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Office of the Attorney General @CE,VQ

ATTN: Initiative Coordinator AUG 2 5 2015

P.O. Box 944255

Sacramento, CA 94244-2550 INITIATIVE COORDINATOR
ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE

Attorney General of California:

This note is a written request for a circulating title and summary for the attached proposed
initiative measure.

I've enclosed a check for $200.
Further, here are my required attestations.

I, Terrance Lynn, declare under penalty of perjury that | am a citizen of the United States, 18
years of age or older, and a resident of San Mateo county, California.

Signed,

Dated” August /}gfzﬁ‘r

I, Terrance Lynn, acknowledge that it is a misdemeanor under state law (Section 18650 of the
Elections Code) to knowingly or willfully allow the signatures on an initiative petition to be used
for any purposes other than qualification of the proposed measure for the ballot. | certify that |
will not knowingly or willfully allow the signatures for thls initiative to be used for any purpose
other than quallﬂcatlon of the measure for the bale="

Signature of P
Dated this 23rdday of Aug 15

As a suggestion, you may consider this as a working summary for the initiative.
“This initiative would lower the California alcohol drinking age to 18.”

For more information about this initiative and as my public contact information, please visit my
website www.theTerryLynn.com. My email is contact@theTerrvLynn.com. My address is 165
Georgia Lane, Portola Valley, California 94028.

Regards,
Terrance Lynn




Lower Alcohol Drinking Age to 18

This initiative replaces the age 21 with the age 18 in California Code 25658.

The new text would read as follows (with the amended language in bold).

I3

25658. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (c), every
person who sells, furnishes, gives, or causes to be sold, furnished,

or given away any alcoholic beverage to any person under 18 years of
age is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(b) Except as provided in Section 25667 or 25668, any person under
18 years of age who purchases any alcoholic beverage, or any person
under 18 years of age who consumes any alcoholic beverage in any
on-sale premises, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(c) Any person who violates subdivision (a) by purchasing any
alcoholic beverage for, or furnishing, giving, or giving away any
alcoholic beverage to, a person under 18 years of age, and the person
under 18 years of age thereafter consumes the alcohol and thereby
proximately causes great bodily injury or death to himself, herself,
or any other person, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(d) Any on-sale licensee who knowingly permits a person under 18
years of age to consume any alcoholic beverage in the on-sale
premises, whether or not the licensee has knowledge that the person
is under 18 years of age, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(e) (1) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (2) or (3), or
Section 25667 or 25668, any person who violates this section shall be
punished by a fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250), no part of
which shall be suspended, or the person shall be required to perform
not less than 24 hours or more than 32 hours of community service
during hours when the person is not employed and is not attending
school, or a combination of a fine and community service as
determined by the court. A second or subsequent violation of
subdivision (b), where prosecution of the previous violation was not
barred pursuant to Section 25667 or 25668, shall be punished by a
fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or the person
shall be required to perform not less than 36 hours or more than 48
hours of community service during hours when the person is not
employed and is not attending school, or a combination of a fine and
community service as determined by the court. It is the intent of the
Legislature that the community service requirements prescribed in
this section require service at an alcohol or drug treatment program
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or facility or at a county coroner's office, if available, in the
area where the violation occurred or where the person resides.

(2) Except as provided in paragraph (3), any person who violates
subdivision (a) by furnishing an alcoholic beverage, or causing an
alcoholic beverage to be furnished, to a minor shall be punished by a
fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000), no part of which shall be
suspended, and the person shall be required to perform not less than
24 hours of community service during hours when the person is not
employed and is not attending school.

(3) Any person who violates subdivision (c) shall be punished by
imprisonment in a county jail for a minimum term of six months not to
exceed one year, by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by
both imprisonment and fine.

(f) Persons under 18 years of age may be used by peace officers in
the enforcement of this section to apprehend licensees, or employees
or agents of licensees, or other persons who sell or furnish
alcoholic beverages to minors. Notwithstanding subdivision (b), any
person under 18 years of age who purchases or attempts to purchase
any alcoholic beverage while under the direction of a peace officer
is immune from prosecution for that purchase or attempt to purchase
an alcoholic beverage. Guidelines with respect to the use of persons

under 18 years of age as decoys shall be adopted and published by the

department in accordance with the rulemaking portion of the
Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section
11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code).
Law enforcement-initiated minor decoy programs in operation prior to
the effective date of regulatory guidelines adopted by the department
shall be authorized as long as the minor decoy displays to the
seller of alcoholic beverages the appearance of a person under 18
years of age. This subdivision shall not be construed to prevent the
department from taking disciplinary action against a licensee who
sells alcoholic beverages to a minor decoy prior to the department's
final adoption of regulatory guidelines. After the completion of
every minor decoy program performed under this subdivision, the law
enforcement agency using the decoy shall notify licensees within 72
hours of the results of the program. When the use of a minor decoy
results in the issuance of a citation, the notification required
shall be given to licensees and the department within 72 hours of the
issuance of the citation. A law enforcement agency may comply with
this requirement by leaving a written notice at the licensed premises
addressed to the licensee, or by mailing a notice addressed to the
licensee.

(9) The penalties imposed by this section do not preclude




prosecution or the imposition of penalties under any other provision
of law, including, but not limited to, Section 272 of the Penal Code
and Section 13202.5 of the Vehicle Code.




