 2. Findings and Declarations. 

The People of the State of California find and declare that: 

1. Since 2009, the Legislature and Governor have enacted billions in cuts to the state 
budget, eliminating health care and other vital services to our neediest citizens. They 
furloughed state workers and continue to raise tuition at every institution of public higher 
education. 

2. Public schools are bearing the brunt of these cuts. Over the last four years, the State 
has cut billions from the K-12 school system, and California now ranks 46th in state per 
pupil spending. Schools have laid off thousands of classroom teachers and educational 
support staff. There will be no new textbooks for years. Entire athletic programs have 
been eliminated. Class sizes in many schools have grown to the point where high school 
classes may contain more than 40 students. 

3. Police and fire services are threatened along with our state parks. 

4. California's property tax system contains a gigantic loophole that allows corporations 
and commercial property owners to avoid paying their fair share. That loophole often 
allows businesses to change ownership without being reassessed, which homeowners 
cannot do. As a result, the burden of paying for things like police and fire services now 
falls more heavily on homeowners. 

5. Unlike single-family residences, commercial buildings produce income for their 
owners. Furthermore, California commercial real property tax rates are among the lowest 
in the nation. It makes sense, therefore, to reassess commercial real property at current 
market value and use the increased revenues to restore vital services to our seniors and 
health care to our kids, protect funding of public safety, and also improve the funding of 
California's public schools. 

6. Small businesses will be protected by new exemptions from the personal property tax. 

7. Homeowners' property tax exemptions have remained the same since 1968, with no 
adjustment for inflation. Homeowners' property taxes should be reduced by doubling the 
Homeowner Property Tax exemption from $7,000 to $14,000. Qualified renters will also 
receive an increase in their tax credit. 



SECTION 3. Purpose and Intent. 

1. This measure is intended to reduce property taxes for homeowners on the dwelling 
they occupy by doubling the homeowners' exemption from $7,000 to $14,000. 

2. This measure is not intended to alter or repeal any other exemption currently 
applicable to taxes on real property or to increase or otherwise affect the property taxes 
paid by homeowners on noncommercial real property. 

3. In addition, the People enact this measure to do the following: 

a. Ensure that commercial property is taxed at its fair market value. 

b. Provide for periodic reassessment of non-residential, non-agricultural real 
property to market value. 

c. Provide for the exclusion of $1,000,000 in personal property tax for 
businesses, in order to give small businesses immediate tax relief. . 

d. Provide additional money for local school districts that will increase the 
minimum funding guaranteed by Proposition 98. 

4. In enacting this measure, the People intend for the Legislature, the county assessors, 
and the State Board of Equalization to work together to develop an efficient and equitable 
process to reassess nonresidential commercial real property to its current fair market 
value. 

SECTION 4. Section 2.5 is added to article XIII A of the California Constitution: 

Sec. 2.5. (a) Notwithstanding section 2,for the lien date for fiscal year 2014-15, 
the ''full cash value" of nonresidential real property that is not used for commercial 
agricultural production or is otherwise exempt under the Constitution or statute is the 
fair market value of that property as of that date. Following the lien date for fiscal 
year 2014-15, each county assessor shall reassess real property subject to this section to 
its current fair market value, as defined by statute, at least every three years. 

(b) For purposes of this section: 

(I) "Nonresidential real property" means any real property other than a 
single-family or multifamily unit that is intended to be used primarily 
as a permanent residence and is used primarily as a permanent 
residence or that is zoned as a residence, and the land on which that 
unit is constructed, or any portion of the property used as a residence. 

2 



(2) Nonresidential real property is "used for commercial agricultural 
production" if that real property is used and zoned for producing 
commercial agricultural commodities and is real property to which 
either of the following applies: 

(A) The real property is an unimproved parcel. 

(B) The parcel of real property contains only living improvements. 

(3) "Unimproved parcel" means a parcel of real property to which both of 
the following apply: 

(A) The parcel is used and zoned for producing commercial 
agricultural commodities. 

(B) The parcel does not contain any single-family residence or 
multifamily residence that was subdivided in accordance with the 
Subdivision Map Act, or any successor to that law, or that was 
described and conveyed in one or more deeds separating the 
parcel from all adjoining property. 

(4) "Otherwise exempt under the Constitution or statute" means any 
property which is exempt from taxation pursuant to the Constitution, 
or any property exempt by statute enacted consistent with and 
permissible under the Constitution. 

SECTION 5. Article XIII, section 2 of the California Constitution is amended to 
read: 

Sec. 2. The Legislature may provide for property taxation of all forms of tangible 
personal property, shares of capital stock, evidences of indebtedness, and any legal or 
equitable interest therein not exempt under any other provision of this article, provided, 
however, that for the lien date for fiscal year 2016-17 and each lien date thereafter, the 
first $1,000,000 of tangible personal property shall be exempt from taxation. The 
Legislature, two-thirds of the membership of each house concurring, may classify such 
personal property for differential taxation or for exemption. The tax on any interest in 
notes, debentures, shares of capital stock, bonds, solvent credits, deeds of trust, or 
mortgages shall not exceed four-tenths of one percent of full value, and the tax per dollar 
of full value shall not be higher on personal property than on real property in the same 
taxing jurisdiction. 

SECTION 6. Section 3 of Article XIII of the Constitution of the State of California 
is hereby amended to read: 

Sec. 3. The following are exempt from property taxation: 
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(a) Property owned by the State. 

(b) Property owned by a local government, except as otherwise provided in 
Section ll(a). 

(c) Bonds issued by the State or a local government in the State. 

(d) Property used for libraries and museums that are free and open to the public 
and property used exclusively for public schools, community colleges, state colleges, and 
state universities. 

(e) Buildings, land, equipment, and securities used exclusively for educational 
purposes by a nonprofit institution of higher education. 

(f) Buildings, land on which they are situated, and equipment used exclusively 
for religious worship. 

(g) Property used or held exclusively for the permanent deposit of human dead or 
for the care and maintenance of the property or the dead, except when used or held for 
profit. This property is also exempt from special assessment. 

(h) Growing crops. 

(i) Fruit and nut trees until 4 years after the season in which they were planted in 
orchard form and grape vines until 3 years after the season in which they were planted in 
vineyard form. 

G) Immature forest trees planted on lands not previously bearing merchantable 
timber or planted or of natural growth on lands from which the merchantable original 
growth timber stand to the extent of 70 percent of all trees over 16 inches in diameter has 
been removed. Forest trees or timber shall be considered mature at such time after 
40 years from the time of planting or removal of the original timber when so declared by 
a majority vote of a board consisting of a representative from the State Board of Forestry, 
a representative from the State Board of Equalization, and the assessor of the county in 
which the trees are located. 

The Legislature may supersede the foregoing provisions with an alternative 
system or systems of taxing or exempting forest trees or timber, including a taxation 
system not based on property valuation. Any alternative system or systems shall provide 
for exemption of unharvested immature trees, shall encourage the continued use of 
timberlands for the production of trees for timber products, and shall provide for 
restricting the use of timberland to the production of timber products and compatible uses 
with provisions for taxation of timberland based on the restrictions. Nothing in this 
paragraph shall be construed to exclude timberland from the provisions of Section 8 of 
this article. 
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(k)(1) Prior to the 2014-15 tax year, $7,000 of the full value of a dwelling, as 
defined by the Legislature, when occupied by an owner as his principal residence, unless 
the dwelling is receiving another real property exemption. The Legislature may increase 
this exemption and may deny it if the owner received state or local aid to pay taxes either 
in whole or in part, and either directly or indirectly, on the dwelling. 

No increase in this exemption above the amount of$7,000 shall be effective for 
any fiscal year unless the Legislature increases the rate of state taxes in an amount 
sufficient to provide the subventions required by Section 25. 

(2) For the 2015-16 tax year and each tax year thereafter, $14,000 ofthefull 
value of a dwelling, as defined by the Legislature, when occupied by an owner as his 
principal residence, unless the dwelling is receiving another real property exemption. 
The Legislature may increase this exemption and may deny it if the owner received state 
or local aid to pay taxes either in whole or in part, and either directly or indirectly, on 
the dwelling. 

No increase in this exemption above the amount of $14,000 shall be effective for 
any fiscal year unless the Legislature increases the rate of state taxes in an amount 
sufficient to provide the subventions required by Section 25. 

(3) If the Legislature increases the homeowners' property tax exemption, it shall 
provide increases in benefits to qualified renters, as defined by law, comparable to the 
average increase in benefits to homeowners, as calculated by the Legislature. 

(1) Vessels of more than 50 tons burden in this State and engaged in the 
transportation of freight or passengers. 

(m) Household furnishings and personal effects not held or used in connection 
with a trade, profession, or business. 

(n) Any debt secured by land. 

( o) Property in the amount of $1,000 of a claimant who-

(1) is serving in or has served in and has been discharged under honorable 
conditions from service in the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast 
Guard, or Revenue Marine (Revenue Cutter) Service; and-

(2) served either 

(i) in time ofwar, or 

(ii) in time of peace in a campaign or expedition for which a medal has been 
issued by Congress, or 
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(iii) in time of peace and because of a service-connected disability was released 
from active duty; and-

(3) resides in the State on the current lien date. 

An unmarried person who owns property valued at $5,000 or more, or a married 
person, who, together with the spouse, owns property valued at $10,000 or more, is 
ineligible for this exemption. 

If the claimant is married and does not own property eligible for the full amount 
of the exemption, property of the spouse shall be eligible for the unused balance of the 
exemption. 

(p) Property in the amount of $1,000 of a claimant who-

(1) is the unmarried spouse of a deceased veteran who met the service 
requirement stated in paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection 3( o ), and 

(2) does not own property in excess of$10,000, and 

(3) is a resident of the State on the current lien date. 

(q) Property in the amount of$1,000 of a claimant who-

(1) is the parent of a deceased veteran who met the service requirement stated in 
paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection 3(o), and 

(2) receives a pension because of the veteran's service, and 

(3) is a resident of the State on the current lien date. 

Either parent of a deceased veteran may claim this exemption. 

An unmarried person who owns property valued at $5,000 or more, or a married 
person, who, together with the spouse, owns property valued at $10,000 or more, is 
ineligible for this exemption. 

(r) No individual residing in the State on the effective date of this amendment 
who would have been eligible for the exemption provided by the previous section 1 1/4 
of this article had it not been repealed shall lose eligibility for the exemption as a result of 
this amendment. 

SECTION 7. Section 8.55 is added to article XVI of the California Constitution: 

Sec. 8.55. From the additional tax revenues collected as a result of Article XIII A, 
Section 2. 5, each county shall be entitled to retain a reasonable amount to cover the 
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increased cost of reassessing commercial property every three years. Ninety percent of 
the remaining additional tax revenues shall be placed in the county treasury to be 
transferred on an annual basis to the state General Fund, and the remaining funds shall 
be allocated to local entities within each county according to law. The moneys so 
transferred to the State shall be considered taxes imposed by the State and, for purposes 
ofSection 8 ofthis Article, shall be General Fund proceeds oftaxes appropriated 
pursuant to Article XIII B. 

SECTION 8. Government Code Section 13340 is amended to read: 

Sec. 13340. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), on and after July 1, 2012, 
no moneys in any fund that, by any statute other than a Budget Act, are continuously 
appropriated without regard to fiscal years, may be encumbered unless the Legislature, by 
statute, specifies that the moneys in the fund are appropriated for encumbrance. 

(b) Subdivision (a) does not apply to ~y of the following: 

(1) The scheduled disbursement of any local sales and use tax proceeds to an 
entity of local government pursuant to Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 7200) of 
Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(2) The scheduled disbursement of any transactions and use tax proceeds to an 
entity of local government pursuant to Part 1.6 (commencing with Section 7251) of 
Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(3) The scheduled disbursement of any funds by a state or local agency or 
department that issues bonds and administers related programs for which funds are 
continuously appropriated as of June 30, 2012. 

( 4) Moneys that are deposited in proprietary or fiduciary funds of the California 
State University and that are continuously appropriated without regard to fiscal years. 

(5) The scheduled disbursement of any motor vehicle license fee revenues to an 
entity of local government pursuant to the Vehicle License Fee Law (Part 5 (commencing 
with Section 10701) ofDivision 2 ofthe Revenue and Taxation Code). 

(6) Moneys that are transferred to the General Fund pursuant to Section 8. 55 of 
Article XVI of the California Constitution. 

SECTION 9. Section 100.8 is hereby added to the Revenue and Taxation Code, to 
read: 

Sec. 100. 8. (a) For the 2 016-17 fiscal year and each fiscal year thereafter, the 
Controller shall determine and remit to each county its share of the total reduction of 
local property tax revenue resulting in that fiscal year from the personal property tax 
exemption established by Section 2 of Article XIII of the California Constitution. Each 
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county shall apportion its allocation under this subdivision among the jurisdictions in 
that county in the same manner as revenues derived from locally assessed property are 
required by law to be allocated among those same jurisdictions. 

(b) For the 2015-16 fiscal year and each fiscal year thereafter, the Controller 
shall remit to each county the amounts required pursuant to Section 16120 ofthe 
Government Code to compensate each county for its share of property taxes lost as a 
result of the increase from $7,000 to $14,000 in the homeowner's tax exemption 
established by Section 3 (k) of Article XIII This transfer shall be in addition to the 
requirement of Section 25 of Article XIII of the Constitution to offset the loss resulting 
from the first $7,000 ofthe homeowner's tax exemption established by Section 3(d) of 
Article XIII 

SECTION 10. Section 210 is hereby added to the Revenue and Taxation Code to 
read: 

Sec. 210. (a) For purposes of providing aid to business as described in Section 2 
of Article XIII of the California Constitution, for the lien date for fiscal year 2016-17 and 
each lien date thereafter, there is exemptedfrom tax the first $1 million ($1,000,000) of 
the full value of personal property assessable to each taxpayer. 

(b) The tax exemption described in subdivision (a) and in Section 2 of Article XIII 
of the California Constitution shall not apply to boats or airplanes unless they are used 
in the day-to-day operation of a business. 

SECTION 11. Section 218 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is hereby amended to 
read: 

Sec. 218. (a) The homeowners' property tax exemption is in the amount of the 
assessed value of the dwelling specified in this section, as authorized by subdivision (k) 
of Section 3 of Article XIII of the California Constitution. Prior to the 2014-15 tax year, 
t+hat exemption shall be in the amount of seven thousand dollars ($7,000) ofthe full 
value of the dwelling. For the 2014-15 tax year and each tax year thereafter, that 
exemption shall be in the amount of fourteen thousand dollars ($14, 000) of the full value 
ofthe dwelling. 

(b)(l) The exemption does not extend to property that is rented, vacant, under 
construction on the lien date, or that is a vacation or secondary home of the owner or 
owners, nor does it apply to property on which an owner receives the veteran's 
exemption. 

(2) Notwithstanding paragraph (1 ), if a person receiving the exemption is not 
occupying the dwelling on the lien date because the dwelling was damaged in a 
misfortune or calamity, the person shall be deemed to occupy that same dwelling as his or 
her principal place of residence on the lien date, provided the person's absence from the 
dwelling is temporary and the person intends to return to the dwelling when possible to 
do so. Except as provided in paragraph (3), when a dwelling has been totally destroyed, 

8 



and thus no dwelling exists on the lien date, the exemption provided by this section shall 
not be applicable until the structure has been replaced and is occupied as a dwelling. 

(3) A dwelling that was totally destroyed in a disaster for which the Governor 
proclaimed a state of emergency, that qualified for the exemption provided by this section 
prior to the commencement date of the disaster and that has not changed ownership since 
the commencement date of the disaster, shall be deemed occupied by the person receiving 
the exemption on the lien date provided the person intends to reconstruct a dwelling on 
the property and occupy the dwelling as his or her principal place of residence when it is 
possible to do so. 

(c) For purposes of this section, all of the following apply: 

(1) "Owner" includes a person purchasing the dwelling under a contract of sale or 
who holds shares or membership in a cooperative housing corporation, which holding is a 
requisite to the exclusive right of occupancy of a dwelling. 

(2) (A) ''Dwelling" means a building, structure, or other shelter constituting a 
place of abode, whether real property or personal property, and any land on which it may 
be situated. A two-dwelling unit shall be considered as two separate single-family 
dwellings. 

(B) "Dwelling" includes the following: 

(i) A single-family dwelling occupied by an owner thereof as his or her principal 
place of residence on the lien date. 

(ii) A multiple-dwelling unit occupied by an owner thereof on the lien date as his 
or her principal place of residence. 

(iii) A condominium occupied by an owner thereof as his or her principal place 
of residence on the lien date. 

(iv) Premises occupied by the owner of shares or a membership interest in a 
cooperative housing corporation, as defined in subdivision (i) of Section 61, as his or her 
principal place of residence on the lien date. Each exemption allowed pursuant to this 
subdivision shall be deducted from the total assessed valuation of the cooperative housing 
corporation. The exemption shall be taken into account in apportioning property taxes 
among owners of share or membership interests in the cooperative housing corporations 
so as to benefit those owners who qualify for the exemption. 

(v) The exemption provided for in subdivision (k) of Section 3 of Article XIII of 
the California Constitution shall first be applied to the building, structure, or other shelter 
and the excess, if any, shall be applied to any land on which it may be located. 
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SECTION 12. Section 405.6 is hereby added to the Revenue and Taxation Code: 

Sec. 405. 6. (a) As a transition to assessing all commercial real property at its 
fair market value, counties shall have a period of no more than three years from the 
effective date of Section 2. 5 of Article XIII A to implement that section. In conducting the 
reassessments required pursuant to that section, counties shall first determine when a 
property was last reassessed and shall reassess properties in reverse order, beginning 
with those properties that have gone without reassessment for the longest period 

(b) Following reassessment pursuant to Section 2.5 of Article XIII A and 
subdivision (a) of this section, the current fair market value of nonresidential real 
property shall be deemed to be the assessed value of that property as valued by the 
county assessor at least once every three years. 

SECTION 13. Section 17053.5 ofthe Revenue and Taxation Code is hereby 
amended to read: 

Sec. 17053.5. (a)(1) For a qualified renter, there shall be allowed a credit against 
his or her "net tax," as defined in Section 17039. The amount of the credit shall be as 
follows: 

(A)(i) Prior to the 2015 ta>; year, fF-or married couples filing joint returns, 
heads ofhousehold, and surviving spouses, as defined in Section 17046, the credit shall 
be equal to one hundred twenty dollars ($120) if adjusted gross income is fifty thousand 
dollars ($50,000) or less. 

(ii) For the 2015 tax year and each tax year thereafter, for married couples filing 
joint returns, heads ofhousehold, and surviving spouses, as defined in Section 17046, the 
credit shall be equal to two hundred forty ($240) if adjusted gross income is fifty 
thousand dollars ($50, 000) or less. 

(B)(i) Prior to the 2015 tax year, f-For other individuals, the credit shall be equal 
to sixty dollars ($60) if adjusted gross income is twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) 
or less. 

(ii) For the 2015 tax year and each tax year thereafter, the credit shall be equal 
to one hundred twenty ($120) if adjusted gross income is twenty-five thousand dollars 
($25, 000) or less. 

(2) Except as provided in subdivision (b), a husband and wife shall receive but 
one credit under this section. If the husband and wife file separate returns, the credit may 
be taken by either or equally divided between them, except as follows: 

(A) If one spouse was a resident for the entire taxable year and the other spouse 
was a nonresident for part or all of the taxable year, the resident spouse shall be allowed 
one-halfthe·credit allowed to married persons and the nonresident spouse shall be 
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permitted one-half the credit allowed to married persons, prorated as provided in 
subdivision (e). 

(B) If both spouses were nonresidents for part of the taxable year, the credit 
allowed to married persons shall be divided equally between them subject to the proration 
provided in subdivision (e). 

(b) For a husband and wife, if each spouse maintained a separate place of 
residence and resided in this state during the entire taxable year, each spouse will be 
allowed one-half the full credit allowed to married persons provided in subdivision (a). 

(c) For purposes oftbis section, a "qualified renter" means an individual who 
satisfies both of the following: 

(1) Was a resident of this state, as defined in Section 17014. 

(2) Rented and occupied premises in this state which constituted his or her 
principal place of residence during at least 50 percent of the taxable year. 

(d) "Qualified renter" does not include any of the following: 

(1) An individual who for more than 50 percent of the taxable year rented and 
occupied premises that were exempt from property taxes, except that an individual, 
otherwise qualified, is deemed a qualified renter if he or she or his or her landlord pays 
possessory interest taxes, or the owner of those premises makes payments in lieu of 
property taxes that are substantially equivalent to property taxes paid on properties of 
comparable market value. 

(2) An individual whose principal place of residence for more than 50 percent of 
the taxable year is with another person who claimed that individual as a dependent for 
income tax purposes. 

(3) An individual who has been granted or whose spouse has been granted the 
homeowners' property tax exemption during the taxable year. This paragraph does not 
apply to an individual whose spouse has been granted the homeowners' property tax 
exemption if each spouse maintained a separate residence for the entire taxable year. 

(e) An otherwise qualified renter who is a nonresident for any portion of the 
taxable year shall claim the credits set forth in subdivision (a) at the rate of one-twelfth of 
those credits for each full month that individual resided within this state during the 
taxable year. 

(f) A person claiming the credit provided in this section shall, as part of that 
claim, and under penalty of perjury, furnish that information as the Franchise Tax Board 
prescribes on a form supplied by the board. 
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(g) The credit provided in this section shall be claimed on returns in the form as 
the Franchise Tax Board may from time to time prescribe. 

(h) For purposes of this section, "premises" means a house or a dwelling unit 
used to provide living accommodations in a building or structure and the land incidental 
thereto, but does not include land only, unless the dwelling unit is a mobilehome. The 
credit is not allowed for any taxable year for the rental of land upon which a mobilehome 
is located if the mobilehome has been granted a homeowners' exemption under Section 
218 in that year. 

(i) This section shall become operative on January 1, 1998, and applies to any 
taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1998. 

G) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1999, the Franchise Tax 
Board shall recompute the adjusted gross income amounts set forth in subdivision (a). 
The computation shall be made as follows: 

(1) The Department oflndustrial Relations shall transmit annually to the 
Franchise Tax Board the percentage change in the California Consumer Price Index for 
all items from June of the prior calendar year to June of the current year, no later than 
August 1 of the current calendar year. 

(2) The Franchise Tax Board shall compute an inflation adjustment factor by 
adding 100 percent to the portion of the percentage change figure which is furnished 
pursuant to paragraph (1) and dividing the result by 100. 

(3) The Franchise Tax Board shall multiply the amount in subparagraph (B) of 
paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) for the preceding taxable year by the inflation adjustment 
factor determined in paragraph (2), and round off the resulting products to the nearest one 
dollar ($1 ). 

(4) In computing the amounts pursuant to this subdivision, the amounts provided 
in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) shall be twice the amount 
provided in subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a). 

SECTION 14. Amendment 

The statutory provisions of this measure may be amended to further the purposes 
of the initiative by a statute passed in each house by rollcall vote entered in the journal, 
two-thirds of the membership concurring, and signed by the Governor. 

SECTION 15. Severability 

If any of the provisions of this measure or the applicability of any provision of 
this measure to any person or circumstances shall be found to be unconstitutional or 
otherwise invalid, such finding shall not affect the remaining provisions or applications 
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of this measure to other persons or circumstances, and to that extent the provisions of this 
measure are deemed to be severable. 
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