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Dear Ms. Johansson: 

The undersigned on this and subsequent.pages are the proponents of the attached 
amended initiative measure entitled "The Marijuana Control, Legalization and Revenue 
Act of 2016 Version 3A" Please prepare a circulating title and summary of the chief 
purposes and points of the measure. We have also included with this letter the signed 
statements required by Election Code sections 9001 and 9608, our addresses as 
registered to vote and a check for $200.00. 

.. 
Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. If you have any questions, please 
do not hesitate to contact John Lee at John@AFPR.us 

Sincerely, 

Editte Dalya Lerman 
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The Marijuana Control, Legalization and Revenue Act of 2016 
Version 3.5 

Text of Proposed Law 

SECTION 1. Title. 
This measure shall be known and may be cited as "The Marijuana Control, Legalization and Revenue Act of2016." 

SEC. 2. Statement of General Purpose. 
This initiative measure makes it lawful to possess, furnish, process, concentrate, use, grow, transport and sell cannabis 
for social use in the State of California subject to reasonable regulation and taxation in a manner similar to alcohol. 

SEC. 3. Findings and Declarations. 
(1) The "war on drugs" has failed miserably, imprisoned the poor and minorities, and handed billions of dollars to 
criminal cartels and gangs. 
(2) Taxing cannabis sales will generate hundreds of millions of dollars in annual revenues for California health care, 
schools and law enforcement. 
(3) Legalizing and regulating cannabis sales to adults 21 years of age and older will make Californians safer by 
eliminating the dangerous importation, growing and selling of illegal cannabis. 

SEC. 4. A new Division 10, entitled "Cannabis Regulation and Taxation" (Sections 27100 to 27900) is added to the 
Business and Professions Code, to read: 

Chapter 1. General. 
§ 27100. Purposes. 
( a) To express the will of the People of the State of California that Congress should remove Cannabis from the List of 
Federal Controlled Substances, and that the State Legislature should de-schedule Cannabis from the California 
Uniform Controlled Substances Act. 
(b) This Act implements a comprehensive, statewide scheme for legalizing, regulating and taxing the cultivation, 
processing and distribution of cannabis for social use. In addition, it is the intent of the People to accomplish all of the 
following: 
(1) Prevent driving while impaired by cannabis and other adverse public health and safety consequences associated 
with cannabis use; 
(2) Eliminate the public safety, criminal justice and environmental issues associated with illegally grown cannabis; 
(3) Tax cannabis sales to improve the lives of all Californians; 
( 4) Allow local voters to prohibit cannabis retail storefronts in their communities; and 
(5) Allow local governments to place reasonable time, place and manner restrictions on the sale of cannabis. 

§ 27110. Definitions. 
"Adult" means an individual who is twenty-one (21) years of age or older. 
"Applicant" means the following: 
(1) Owner or owners of a proposed facility, including all persons or entities having ownership interest other than a 
security interest, lien, or encumbrance on property that will be used by the facility. 
(2) If the owner is an entity, owner includes within the entity each person participating in the direction, control, or 
management of, or having a financial interest in, the proposed facility. 
(3) If the applicant is a publicly traded company, owner means the chief executive officer or any person or entity with 
an aggregate ownership 
"Attorney General Guidelines" means the "Guidelines For The Security and Non-Diversion of Marijuana Grown for 
Medical Use," issued by the California Attorney General in August 2008. 
"Certificate Holder" means any person, individual, partnership, group, association, corporation, institution, or entity, 
and the officers, directors, owners, managing employees, or agents thereof, that has successfully registered and has 
been approved for a Cannabis Business Certificate as defined in this chapter. 
"Cannabis" means "marijuana" or "marihuana" as defined in Health and Safety Code Section 11018. 
"Cannabis Business" is a for profit or nonprofit entity that cultivates, concentrates, processes, wholesales, or retails 
cannabis, and includes, but is not limited to, Cannabis; Manufacturers, Distributors, Retailers, Analytical Laboratories, 
Compassion Providers and Medical Retailers. It does not include collectives or cooperatives. 
"Cannabis Business Certificate" is a certificate issued by the Commission indicating that the cannabis business has 
successfully registered and paid all required fees 
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"Cannabis-containing Product" means a product containing cannabis that is processed for use or consumption, 
including but not limited to, smoking products, vaporizing products, edible products, topical products, ointments and 
tinctures. 
"Cannabis Plant Canopy" shall mean the total combined canopy area as measured by the horizontal extent of the plant 
or combination of plants at the widest point and measured in a straight line. 
"Commission" shall refer to Cannabis Control Commission as defined in Section 27500 of the Business and 
Professions Code. 
"Concentrated cannabis" shall have the same definition as in Health and Safety Code Section 11006.5. 
"Cooperative" or "Collective" means any site, facility or location where a group of qualified patients or persons with 
an identification card associate, meet or congregate in order to collectively or Cooperatively, cultivate distribute, sell, 
dispense, transmit, process, deliver, exchange, or give away Cannabis for medicinal purposes pursuant to California's 
Medical Marijuana laws, and the Attorney General Guidelines. A medical Cannabis Cooperative or Collective must be 
organized as a Collective or Cooperative, as those terms are defined by the Attorney General Guidelines, or the 
California Corporations Code, or the California Food and Agricultural Code. Any of these three sections may be used, 
in whole or in part, in the formation of a cannabis collective or cooperative for medicinal purposes. 
"Cultivation of Cannabis" is hereby recognized as General Agriculture, in accordance with California Zoning Codes. 
"Dietary cannabis" means cannabis used as a food in its raw or non-psychoactive state for the unique provision of the 
essential cannabinoid acids, terpenes, flavonoids and other beneficial constituents. 
"Dispensary" means a Cannabis Business, Collective, or Cooperative, where cannabis is made available. 
"Edible Cannabis Product" or "Edible" means a food product infused with cannabis or concentrated cannabis. An 
edible cannabis product is not considered food, as defined by Section 109935 of the Health and Safety Code, or a 
drug, as defined by Section 109925 of the Health and Safety Code. 
"Endanger Others" does not mean and shall not include lawfully using, ingesting possessing and/or cultivating 
cannabis within the same residence or it's curtilage, or adjoining buildings and structures or in a commercial building 
of any type, unless additional conduct is demonstrated by clear and convincing evidence that such acts have in fact 
become imminently dangerous to human safety, in addition to mere lawful use, ingestion, possession or cultivation. 
"Excessive" means any requirement or fee that exceeds a normal, usual, or reasonable requirement based on expenses 
incurred or required fee. 
"Illegal use of Firearms" means any use of a firearm that is considered illegal under California Law, whether due to 
the possession of the firearm itself or to the legal status of the user of the firearm. It does not mean the otherwise legal 
use of a firearm by persons engaged in lawful cannabis related activities. 
"Individual" means a natural person as defined in Revenue and Taxation Code Section 17005. 
"Indoors" means within a fully enclosed and secure structure which can only be entered through a locked door that 
requires a key or combination to open and which is secure against unauthorized entry. 
"Labor peace agreement" means an agreement between a licensee and a bona fide labor organization that, at a 
minimum, protects the state's proprietary interests by prohibiting labor organizations and members from engaging in 
picketing, work stoppages, boycotts, and any other economic interference with the applicant's business. This 
agreement means that the applicant has agreed not to disrupt efforts by the bona fide labor organization to 
communicate with, and attempt to organize and represent, the applicant's employees. The agreement shall provide a 
bona fide labor organization access at reasonable times to areas in which the applicant's employees work, for the 
purpose of meeting with employees to discuss their right to representation, employment rights under state law, and 
terms and conditions of employment. This type of agreement shall not mandate a particular method of election or 
certification of the bona fide labor organization. 
"Marijuana" or "Marihuana" has the meaning set forth in Health and Safety Code Section 11018. 
"Medical Purposes" refers to cannabis recommended by a physician for a medical condition to a qualified patient or 
primary caregiver, as defined under California's Medical Marijuana laws. 
"Minor" means an individual under the age of 21. 
"Neighborhood Standards" means guidelines agreed upon on a neighborhood level, and set by a majority vote or 
opinion of the residents of the neighborhood. 
"Outdoor" or "Outdoors" means any location that is not "indoors" within a fully enclosed and secure structure as 
defined herein. 
"Person" means an individual, proprietorship, firm, partnership, joint venture, syndicate, business trust, company, 
corporation, limited liability company, association, and any other organization or group of persons acting in concert. 
"Registered Business" or "Listed Business" is a business that has successfully applied for inclusion on the list of 
entities registered with the Commission. 
"Reasonable Regulations" means any requirement or fee that does not exceed a normal, usual, or standardized 



requirement for any similar business. 
"Reasonable Limits" refers to one or more limits imposed by the Commission that does not allow the creation or 
perpetuation of monopolies and that fosters and encourages competition. 
"Restricted Area" means the portion of a business location which is clearly identified as such on the floor plan 
proposal that is submitted with the business' registration application to the cannabis Control Commission. The 
business may cultivate, distribute, possess, produce, or allow the consumption of cannabis in the restricted area. 
"Site" means the lot, parcel or portion of a lot or parcel that is used by a person or registered business under this Act 
used for conduct specifically authorized under this Act. 
"Social Use" means the consumption, smoking, vaporizing, ingesting, topical use, recreational use, or any other use of 
cannabis and cannabis-containing products by an individual authorized under this Act, with the exception of 
consumption of cannabis and cannabis-containing products in accordance with dietary use or a medical treatment 
regimen. 
"Structure" means any building or enclosure constructed or erected that is supported or affixed permanently on the 
property, that is not mobile, but shall not include any motor vehicle. 
"Topical Cannabis Products" means cannabis infused lotions or preparations intended for external use. 
"Vehicle" means a device by which any person or property may be propelled, moved, or drawn upon a street, sidewalk 
or waterway, including, but not limited to, a device moved exclusively by human power. 

Chapter 2. Medical Cannabis. 
§ 27200. Medical Cannabis Protections. 
This Act shall not limit or adversely affect the individual and group cultivation rights, medical rights and protections 
afforded by Health and Safety Code Sections 11362.5 through 11362.83 and any future Medical Marijuana law passed 
by the Legislature of the State of California that is consistent with this Act, except as provided in subdivisions ( a), (b) 
and (c). 
(a) Effective July 10, 2017, the application and renewal fee established for individuals seeking to obtain or renew a 
voluntary medical marijuana identification card, as defined in Health and Safety Code 11362.7(g), shall not exceed 
thirty-five dollars ($35), adjusted biennially, in January of each odd numbered year, for changes in the Consumer 
Price Index. No California public agency shall collect information pertaining to the residency of the applicant or the 
designated primary caregiver of the applicant. The Department of Public Health or its successor agency shall 
designate a portion of the application fee sufficient to cover the expenses to the county health department or the 
county's designee in processing and accepting applications pursuant to Article 2.5 (commencing with Section 
11362.7) of Chapter 6 of Division 10 of the Health and Safety Code. 
(b) There shall be reciprocity in the State of California for other state's medical marijuana programs. A medical 
cannabis registry identification card, or a written medical cannabis recommendation, or its equivalent issued by 
another state government to permit the medical use of cannabis by a qualifying patient or to permit a person to assist 
with a qualifying patient's medical use of cannabis shall have the same force and effect as a voluntary medical 
marijuana identification card issued by the State of California. 
(c) Any criminal defendant who is eligible to use medical marijuana pursuant to Section 11362.5 shall not be 
prevented from using, possessing or transporting medical marijuana while he or she is on formal or informal 
probation, parole, or released pending legal action, whether or not bail is posted. 
(d) Despite its status as a Schedule I drug under federal law, Cannabis factually has numerous currently accepted 
medical uses that have been studied and verified. One of the primary functions of the Commission shall be to facilitate 
the safe access of cannabis to those who, for serious medical purposes, including but not limited to, seizures, cancer, 
glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, or hospice care, may most be in need of access, but who, due to institutional, administrative, or 
financial barriers, may be most unable to gain safe access to cannabis. 

Chapter 3. Taxes and Allocation of Revenue. 
§ 27300. No Other Taxes. 
(a) No tax, fee, assessment or charge shall be levied on the cultivation, possession, manufacture, processing, 
laboratory testing, labeling, transportation, distribution, use, storage or sale of cannabis or the seeds, resins or pollen 
thereof, if intended for social use, except as authorized by this division. 

§ 27301. Revenue Allocation. 
(a) All revenues derived from any excise tax imposed by the Legislature pursuant to this section, with the exception of 
payment of refunds and reasonable and necessary administration and collection expenses, shall be deposited in the 
Cannabis Public Benefit Fund, which is hereby created in the State Treasury, and shall be subject to annual 
appropriation to the State Controller for allocation in accordance with the following formula: 
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(1) Ten percent (10%) for colleges or universities of the state higher education system, as defined in Section 100850 
of the Education Code; 
(2) Ten percent (10%) for public education K through 12; 
(3) Ten percent (10%) for water conservation and environmental restoration; 
( 4) Ten percent (10%) for drug abuse research, education and treatment, including, but not limited to cannabis 
impairment studies; 
(5) Ten percent (10%) for fire, police and sheriff services; 
(6) Ten percent (10%) for the general fund oflocal cities and counties that do not have bans on storefront Cannabis 
retailers; 
(7) Ten percent (10%) for cannabis research conducted by colleges or universities of the state higher education 
system, as defined in Section 100850 of the Education Code, and funding for the genetic repository or other activities 
as authorized under this Act; 
(8) Ten percent (10%) for distribution to nonprofit entities whose principal objectives are to ensure the political, 
educational, social and economic equality of minority citizens of the State of California, eliminate racial prejudice and 
disparities, and remove the impacts of racial discrimination, in order to improve the quality of life of California's 
minorities, for activities related to substance abuse education, entrepreneurship education and training, prevention, 
research and healthcare. 
(9) $7 .5 million, adjusted biennially for changes in the Consumer Price Index, for operations of the Cannabis Control 
Commission; and 
(10) The remainder if any, for public education preschool through 14. 
(b) In any fiscal year, an appropriation of nine percent (9%) to eleven percent (11 % ) shall be deemed compliant with 
subdivision (a)(l) through (a)(9). 
(c) Not less than sixty-seven percent (67%) of the aggregate expenditures in categories (a)(l) through (a)(9) shall be 
appropriated to counties, cities, cities and counties, and special districts. 
( d) With the exception of the Cannabis Control Commission, the precise recipients of the revenue in the Cannabis 
Public Benefit Fund each fiscal year shall be determined by the Governor and the Legislature during the budget 
process. 
( e) On or before the 27th day of each month, the Controller shall allocate the amounts deposited and remaining 
unexpended and unresolved in the Cannabis Public Benefit Fund on the 15th day of each month in accordance with 
the allocation scheme enacted in the budget bill. 
(f) The Legislature may place an excise tax on the sale of non-medical cannabis, including tinctures, edibles, topicals 
and concentrates, so long as no excise tax or combination of excise taxes shall exceed ten percent ( 10%) of the retail 
price of the products in the first three (3) years after passage of this Act. The Legislature may increase the excise tax 
annually by up to one percent (1 % ), up to a maximum of fifteen percent (15% ). 
(g) The Legislature may place an excise tax on the bulk storage of Cannabis, so long as no excise tax or combination 
of excise taxes shall exceed ten percent (10%) of the wholesale price of the products, whichever is greater. Any excise 
tax on bulk storage shall only apply to amounts over one hundred (100) pounds dry weight, or ten (10) gallons liquid 
measure per location and shall apply only to the total amount stored on a licensed premises of concentrated Cannabis 
resin extracted for sale or for compounding with edibles or to the storage of dried flowers in bulk packaging 
exceeding 100 pounds per package. Bulk storage fees shall not apply to edibles or compounds that are packaged for 
final delivery to the end user or consumer. 

§ 27310. No Sales or Use Tax for Medical or Dietary Sales. 
Cannabis that is sold for dietary or medical purposes shall not be subject to any sales, use, or excise tax. All taxes and 
fees on medical Cannabis collected prior to the enactment of this Act shall be deemed valid and not refundable under 
any circumstance. 

§ 27320. The Sales and Use Tax Applies to Sales for Social Use. 
Except as otherwise provided in this Act, cannabis sold for social use shall be subject to the state and local sales and 
use taxes in effect in the jurisdiction in which it is sold. 

Chapter 4. Adult Social Use of Cannabis is Lawful. 
§ 27400. No Adverse Actions. 
No person shall be subject to any infraction, administrative, civil or criminal penalty related to the use, growth, 
cultivation, possession, transportation, storage, processing or sale of cannabis or the seeds, resins or pollen thereof, 
nor for reasonable land use related to any such activity, if the activity complies with this Act. 
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§ 27410. Minors. 
(a) The mere presence of one or more minors on or near a parcel of real property, including as residents, shall not 
render cannabis cultivation on that parcel unlawful per se. 
(b) Neither the presence of cannabinoid components or metabolites in a person's bodily fluids, nor conduct permitted 
under this chapter related to the possession, use, transfer, cultivation, manufacture, or sale of cannabis or cannabis 
products by a custodial or noncustodial parent, grandparent, pregnant woman, legal guardian, or other person charged 
with the well-being of a child, shall form the sole or primary basis for any action or proceeding by a child welfare 
agency or in a family or juvenile court. 
( c) The physician approved use of medical cannabis by persons under the age of 21 to treat serious medical conditions 
shall not be used to diminish parental rights or maintain jurisdiction over said child or justify the removal of a child 
from the home. 
( d) The protections afforded in this section shall also apply to Section 27200 of this Act. 
( e) For the purposes of this Act, a minor who uses cannabis for medical purposes, in accordance with California's 
medical marijuana laws, is anyone under the age of 21 years. 

§ 27420. Discrimination Prohibited. 
This section shall not apply to employers or employees in safety-sensitive occupations covered by U.S. Department of 
Transportation regulations (49 CFR Part 40). Federal Drug Free Workplace policies shall only stand in California for 
those employers who are required by Federal contract to enforce, so long as the federal government deems, and shall 
upon reversal or revision of federal policy, no longer be enforceable. Employers may perform testing for intoxication 
or impairment (as defmed in Section 27870) for active (not metabolized) cannabis when considering the potential 
employment or continued employment of any adult in all occupations within the State of California. Discrimination 
against candidates for employment or those currently employed, who do not show clear signs of impairment (as 
defined in Section 27870) and that are not subject to U.S. DOT Regulations above, involving urine screening, blood, 
hair or any other methods not used to determine active (not metabolized) cannabis, shall no longer be lawful in the 
State of California against Adults who consume Cannabis or it's derivatives. An individual's ability to maintain 
employment shall not be jeopardized based on their consumption of cannabis while off duty. Reasonable 
accommodation for Medical Marijuana patients shall be made in occupations where light duty is an option. This 
section in no way sanctions cannabis use while on duty for adult social consumers or Medical patients unless agreed 
to by the employer in writing. Only Impairment as defined in Section 27870 below shall be used to determine fitness 
for duty, and all employees arriving to their place of employment shall be subject to rules developed by the employer 
regarding intoxication or impairment in the workplace so long as those rules do not penalize employees for off duty 
social or medical consumption. Except as provided in this Act, no person shall refuse to provide services or benefits or 
increase the charge for services or benefits, based on the lawful use, cultivation, possession, storage, processing or 
sales of cannabis, including, but not limited to, the following: 
(a) A license, permit, or other entitlement for use, including all business, professional, trade and land use licenses and 
permits; 
(b) All contracts including competitively bid, labor, or personal employment contracts and franchises; 
( c) Utility services; 
(d) Banking and financial services; 
(e) Insurance and re-insurance. 

§ 27450. Protections. 
It shall be lawful and not a violation of California law for an adult: 
(a) To smoke, ingest, process or consume cannabis in one's home or on private property in a manner that does not 
endanger others or violate this division; 
(b) To be under the influence of cannabis, except as provided in this division and as provided in subdivision (f) of 
section 647 of the Penal Code; 
(c) To cultivate cannabis indoors, or outdoors behind fenced and securely-locked privately owned property, with the 
consent of the owner of such property. To comply with this section, the fencing shall completely obscure the presence 
of the cannabis plants from members of the general public, with the exception of aerial observation. Cultivation must 
comply with any local or state nuisance regulations, provided the nuisance regulation is not based on the presence 
and/or cultivation of cannabis nor crafted to primarily target cannabis cultivation, use, and/or possession. 

§ 27460. Reasonable Regulation. 
(a) No license, fee, fine or tax on a cannabis business, which is not specified in this division, shall exceed the amount 
charged or assessed for comparable businesses. 

MCLR 2016 Ver 3.5-LONG VERSION - Updated:11/19/2015 4:54:00 PM Page 5 of 21 



(b) The State of California and its agencies and employees shall not disclose and shall affirmatively protect the 
identities of persons. individuals and business entities engaged in lawful cannabis commerce or use, unless a court 
order states otherwise on a case by case basis. 

§ 27470. Federal Prosecution Assistance. 
(a) Unless pursuant to a court order, no information required to be provided to any state or local governmental agency 
by this division or in connection with any activity regulated by this division may be released to an agency or agent of 
the federal government in connection with a federal investigation or prosecution of a person for any activity that is 
permitted by this division. 
(b) The State of California shall not adopt any language from IRS Code Section 280E. 

§ 27480. Local Control; Zoning; Voter Referendum. 
(a) Except as provided in this chapter. no city, county, or city and county may ban any cannabis business that is in 
compliance with this division. 
(b) The governing body of a city, charter city, county, or city and county of more than 25,000 residents may not limit 
the number of storefront cannabis businesses to less than two for each 25,000 residents. The governing body of a city, 
charter city or county with 10,000 to 25,000 residents may not limit the number of storefront cannabis businesses to 
less than one. The governing body of a city, town, or charter city with fewer than 10,000 residents may ban storefront 
cannabis businesses. 
( c) Except as set forth in this section, a storefront cannabis business shall be allowed to operate in any commercial, 
business, Agricultural or industrial zone, or equivalent, in a city, county, or city and county. 
(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this division, a city, charter city, county, or city and county may ban, or 
limit the number of, cannabis businesses within its jurisdiction if an ordinance or charter amendment enacting that 
restriction has been approved by two-thirds of the voters within that jurisdiction at a regular election occurring in June 
or November. The governing body may enact a temporary ban or number limitation, until the vote occurs, not to 
exceed twelve (12) months, once a measure banning or limiting the number of cannabis businesses is placed on the 
ballot. 
(e) No retail storefront cannabis business shall be located within a 600-foot radius of any public or private school 
providing instruction in grades K through 12, except that this prohibition shall not apply to home schooling in private 
residences. The distance between a storefront cannabis business and the school shall be measured from the closest 
public entrance of the business to the property line of the school. 
(f) Subdivision (e) shall be collectively known as "sensitive uses." The distance between a storefront Cannabis 
business and a sensitive use shall be measured as measured by the foot path of travel, from the closest public entrance 
of the business to the property line in which the sensitive use is located. 
(g) For facilities issued a Cannabis Business Certificate that are located within the incorporated area of a city, the city 
shall have full power and authority to enforce this chapter and the rules, regulations, and standards promulgated by the 
office. Notwithstanding Sections 101375, 101400, and 101405 of the Health and Safety Code or any contract entered 
into pursuant thereto, or any other law, the city shall further assume complete responsibility for any regulatory 
function relating to those Cannabis Business Certificate holders within the city limits that would otherwise be 
performed by the county or any county officer or employee, including a county health officer, without liability, cost or 
expense to the county. 
(h) For storefront cannabis businesses located within the unincorporated area of a county, the county shall have full 
power and authority to enforce this chapter and the rules, reasonable regulations and standards. 
(i) All standards and regulations promulgated pursuant to this chapter shall be the minimum standards and regulations 
for obtaining and maintaining a Cannabis Business Certificate. State agencies shall collaborate with local agencies to 
enforce state standards and regulations to the extent that it is within the scope of other statutory responsibilities of 
local agencies and to the extent that resources for this enforcement are available to the local agencies. This section 
shall not be construed to limit any other state or local requirements. 
U) Pursuant to Section 7 of Article XI of the California Constitution, a city, county, or city and county may adopt 
ordinances that establish additional reasonable regulations, standards, and requirements for commercial cannabis 
activity. For all conflicts between the state and local standards, requirements, and regulations regarding health, safety, 
testing, security, and worker protections, the state laws shall preempt local ordinances. 
(k) The Commission shall establish procedures to provide any relevant state and local agencies, upon their request, 
with 24-hour access to information to verify a Cannabis Business Certificate, track transportation manifests, and track 
the inventories of facilities issued a Cannabis Business Certificate. This record shall allow state and local law 
enforcement, agencies, and licensing entities to verify a Cannabis Business Certificate and provide summary 
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information on Cannabis Business Certificate holders consisting of the name of the certificate holder, the date the 
Cannabis Business Certificate was issued, the status of the Cannabis Business Certificate, and the certificate holder's 
mailing address. 
(1) A state agency is not required by this section to enforce a city, county, city and county, or local law, ordinance, rule, 
or regulation regarding the site or operation of a facility or transporter who is a holder of a certificate issued under this 
Act. 
(m) This chapter does not prevent a city, county, or city and county from doing any of the following: 
(1) Adopting local ordinances that, consistent with this Act, regulates the: 
(A) Location; 
(B) Hours of operation; or 
(C) Number of Store-front retail locations. 
(2) Providing for the administrative or civil enforcement of the ordinances described in paragraph (1). 
(3) Establishing a reasonable fee for the operation within its jurisdiction of any Cannabis Business, 
(4) Enacting and enforcing other laws or ordinances pursuant to the authority granted by Section 7 of Article XI of the 
California Constitution. 

Chapter 5. Administration. 
§ 27500. Cannabis Control Commission. 
(a) There is in state government the California Cannabis Control Commission, consisting of seven members appointed 
by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate committee on rules. Not later than July 1, 2017, the 
Commission shall be operational and shall begin issuing Cannabis Business Certificates as specified in this Act 
without delay. 
(b) The regulation of cannabis, including, but not limited to, the cultivation, processing, transportation, distribution, 
storage, disposal and sales is vested in the Commission. The Commission shall issue business certificates authorizing 
including but not limited to, the cultivation, processing, transportation, distribution, wholesale, storage, disposal, and 
retail sales of cannabis. No commercial cannabis cultivation, processing, transportation, distribution and/or sales may 
be allowed without a business certificate provided by this Commission, provided that the Commission has enacted 
reasonable regulations and processes allowing for the attainment of such business certificates, and has fully 
implemented these measures within a year's period of passage of this Act. 
( c) The Commission shall develop standards for, including but not limited to, potency, consistency, labeling, and 
testing, 
( d) The regulations, fees and procedures promulgated by the Commission are hereby declared to constitute a 
comprehensive scheme of statewide cannabis regulation. Any and all local cannabis regulations, fees and procedures 
that are adopted and/or enforced in a manner contrary to Commission regulations are declared null and void. 
(e) Initial funding for the Commission shall be advanced as a loan by the Department of Treasury and shall be repaid 
by the excise tax. 
(f) All revenues derived from any fines or fees imposed by the Commission pursuant to this Act, with the exception of 
payment of refunds and reasonable and necessary administration and collection expenses, shall be deposited in the 
Cannabis Public Benefit Fund, referred to in section §27301 of this act, and shall be subject to quarterly appropriation 
to the cannabis Control Commission for allocation as required. 

§ 27510. Commission Members; Eligibility; Qualifications. 
(a) Each of the seven members of the Commission shall be a citizen of the United States and a resident of the State of 
California for no less than 3 years continuously prior to his or her appointment. 
(b) One member of the Commission shall be selected from the California Department of public health. 
( c) One member of the Commission shall be selected from the California Department of Food and Agriculture. 
( d) One member of the Commission shall be selected from the California Department of Board of Equalization. 
(e) One member of the Commission shall be a physician licensed by the State of California, who has for at least five 
(5) years who has recommended and or approved Medical Cannabis to his or her patients. 
(f) One member of the Commission shall be a criminal defense, or civil attorney licensed by the State of California, 
with over ten (10) years of experience defending marijuana cases and has fought cases through adjudication, or with 
over ten (10) years of experience creating and working with Cannabis businesses. 
(g) One member of the Commission shall be a qualified medical cannabis patient as defined in California's Medical 
Marijuana laws, who has been using medical cannabis for at least 5 years, and has a set of skills that would be 
beneficial to the Commission. 
(h) One member of the Commission shall be a qualified medical Cannabis patient as defined in California's Medical 
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Marijuana laws, who has been responsible for owning, operating, or managing a medical cannabis collective or 
cooperative in the State of California for at least 5 years. 

§ 27511. Commission Members. 
( a) Of the members initially appointed, three shall be appointed for a term of two years, three shall be appointed for a 
term of three years, and one shall be appointed for a term of four years. After the initial terms, the term of office of 
each newly appointed member of the Commission is four years. Four members shall constitute a quorum, and no 
member may serve more than two consecutive terms. 
(b) The Governor shall designate one member to serve as chairperson. The initial appointments shall be made within 
three months of the operative date of this section. Thereafter, vacancies, such as term outs, shall be filled within 60 
days of the date of the vacancy by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate Committee on Rules. 
( c) The Governor may remove any member of the Commission for incompetence, neglect of duty, or corruption upon 
first giving him or her a copy of the charges and an opportunity to be heard. 

§ 27512. Commission Members; Oath of Office. 
Before entering upon the duties of his or her office, each member of the Commission shall subscribe to the 
constitutional oath of office. 

§ 27513. Salary. 
The members of the Commission shall receive the salary provided for by Section 11553.5 of the Government Code. 

§ 27514. Executive Director. 
(a) The Commission shall appoint an Executive Director. A person is ineligible for appointment as Executive Director 
if, within two years prior to appointment, the person was employed by, contracted with, or derived substantial income 
from, any cannabis business. 
(b) The Executive Director shall receive an annual salary established by the Commission and approved by the 
Department of Personnel Administration. The Executive Director shall be the Commission's executive officer and 
shall carry out and execute the duties as specified by law and by the Commission. 
(c) The Commission may appoint other staff and clerical personnel as necessary to carry out its duties under this 
division. 

§ 27515. Commission Offices. 
(a) The Commission shall establish and maintain a general office for its regular meetings and the transaction of its 
business in Sacramento. The Commission may hold up to three meetings annually at other locations within the state. 
(b) A public record of every vote shall be maintained at the Commission's principal office. 
(c) A majority of the membership of the Commission is a quorum of the Commission. The concurring vote of three 
members of the Commission shall be required for any official action of the Commission or for the exercise of any of 
the Commission's duties, powers or functions. 
(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, Article 9 (commencing with Section 11120) of Chapter 1 of Part 1 of 
Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code applies to meetings of the Commission. Notwithstanding Section 
11125.1 of the Government Code, documents that are filed with the Commission for the purpose of evaluating the 
qualifications of an applicant, are exempt from disclosure under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 6250) of 
Division 7 of Title 1 of the Government Code. 

§ 27516. Commission Meetings and Records. 
(a) The Commission shall maintain for ten years a record of all proceedings at regular and special meetings of the 
Commission. These records shall be open to public inspection. 
(b) The Commission shall maintain for five years a file of all applications for business certificates under this division, 
together with a record of all actions taken with respect to those applications. The file and record shall be open to 
public inspection. 
( c) The Commission may maintain any other files and records as they deem appropriate. Except as otherwise provided 
in this division, the investigative files of the Commission are exempt from disclosure under Chapter 3.5 (commencing 
with Section 6250) of Division 7 of Title 1 of the Government Code. 
(d) Except as necessary for the administration of this division, no Commissioner and no official, employee, or agent of 
the Commission, having obtained access to confidential records or information in the performance of duties pursuant 
to this division, shall knowingly disclose or furnish the records or information, or any part thereof, to any person who 
is not authorized by law to receive it. A violation of this subdivision is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in 
prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both. 
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( e) Notwithstanding subdivision (k) of Section 1798.24 of the Civil Code, a court shall not compel disclosure of 
personal information in the possession of the Commission to any person in any civil proceeding in which the 
Commission is not a party, except for good cause and upon a showing that the information cannot otherwise be 
obtained. Nothing herein shall be construed to authorize the disclosure of personal information that would otherwise 
be exempt from disclosure. 
(f) The regulation of cannabis in this state shall be highly transparent, and the Commission shall be subject to the 
California Public Records Act (Chapter 3.5 ( commencing with Section 6250) of Division 7 of Title I of the 
Government Code). 
(g) The Commission is subject to the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act (Article 9 ( commencing with Section 11120) 
of Chapter 1 of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code) and shall conduct and maintain video 
recordings with audio of its meetings and make them available on its Internet Web site for five years .. 
(h) The Commission's Internet Web site shall provide all forms, instructions and other information required for a 
person to understand any requirement of the Commission and to apply for a certificate, license or permit. 

§ 27517. State or Local Government Agencies. 
All files, records, reports, and other information in possession of any state or local governmental agency that are 
relevant to an investigation by the Commission conducted pursuant to this division shall be made available to the 
Commission as requested. However, any tax information received from a governmental agency shall be used solely 
for effectuating the purposes of this division. To the extent that the files, records, reports, or information described in 
this section are confidential or otherwise privileged from disclosure under any law or exercise of discretion, they shall 
not lose that confidential or privileged status for having been disclosed to the Commission. 

§ 27518. Commission Responsibilities. 
The responsibilities of the Commission shall include: 
(a) Ensuring that business certificates, approvals, and permits are not issued to, or held by, persons whose operations 
are conducted in a manner that is inimical to the environment, public health, safety, or welfare. 
(b) Ensuring that there is no material involvement, directly or indirectly, with a cannabis business, or the ownership or 
management thereof, by persons whose operations are conducted in a manner that is inimical to the environment, 
public health, safety, or welfare. 
(c) Regulating, enforcing, inspecting and administering all commercial activities related to the cannabis industry in the 
State of California. 
( d) Facilitating cooperation among various State agencies in the allocation of enforcement resources to implement 
regulations and oversight according to provisions in this Act. 

§ 27519. Commission Powers. 
The Commission shall have all powers necessary and proper to enable it fully and effectively to carry out the policies 
and purposes of this Act, including, without limitation, all of the following: 
(a) To regulate commercial cannabis cultivation, wholesale, retail sales, medical sales, lab testing, transportation, 
research, storage, distribution, disposal and processing, including producing cannabis products in any form, including 
any concentrated form of the separated or extracted resins, whether obtained in crude or purified form, or extracted 
using any solvents. Any restricted commercial area as regulated by the Commission, shall not be governed by any 
other laws, and this Act shall supersede any other criminal or regulatory schemes. 
(b) The Commission shall be the sole state entity vested with these powers; the state legislature shall not encroach on 
the power of the Commission, nor further prohibit or legislate the use, or distribution, of Cannabis, beyond the 
regulations established by the Commission. Likewise, local entities, including county and municipal governments, 
apart from their inherent powers to create local nuisance and zoning regulations, subject to the limitations established 
in this measure, may not prohibit or legislate the use or distribution of Cannabis, beyond the regulations established 
by the Commission. 
(c) To issue cannabis business certificates authorizing including but not limited to the cultivation, processing, 
manufacturing, transportation, distribution, wholesale, and retail sales of cannabis. 
( d) To collect cannabis business certificate fees and taxes. 
( e) To promulgate regulations addressing the granting, denying, suspending, revoking and placing restrictions or 
conditions on cannabis business certificates. 
(f) To or impose fines upon any person holding a cannabis business certificate. The Commission may condition, 
restrict, discipline, or take action against any individual owner endorsed on the cannabis business certificate of the 
cannabis business whether or not the Commission takes action against the cannabis business itself. 
(g) Approve or disapprove transactions, events, and processes as provided in this division. 
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(h) Take actions deemed to be reasonable to ensure that no ineligible persons are associated with cannabis operations 
authorized by this division. 
(i) Take actions deemed to be reasonable to ensure that cannabis operations authorized by this division take place only 
in suitable locations. 
U) Grant temporary cannabis business certificates on appropriate terms and conditions. 
(k) Institute a civil action in any superior court against any person subject to this division to restrain a violation of this 
division. An action brought against a person pursuant to this section does not preclude a criminal action or civil action 
against that person by the Attorney General, by any district attorney, or by any city attorney with prosecutorial 
powers. 
(I) Issue subpoenas to compel attendance of witnesses and production of documents and other material things at a 
meeting or hearing of the Commission or its committees, including advisory committees. 
(m) Issue formal opinions of the Commission and advice letters signed by the General Counsel. 
(n) To establish reasonable limits for personal possession, sales, distribution and cultivation quantities. In addition to 
any limits established in this measure, the Commission may further designate reasonable limits for personal 
possession, sales, transportation, distribution and cultivation limits provided that such limits do not: 
(1) Infringe on the right of a person to possess a sufficient quantity of cannabis to satisfy their reasonable personal 
consumption needs in a law abiding manner. 
(2) Infringe on the ability of a cultivator or cannabis product manufacture to produce a sufficient quantity to meet the 
demands of their law abiding customers or clients within the state of California 
(3) Infringe on the ability of a transporter, wholesale or retail distributor to meet the demands of their law abiding 
customers or clients within the state of California. 
( o) To delegate appropriate enforcement tasks and administration of this chapter to other public agencies as required. 
(p) To ensure that all cannabis available for sale in California is accurately labeled, the Commission may require the 
use of a universal symbol or other recognizable logotype identifying the presence of cannabis in any product available 
for distribution. All cannabis sold in the State of California shall be labeled and shall include on its label a disclosure 
regarding the presence of any genetically modified organism (GMO). 

§ 27520. Oaths. 
The executive director and members of the Commission may administer oaths and certify official acts in connection 
with the business of the Commission. 

§ 27521. Rulemaking Procedure; Review by OAL. 
The regulations of the Commission shall be promulgated in compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act, except 
that any review by the Office of Administrative Law shall be limited to ensuring compliance only with the procedural 
provisions of that statute, in the same manner that it reviews regulations of the Fair Political Practices Commission. 

§ 27522. Duties; Regulation Content Requirements. 
(a) The Commission shall adopt regulations for the administration and enforcement of this division. 
(b) The regulations of the Commission shall include appropriate controls on the premises for commercial production, 
cultivation, processing, transportation, storage, disposal and sales of cannabis. They shall also address age verification 
measures to prevent the diversion of cannabis to minors; prohibitions on the use of illegal firearms at cultivation, 
processing, or distribution facilities; regulations concerning time, place and manner of operation, occupancy, 
protection of adjoining and nearby properties, and other environmental and public health controls. 
( c) No regulation of the Commission shall infringe on the individual rights set forth in this Act. Any taxes, regulations, 
fines and fees imposed pursuant to this section shall not be imposed on personal amounts of cannabis produced from a 
non-commercial, unregulated cannabis garden consistent with Section 27710. 
( d) The regulations adopted by the Commission shall do all of the following: 
(1) With respect to applications, certificates, investigations, and fees, the regulations shall include, but not be limited 
to, provisions that do all of the following: 
(A) Prescribe the method and form of application and certificates. 
(B) Prescribe the information to be furnished by any applicant concerning, as appropriate, the person's criminal 
record, business activities, organizational structure, and financial affairs, past or present. 
(C) Prescribe the information to be furnished by any certificate holder relating to any employees. 
(D) Require fingerprinting or other methods of identification of an applicant and certificate holder. 
(E) Prescribe the manner and method of collection and payment of fees and issuance of certificates. 
(2) Implement the provisions of this division relating to certificates and other approvals. 
(3) Require any registrant to report and keep records of transactions, involving cash or credit. 
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(4) Provide for the receipt of written comments and protests on an application by public agencies, public officials, 
local governing bodies or residents of the location of the cannabis business or future cannabis business. 
(5) Provide for the disapproval of advertising by cannabis businesses that are determined by the Commission to be 
deceptive to the public or harmful to minors. Advertisement or advertising that appeals to minors under the age of 18 
is presumptively deceptive. 
(6) Govern all of the following: 
(A) Extension of credit; 
(B) Cashing, deposit, and redemption of checks or other negotiable instruments; and 
(C) Verification of identification in monetary transactions. 
(7) Prescribe minimum procedures for adoption by any registrant to exercise effective control over their internal fiscal 
affairs, which shall include, but not be limited to, provisions for all of the following: 
(A) The safeguarding of assets and revenues, including the recording of cash and evidences of indebtedness. 
(B) Prescribing the manner in which compensation from cannabis sales and gross revenue shall be computed and 
reported by any cannabis business. 
(C) The provision of reliable records, accounts, and reports of transactions, operations, and events, including reports 
to the Commission. 
(8) Provide for the adoption and use of internal audits. 
(9) Require periodic financial reports from each cannabis business. 
(10) Specify standard forms for reporting financial conditions, results of operations, and other relevant financial 
information. 
(11) Ensure a uniform code of accounts and accounting classifications to ensure consistency, comparability, and 
effective disclosure of financial information. 
(12) Require audits to be conducted, in accordance with generally accepted auditing standards, of the financial 
statements of all registrants whose annual gross revenues equal or exceed a specified sum. However, nothing herein 
shall be construed to limit the Commission's authority to require audits of any cannabis business. 
(13) Regulate, limit, or otherwise restrict any activity that is related to the conduct of cannabis businesses, including to 
but not limited to, cultivation, processing, transportation, destruction, storage and sales of cannabis, consistent with 
the purposes of this division. 

§ 27523. Administrative Adjudication. 
The Commission may require that any matter that the Commission is authorized or required to consider in a hearing or 
meeting of an adjudicative nature regarding the denial, suspension or revocation of a cannabis business certificate be 
heard and determined in accordance with Chapter 5 ( commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 
2 of the Government Code. 

§ 27524. Mandamus. 
( a) A decision of the Commission denying a certificate, or imposing any condition or restriction on the grant of a 
certificate, may be reviewed by petition pursuant to Section 1085 of the Code of Civil Procedure. Section 1094.5 of 
the Code of Civil Procedure shall not apply to such decisions. The court may grant the petition only if the court finds 
that the action of the Commission was arbitrary and capricious, or exceeded the Commission's jurisdiction. 
(b) Any person aggrieved by a final decision or order of the Commission that restricts, conditions, suspends or 
revokes any previously granted certificate, made after hearing by the Commission, may petition the Superior Court for 
the County of Sacramento for judicial review pursuant to Section 1094.5 of the Code of Civil Procedure and Section 
11523 of the Government Code. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the standard set forth in paragraph (1) of 
subdivision (h) of Section 1094.5 of the Code of Civil Procedure shall apply for obtaining a stay of the operation of a 
final decision or order of the Commission. 

§ 27525. Executive Director; Responsibilities. 
The Executive Director shall perform all investigatory functions required by this division, as well as auditing 
functions, and shall have all of the following responsibilities: 
(a) To receive and process applications for any certificate, and to collect all related fees. The Executive Director shall 
investigate the qualifications of applicants before any certificate is issued, and investigate any request to the 
Commission for any approval that may be required pursuant to this division. The Executive Director may recommend 
the denial or the limitation, conditioning, or restriction of any cannabis business certificate. 
(b) To monitor the conduct of all cannabis businesses and other persons having a material involvement, directly or 
indirectly, with a cannabis operation or its holding company, for the purpose of ensuring that cannabis business 
certificates are not issued or held by, and that there is no direct or indirect material involvement with, a cannabis 
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operation or holding company by ineligible persons. or persons whose operations are conducted in a manner that is 
inimical to the environment, public health, safety, or welfare. 
(c) To investigate suspected violations of this division or laws of this state relating to cannabis, including any activity 
prohibited by the Penal Code. 
(d) To investigate complaints that are lodged against certificate holders, or other persons associated with a cannabis 
operation, by members of the public. 
( e) To initiate, where appropriate, a restriction, limitation, suspension, or revocation of any certificate, or the 
imposition of any fine upon any person certificated. 
(f) To adopt any other regulations reasonably related to its functions and duties as specified in this division. 

§ 27526. Investigations. 
(a) Investigations conducted pursuant to this division shall be limited to businesses registered under this Act. 
(b) The Executive Director has all powers necessary and proper to carry out fully and effectually the duties and 
responsibilities specified in this section. The investigatory powers of the Executive Director include, but are not 
limited to, the following: 
(1) With reasonable notice or warrant, the Executive Director may take any of the following actions: 
(A) Visit, investigate, and place accountants, technicians, and any other person, as it may deem necessary, in all areas 
of the premises wherein cannabis operations are conducted for the purpose of determining compliance with the rules 
and regulations adopted pursuant to this division. 
(B) Visit, inspect, and examine all premises where cannabis is cultivated, manufactured, packaged, stored, tested, 
disposed, sold, or distributed. 
(C) Inspect all equipment and supplies in any cannabis establishment or on any premises where cannabis is cultivated 
or equipment is manufactured, tested, sold, or distributed. 
(D) Upon proper issuance of an inspection warrant pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure Sec. 1822.50 et seq., inspect 
and/or seize documents, or records from any cannabis business for the purpose of examination and inspection. 
However, upon reasonable demand by the cannabis business, a copy of all documents and records seized shall be 
made and left on the premises. 
(E) Demand access to, and inspect, examine, photocopy, and audit all papers, books, and records of a cannabis 
business on the cannabis business's premises in the presence of the owner or agent. 
(2) Upon obtaining an inspection warrant pursuant to Section 1822.50 et seq. of the Code of Civil Procedure, the 
Executive Director may inspect and seize for inspection, examination, or photocopying any documents possessed, 
controlled, baled, or otherwise held by any cannabis business. 
(3) The Executive Director may investigate any suspected violation of this division. 
( 4) The Executive Director may do both of the following: 
(A) Issue subpoenas to require the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of books, records, 
documents and physical materials. 
(B) Administer oaths, examine witnesses under oath, take evidence and take depositions and affidavits or declarations. 
Notwithstanding Section 11189 of the Government Code, the Executive Director, without leave of court, may take the 
deposition of any cannabis business owner or any certificate holder. Sections 11185 and 11191 of the Government 
Code shall not apply to a witness who is an owner of a cannabis business. 
(c) Subdivision (b) shall not be construed to limit warrantless inspections, except as required by the California 
Constitution or the United States Constitution. 
(d) Subdivision (b) shall not be construed to prevent entries and administrative inspections, including seizures of 
property, without a warrant in the following circumstances: 
( 1) With the consent of the owner, operator or agent in charge of the premises; 
(2) In situations presenting imminent danger to health and safety; 
(3) In accordance with this division; and 
(4) In all other situations where a warrant is not constitutionally required. 

§ 27527. Applicants. 
(a) Without limiting any privilege that is otherwise available under law, any communication or publication from, or 
concerning, an applicant or certificate holder, in oral, written, or any other form, is absolutely privileged and shall not 
form a basis for imposing liability for defamation or constitute a ground for recovery in any civil action, under any of 
the following circumstances: 
( 1) It was made or published by an agent or employee of the Commission in the proper discharge of official duties or 
in the course of any proceeding under this division. 
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(2) It was required to be made or published to the Commission, or any of its agents or employees, by law, regulation, 
or subpoena of the Commission .. 
(3) It was, in good faith, made or published to the Commission for the purpose of causing, assisting, or aiding an 
investigation conducted pursuant to this division. 
(b) If any document or communication provided to the Commission contains any information that is privileged 
pursuant to Division 8 (commencing with Section 900) of the Evidence Code, or any other provision of law, that 
privilege is not waived or lost because the document or communication is disclosed to the Commission or to any of its 
agents or employees. 
( c) The Commission, and their agents and employees shall not release or disclose any information, documents, or 
communications provided by an applicant, registrant, or other person, that are privileged pursuant to Division 8 
( commencing with Section 900) of the Evidence Code, or any other provision of law, without the prior written consent 
of the holder of the privilege, or pursuant to lawful court order after timely notice of the proceedings has been given to 
the holder of the privilege. An application to a court for an order requiring the Commission to release any information 
declared by law to be confidential shall be made only upon motion made in writing to the Commission, and to all 
persons who may be affected by entry of the order. 

§ 27528. District Attorneys and State and Local Law Enforcement Agencies. 
(a) Every district attorney, and every state and local law enforcement agency, shall furnish to the Commission, on 
forms prepared by the Commission, all information obtained during the course of any investigation or prosecution of 
any person, if it appears that a violation of any law related to cannabis has occurred, including any violation of the 
Penal Code. 
(b) State and local agencies shall, no later than two years after enactment of this division, adopt a formal, written 
policy approved by the Cannabis Control Commission that integrates cannabis legalization into their training 
programs. 
( c) Any local law or ordinance that is inconsistent with the policy of the state that cannabis be safe, regulated, and 
accessible is preempted. 

Chapter 6. Business Regulation. 
§ 27600. Cannabis Business Certificates; Criteria of Issuance. 
(a) The Commission shall consider the following criteria when prioritizing the issuance of Cannabis Business 
Certificates: 
(1) Any applicant who, at the time of the passage of this Act, holds a license, permit, certificate, approval, or conforms 
to the provisions of a local initiative approved by the voters for the operation of a medical marijuana business. 
(2) Any applicant who, at the time of the original filing of this initiative, is operating a medical cannabis collective or 
cooperative. 
(3) Any applicant who, has experience in operating a medical cannabis collective, cooperative or other medical 
cannabis business in California. 
(b) The qualifications listed in subsection (a) be ranked in order and combined when considering applicants priority. 
( c) These priorities shall only apply for an applicant's first Cannabis Business Certificate for each type of Registered 
Business, with the exception of applicants who have multiple storefront locations at the time of the original filing of 
this initiative. Applicants who have multiple existing storefront locations at the time of the original filing of this 
initiative, shall be given the priorities listed in this section for each storefront location. 

§ 27610. Types of Registered Businesses. 
The Commission shall be responsible to create the following registration types for, including but not limited to, the 
retail sale, distribution, on-site consumption, farmers markets, public events, veterinary use and manufacture of 
cannabis and cannabis-containing products. Nothing shall prevent any business from simultaneously registering as 
multiple types of registered businesses. Medical cannabis cooperatives and collectives shall not be required to register 
as any type of business under this Act. The Commission may impose reasonable limits on the total number of 
certificates that may be issued pursuant to this division. The Commission may annually amend any fee listed in this 
section. Each dollar amount of five hundred dollars ($500) or greater in this section shall be adjusted by the 
Commission to reflect changes in the Consumer Price Index to the nearest one hundred dollars ($100) in January of 
each odd numbered year. 
(a) Cannabis Manufacturer. A cannabis manufacturer is any registered business dedicated to the germination, 
cultivation, production, processing, conversion, extraction, in-vitro testing, distribution, or wholesale of cannabis and 
cannabis-containing products. Cultivation by cannabis manufacturers occurring outdoors is not permitted on land 
zoned exclusively for residential use unless such use is approved by the local city or county. Cultivation by cannabis 
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manufacturers occurring indoors shall be limited to facilities that are zoned for industrial, agricultural or commercial 
uses, in accordance with Local Zoning Guidelines. cannabis cultivated may be labeled as organic if grown in 
compliance with the requirements of the California Organic Products Act of 2003 (Chapter 10 ( commencing with 
Section 46000) of Division 17 of the Food and Agricultural Code). 
(1) A cannabis manufacturer may: 
(A) Cultivate, process, convert, distribute, receive, provide, purchase, extract, germinate, possess, produce, test, and 
destroy cannabis and cannabis-containing products; 
(B) Conduct in-vitro testing necessary to assess the content of cannabinoids in its products; and 
(C) Sell, ship, deliver, and transport cannabis and cannabis-containing products to another cannabis manufacturer, a 
cannabis distributor, a cannabis retailer, an analytical cannabis laboratory, a medical cannabis retailer, a medical 
cannabis collective, a medical cannabis cooperative, a medical cannabis dispensary or the Commission. 
(2) The six classifications of manufacturer certificates are: 
(A) Artisan Cultivator. 
(i) The registration fee for an Artisan Cultivator shall be an annual fee of five thousand dollars ($5000).This fee may 
be waived or refunded if a crop fails to yield its expected harvest. 
(ii) For purposes of this chapter, "artisan cultivation" means cannabis cultivated by an artisan cultivator with no more 
than five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) in net annual sales during a calendar year. 
(iii) The Commission may not limit the total number of artisan cultivators. 
(iv) The Commission shall compile and update an official list of California's world-famous cannabis appellations, 
including, but not limited to, Humboldt County, Mendocino County, Trinity County, Santa Cruz County, Gold 
Country and the Emerald Triangle. Cannabis cultivated by an Artisan Cultivator may be labeled according to the 
official county and regional appellation where the cannabis was cultivated. An Artisan Cultivator may submit official 
appellations to the Commission for consideration. 
(v) Cannabis cultivated by an artisan cultivator with no more than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) in net 
annual sales during a calendar year may be labeled "homegrown." All other cannabis cultivated by an Artisan 
Cultivator may be labeled as having been cultivated by an Artisan Cultivator. 
(vi) An Artisan Cultivators may offer for retail sale in accordance with the provisions of this Act for Social Use or 
Medical Use, upon their premises, any combination of cannabis or cannabis-infused products, if any items containing 
cannabis were produced by a Registered Cannabis Business and are in compliance with food safety regulations as set 
forth in this Act. 
(vii) Sales of retail or medical products shall comply with all tax regulations as set forth in this Act. 
(B) Commercial Nursery. 
(i) The registration fee for a Commercial Nursery shall be an annual fee of two thousand dollars ($2,000), plus thirty 
dollars ($30) per 500 individual plants or portion thereof. 
(ii) Commercial Nurseries shall not cultivate flowering cannabis except for purposes of seed harvesting and methods 
required to propagate clones. Nurseries shall not engage in wholesale or retail sales of flowering cannabis plants. 
(C) Commercial Cultivator. 
(i) The registration fee for a Commercial Cultivator shall be an annual fee often thousand dollars ($10,000) plus one 
hundred and fifty dollars ($150) per 100 square feet of cannabis plant canopy. This fee may be waived or refunded if a 
crop fails to yield its expected harvest and the refund or amount waived shall be apportioned based upon the actual 
square feet harvested. When cultivation occurs within a structure that uses electrical lighting as its primary source and 
the cultivation has its energy usage offset by solar power or other clean energy systems, the $150 per 100 square foot 
fee shall be prorated based on energy savings as determined by industry standard measures, up to a 100 percent 
waiver, where 100 percent or more of the energy used is offset. 
(ii) For the purposes of this chapter, "commercial cultivation" means cannabis cultivated by a cultivator with more 
than five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) in gross annual sales during a calendar year. Commercial cultivation of 
cannabis shall be subject to regulation by the Commission, including, but not limited to, pesticide use. 
(iii) Priority shall be given to California residents, natural persons and any medical cannabis dispensary, collective or 
cooperative that has been operating in good faith pursuant to California's Medical Marijuana laws for more than one 
year prior to January 1, 2017. 
(D) Edible Processor. 
(i) The registration fee for an Edible Processor shall be an annual fee of five thousand dollars ($5,000). 
(ii) All edible food products containing cannabis shall be manufactured, produced, prepared, compounded, packed, 
stored, transported, kept for sale, and served so as to be pure and free from adulteration and spoilage, shall have been 
obtained from approved sources, shall be protected from dirt, vermin, unnecessary handling, droplet contamination, 
overhead leakage, or other environmental sources of contamination, shall otherwise be fully fit for human 
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consumption, and, except as provided in this chapter, shall conform to the applicable provisions of the Sherman Food, 
Drug, and Cosmetic Law (Part 5 (commencing with Section 109875)). 
(iii) Upon the effective date of this chapter, edible food products containing cannabis may be produced and made 
available by cottage food operations pursuant to Chapter 11.5 (commencing with Section 114365) of Part 7 of 
Division 104, except that a person or business entity operation pursuant to this section is not subject to the limitation 
of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) in gross annual sales in the calendar year imposed by Section 113758, but is 
instead subject to a maximum of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) in gross annual sales in the calendar year. 
Only products made available by cottage food operations pursuant to this section may be labeled "homemade." A 
home cottage food operation operating pursuant to this section is not subject to licensing or application fees other than 
those required by Chapter 11.5 ( commencing with Section 114365) of Part 7 of Division 104. 
(iv) All edible products shall have labels indicating the contents, dosages, contaminants, other products if any that 
were manufactured using the same equipment, percentages of THC, CBD, CBG, CBN and any other components as 
determined by the Commission including but not limited to percentages of THC and CBD, and recommended dosage. 
(E) Topical Processor. 
(i) The registration fee for a Topical Processor shall be an annual fee of two thousand dollars ($2,000). 
(ii) All topical cannabis products shall be manufactured, produced, prepared, compounded, packed, stored, 
transported, kept for sale, and served so as to be pure and free from adulteration and spoilage; shall have been 
obtained from approved sources; shall be protected from dirt, vermin, unnecessary handling, droplet contamination, 
overhead leakage, or other environmental sources of contamination; shall otherwise be fully fit for human 
consumption; and shall conform to the applicable provisions of the Sherman Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Law (Part 5 
(commencing with Section 109875)). 
(F) Concentrate Processor. 
(i) The registration fee for a Concentrate Processor shall be an annual fee of ten thousand dollars ($10,000). 
(ii) Concentrating of cannabis using compressed gases or chemical solvents other than water or food grade oils, shall 
be subject to extensive regulation by the Commission, and may only be performed by a Concentrate Processor as 
defined by this chapter. 
(iii) Extraction methods using any of the following: water, compressed gases or chemical solvents shall comply with 
Commission regulations regarding the safe usage and handling of: carbon dioxide, nitrogen, n-butane, propane, 
pentane, or n-heptane; ethyl alcohols, or any flammable solvent; or any methods approved by the Department of Food 
and Agriculture: 
(1) Shall be done in a safe environment in order to prevent bodily harm; 
(2) Shall ensure that the final products are free of any pesticides or contaminants with the exemption of pesticides or 
contaminants determined to be safe, through scientific testing, by the California Department of Food and Agriculture; 
(3) Shall ensure that the final product has a level of residual solvents in parts per million (such as 1000 ppm) 
determined to be safe for human consumption, including but not limited to smoking or burning, that have been 
approved, through scientific testing, by the California Department of Food and Agriculture; 
(4) Shall ensure that the final product is labeled with its intended mode of administration (including, but not limited 
to, topical, inhalation, or oral); 
(5) Shall follow any applicable regulations of the California Department of Food and Agriculture. 
(b) Cannabis Distributor. A cannabis distributor is any registered business dedicated to the processing, conversion, 
testing, transportation, distribution, or wholesale sales of cannabis. The registration fee for a cannabis distributor shall 
be an annual fee of five thousand dollars ($5000). A cannabis distributor may: 
(1) Process, convert, distribute, combine, receive, provide, purchase, possess, store, test, and destroy cannabis and 
cannabis-containing products; 
(2) Sell cannabis and cannabis-containing products to distributors and retailers; and 
(3) Ship, deliver, and transport cannabis and cannabis-containing products to or from another cannabis Distributor, a 
cannabis Manufacturer, a cannabis Retailer, a Medical cannabis Retailer, a medical cannabis collective, a medical 
cannabis cooperative, a medical cannabis dispensary or a regulatory department. 
(c) Cannabis Retailer. A cannabis retailer is any registered business dedicated to adult cannabis sales. The 
registration fee for a cannabis retailer shall be an annual fee of five thousand dollars ($5,000). A cannabis retailer may: 
(1) Process, convert, distribute, Receive, provide, purchase, combine, possess, test, label and destroy cannabis and 
cannabis-containing products; 
(2) Sell cannabis and cannabis-containing products to an individual for his or her personal use; and 
(3) Ship, deliver, and transport cannabis and cannabis-containing products to an individual for his or her personal use, 
a cannabis distributor, a cannabis manufacturer or a regulatory department. 
( 4) Engage in on-premises retail sales of cannabis and cannabis-containing products. 
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(d) Analytical Cannabis Laboratory. An analytical cannabis laboratory is any registered business dedicated to the 
quality control and testing of cannabis and cannabis-containing products. The registration fee for a cannabis lab shall 
be an annual fee of one thousand dollars ($1,000). The Commission shall mandate that a uniform reference standard 
and/or ISO certification methodology be established to ensure that all Laboratories in the State of California have their 
testing equipment calibrated to a uniform State standard. A cannabis lab may: 
(1) Process, distribute, receive, transport, possess, test, and destroy cannabis and cannabis-containing products; 
(2) Test cannabis and cannabis-containing products submitted by any person, whether an unlicensed individual or an 
entity; 
(3) Provide testimony or sworn affidavit in regards to the chemical composition and quality of cannabis tested to the 
courts of the State of California; 
( 4) Ship, deliver, and transport cannabis and cannabis-containing products to a cannabis manufacturer, a cannabis 
distributor, a cannabis retailer, a medical cannabis retailer, a medical cannabis collective, a medical cannabis 
cooperative, a medical cannabis dispensary or a regulatory department; and 
(5) Engage in analytical testing of cannabis and cannabis-containing products, and the sales of on-site or mobile 
testing services for cannabis and cannabis-containing products. 
(e) Medical Cannabis Retailer. A medical cannabis retailer is any registered collective, cooperative, dispensary, 
association, or other business dedicated to medical cannabis use and sales as well as to any bona fide eating or 
drinking establishment seeking to permit medical cannabis consumption on premises, to qualified patients or primary 
caregivers with a valid, current, physician's recommendation as defined in California's Medical Marijuana laws. The 
registration fee for a medical cannabis retailer shall be an annual fee of five hundred dollars ($500). Collectives and 
cooperatives that exist as storefront dispensaries, delivery services, collectives, or cooperatives, at the time of the 
original filing of this initiative, that are at least 600 feet from schools K-12, shall be temporarily protected from any 
enforcement actions with respect to local ordinances, until regulations are implemented by the commission, if no 
regulations have been adopted by January 1, 2017 all new and existing collectives or cooperatives may operate as 
storefront dispensaries, delivery service .. Medical cannabis retailers shall verify medical cannabis patients using either 
a written recommendation by a physician or the voluntary medical marijuana identification card issued by the State of 
California. A medical cannabis retailer may: 
(1) Purchase, possess, process, combine, convert, cultivate, distribute, extract, germinate, produce, provide, receive, 
test, and destroy cannabis and cannabis-containing products; 
(2) Sell cannabis and cannabis-containing products to an individual for his or her medical use; 
(3) Accept donations, contributions, investments or reimbursements for any expenses related to producing or 
providing cannabis and cannabis-containing products for an individual for his or her medical use; 
(4) Allow the medical use of cannabis and cannabis-containing products on his or her property; 
(5) Ship, deliver, and transport cannabis and cannabis-containing products inside the State of California to an 
individual for his or her medical use, another Medical cannabis Retailer or any collective, cooperative, dispensary not 
in accordance with this division; and 
(6) Engage in the retail sales of cannabis and cannabis-containing products, or on-premises consumption of cannabis 
and cannabis-containing products. 
(f) Compassionate Use Provider. A compassionate-use provider is any registered collective, cooperative, dispensary, 
person, or other business dedicated to providing weekly or daily cannabis and cannabis-containing products at no cost 
to individuals who have a low income or severe medical condition, or are disabled, elderly, terminally ill, or veterans 
of the Armed Forces of the United States of America. No registration fee shall be charged to a compassionate-use 
provider. If a compassionate-use provider fails to comply with this section, any and all fees associated with a cannabis 
retailer shall apply. 
(1) To qualify as a compassionate use provider, of the total cannabis and cannabis-containing products produced or 
provided: 
(A) One-quarter must be provided at no cost to individuals who have a low-income or severe medical condition, or are 
disabled, elderly, terminally ill, or veterans of the Armed Forces of the United States of America. 
(B) One-quarter must be provided at a rate no higher than the cost of production to individuals who qualify as low 
income for purposes of the Medi-Cal program. The cost of production may include any overhead expense in providing 
the cannabis and cannabis-containing products, as well as any cost associated with the production of any products 
provided at no cost. 
(C) All products provided by a compassionate-use provider pursuant to Section 27610(f)(l)(A) and (B) must be of an 
equivalent quality, as tested by a registered and qualified cannabis laboratory, to cannabis and cannabis-containing 
products produced or provided for regular retail. 
(2) A compassionate use provider may: 



(A) Register as a cannabis manufacturer, cannabis distributor, or medical cannabis retailer at no cost; and 
(B) Engage in the same activities as a cannabis Retailer without a separate registration. 
(g) Authorized Transporter. An Authorized Transporter is any person working for a Cannabis Business who is 
authorized to transport cannabis or cannabis containing products, on behalf of a Cannabis Business. The Cannabis 
Control Commission shall develop an Authorized Transporter Identification card that shall be carried at all times by 
the person(s) responsible for the transport of cannabis or cannabis products, while operating any vehicle designated 
for transport, to or from any other licensed or non-licensed Cannabis Business. Any person transporting cannabis or 
related products shall present the identification card to any member of law enforcement as proof of permission to 
transport on California streets and highways. 

§ 27620. Compliance with Codes and Regulations for Cannabis Businesses. 
All Cannabis Businesses licensed or regulated in this Act, shall be operated according to applicable OSHA safety 
guidelines. 
(a) All structures designed or retrofitted to accommodate Cannabis cultivation, processing, or distribution shall meet 
all current building codes, subject to the authority having jurisdiction. 
(b) Manufacturing operations related to Cannabis Businesses shall have their refrigeration equipment maintained and 
serviced by qualified persons who are certificated on the handling of refrigerants per the EPA 608 rules of the Federal 
Clean Air Act of 1990. 
( c) All cannabis Business shall be held to strict environmental safety requirements. 

Chapter 7. Finance and Insurance. 
§ 27700. Cannabis Insurance and Financial Cooperatives. 
(a) A financial cooperative may be established pursuant to this section for, and limited to, an exclusive organization, 
ownership, and membership by collectives, cooperatives, and cannabis businesses. 
(1) A financial cooperative established pursuant to this section shall be subject to the California Commissioner of 
Financial Institutions. A financial cooperative established pursuant to this section shall not refer to itself as a "Credit 
Union" nor use the term "Credit Union" to describe itself in any documents related to the :financial cooperative. The 
Commissioner shall promulgate rules for a notice that shall be provided to each prospective member and member of a 
financial cooperative pursuant to this section regarding the differences between the financial cooperative and other 
financial institutions. 
(2) Pursuant to this section any state chartered credit union, or other financial entity regulated by the California 
Department of Business Oversight, which provides non-federally insured deposit insurance, shall not be penalized for 
providing commercial banking services to a cannabis business, collective, or cooperative. 
(b) An insurance cooperative may be established pursuant to this section for, and limited to, an exclusive organization, 
ownership, and membership by collectives, cooperatives, and cannabis businesses. 
(1) An insurance cooperative established pursuant to this section shall be subject to the California Commissioner of 
Insurance. The Commissioner shall promulgate rules for a notice that shall be provided to each prospective member 
and member of an insurance cooperative pursuant to this section regarding the differences between the insurance 
cooperative and other insurance agencies. 
(2) Pursuant to this section any state chartered insurance agency, or other insurance entity regulated by the California 
Commissioner of Insurance that provides non-federally insured, insurance services, shall not be penalized for 
providing insurance services to a cannabis business, collective, or cooperative. 

§ 27710. Restrictions on Cultivation; Penalties. 
(a) Adults may cultivate cannabis for their own personal use within or upon their legal residence, and possess the 
cannabis produced by the plants on the premises where the plants were grown, provided that the growing takes place 
in an enclosed, locked space, is not conducted openly or publicly, and is not made available for sale. Limits on the 
cultivation of cannabis may be set by the local neighborhood. 
(b) cannabis related conduct that contributes to the delinquency of a minor may also be punishable by Penal Code 
section 272 unless such conduct is specifically for the medical treatment of the minor in question, whereby such 
conduct cannot be considered as contributory to delinquency. 
( d) Individuals shall be responsible for the consequences of their own use of cannabis. Sellers or providers of cannabis 
shall not be responsible for the consequences or claimed damages due to the use of cannabis by any party or any third 
party claimant, except where the seller or provider knowingly or negligently: 
(1) Supplies cannabis to a minor, without the consent of his or her parent or legal guardian; 
(2) Supplies cannabis or a cannabis-containing product to an adult without his or her knowledge or consent; or 
(3) Supplies cannabis which is contaminated, adulterated, or polluted without the full disclosure of the type of 
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contaminating substance to the individual. 
(e) Nothing in this division shall protect anyone from California's Arson Laws, Penal Code Sections 451 and 452. 
(f) It is a misdemeanor to be impaired by cannabis while operating a vehicle, boat, aircraft, or school or public bus in 
any manner that endangers others, or upon objection by the property owner or resident.. Nothing in this section shall 
restrict the application of Vehicle Code Sections 23103, 23152(a) or 23153. 
(g) Punishments for violations in actions against persons registered under this division that would be applicable to the 
regulation of alcohol sales, including penalties for permitting individuals under twenty-one (21) years of age to 
purchase any product specified in this division, and other appropriate regulatory provisions concerning such matters 
as the time of sale, deliveries, and signage, shall be consistent with the statutory guidance regarding alcohol sales in 
Chapter 16 (commencing with Section 25600), to the extent that consistency is feasible. 
(h) No business registered per this division shall employ any individual under the age of twenty-one (21) years or 
permit any individual under the age of twenty-one (21) years, without the consent of his or her parent or legal 
guardian, to enter or remain upon, the site where cannabis is manufactured, distributed, or sold at retail, with the 
exception of medical cannabis patients accessing the site solely in accordance with his or her medical treatment 
program. 
(i) The Cannabis Control Commission shall mandate that air filtration equipment be used for premises seeking to 
permit indoor cannabis smoking in their jurisdiction. 
(j) In addition to the activities covered in subsection (g) the following activities may be punished as either a fine, 
misdemeanor, felony, or by a requirement to attend the county cannabis diversion program: 
(1) The diversion of cannabis to other states. 
(2) Cannabis related activity that is being used as a cover or pretext for the trafficking of illegal drugs or other illegal 
activity. 
(3) The use of violence, coercion, or duress in the unlawful cultivation and unlawful distribution of cannabis. 
( 4) Gross pollution or environmental destruction caused by the unlawful cultivation of cannabis. 
(5) Furnish cannabis to an individual under the age of twenty-one (21) except for lawful medical purposes, as 
provided under the Compassionate Use Act and the Medical Marijuana Program Act. 
(k) Punishment for repeat offenders shall progressively escalate in severity if the offense is repeated one or more times 
within a 10-year period. 

Chapter 8. Enforcement. § 27800. Injunction. 
The Commission may sue for injunctive relief to enjoin violations or to compel compliance with the provisions of this 
division. 

§ 27810. Administrative Fines. 
(a) If the Commission has evidence that a violation of this division or its regulations has occurred, it may hold a 
hearing. Notice shall be given and the hearing conducted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act 
(Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of the Government Code). If the Commission determines that a 
violation has occurred, it shall issue an order that may require the violator to do all or any of the following: 
(1) File any documents or information required by this division. 
(2) Pay a monetary fine of up to five thousand dollars ($5,000) per violation to the General Fund of the state. 

§ 27820. Civil Penalties. 
Any person who violates any provision of this division or regulations of the Commission may be liable in a civil 
action brought by the Commission for an amount up to ten thousand dollars ($10,000) per violation. 

§ 27830. Criminal Penalties. 
Any person who knowingly and willfully violates any provision of this division or regulation of the Commission is 
guilty of a misdemeanor. 

§ 27840. Statute of Limitations. 
(a) No administrative, civil, or criminal action brought pursuant to this section shall be commenced more than three 
years after the date on which the violation occurred. 
(b) If the person alleged to have violated this division engages in the fraudulent concealment of his or her acts or 
identity, the three-year period shall be tolled for the period of concealment. If, upon being ordered by a superior court 
to produce any documents sought by a subpoena in any administrative proceeding, the person fails to produce 
documents in response to the order by the date ordered to comply therewith, the three-year period shall be tolled for 
the period of the delay from the date of filing of the motion to compel until the date of the documents are produced. 
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§ 27850. Responsibility for Enforcement. 
The Attorney General is responsible for criminal enforcement of this division. The District Attorney of any county in 
which a violation occurs has concurrent powers and responsibilities with the Attorney General. 

§ 27860. Diversion Program. 
(a) Drug diversion programs created by Penal Code Section 1211, shall no longer apply to cannabis. In order to ensure 
a quality cannabis education diversion program, in each county, each County Sheriff shall appoint a cannabis 
education program administrator, who shall establish minimum requirements, criteria, and fees for the successful 
completion of cannabis diversion programs. These minimum requirements shall include, but not be limited to, all of 
the following: 
(1) An initial assessment of each participant, which may include all of the following: (A) Social, economic, and family 
background; (B) Education; (C) Professional history; (D) Criminal history; (E) Medical history; and (F) Drug history 
and previous treatment. 
(2) A minimum of ten (10) hours of either effective education or counseling or any combination of both for each 
participant. 
(3) An exit conference which shall reflect the participant's progress during his or her participation in the program. 
( 4) Fee exemptions for individuals who cannot afford to pay. 
(b) The county cannabis education program administrator shall implement a certification procedure for cannabis 
diversion programs. 
( c) The county cannabis education program administrator shall recommend for approval by the county board of 
supervisors programs pursuant to this division. No program, regardless of how it is funded, may be approved unless it 
meets the standards established by the administrator, which shall include, but not be limited to, all of the following: 
(1) Guidelines and criteria for education and treatment services, including standards of services which may include 
lectures, classes, group discussions, and individual counseling. However, any class or group discussion other than 
lectures, shall not exceed fifteen (15) individuals at any one meeting. 
(2) Established and approved supervision, either on a regular or irregular basis, of the individual for the purpose of 
evaluating the individual's progress. 
(3) A schedule of fees to be charged for services rendered to each individual under a county cannabis program plan in 
accordance with the following provisions: 
(A) Fees shall be used only for the purposes set forth in this division. 
(B) Fees for the treatment or rehabilitation of each participant receiving services under a certified cannabis diversion 
program shall not exceed the dual cost thereof, as determined by the county cannabis education program administrator 
according to standard accounting practices. 
(C) Actual costs shall include both of the following: 
(i) All costs incurred by the providers of cannabis diversion programs; 
(ii) All expenses incurred by the county for administration, certification, or management of the cannabis diversion 
program in compliance with this division. 
( d) The county shall require, as a condition of certification, that the cannabis diversion program pay to the county 
cannabis education program administrator all expenses incurred by the county for administration, certification, or 
management of the cannabis diversion program in compliance with this division. No fee shall be required by any 
county other than that county where the program is located. 
(e) The use, cultivation, or sales of cannabis by individuals under the age of twenty-one (21) for any purpose, other 
than medical use, shall be prohibited, but punishment shall not exceed a civil infraction as defined in Penal Code§ 
19.6, or, in the alternative, a requirement to attend the county cannabis diversion program. Upon satisfactory 
completion of a county cannabis diversion program, any infraction or conviction shall be automatically expunged or 
vacated as appropriate and shall occur at age 21 if no repeat offenses are documented. 
(f) The Commission shall be required to maintain ongoing education campaigns promoting the responsible use 
cannabis. 

§ 27870. Cannabis Impairment Study. 
(a) The Commission shall fund a peer-reviewed, scientific study establishing a standard for cannabis impairment 
while driving. 
(b) The California Highway Patrol shall submit recommendations to the Commission for the prevention of driving 
while under the influence of cannabis. 
(c) Not later than July 1, 2018, the Commission shall promulgate a regulation defining "Impaired Driving" based 
primarily upon the study and the CHP's recommendations. 
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(c) Driving while impaired by cannabis shall remain punishable by Vehicle Code Sections 23103, 23152(a) and 
23153. 

§ 27880. California Cannabis Genetic Repository. 
(a) The Commission shall be responsible for the establishment of the California Cannabis Genetic Repository, to 
maintain germplasm of all reasonably available strains of the plant genus cannabis for the purpose of documenting 
and preserving the genetic diversity of cannabis. 
(b) Any person or business entity may anonymously or as a registered cannabis business submit a sample of cannabis 
or hemp germplasm to the repository. Registered cannabis business may designate their samples as "proprietary" or 
"for public use". Cannabis Businesses that wish to designate their submissions as "for public use" shall sign a release 
of liability waiver indemnifying the commission for actions related to the use of the samples, for public purposes. The 
repository shall accept germplasm in the form of plant tissue from the mature stalk of the cannabis or hemp plant, 
which is considered non-marijuana under federal law, until that time as it can lawfully accept, under federal law, 
germplasm in other forms, such as seeds capable of germination. All germplasm in the bank, including those from 
genetically modified organisms, shall be made available for scientific, education, medical and research purposes as 
indicated, unless the samples are designated as "proprietary" in which case the test results shall not be made public .. 
( c) The Commission shall be responsible for developing a standardized nomenclature for the description of various 
strains of cannabis based on plant genetics. 
(d) Pursuant to regulations and testing requirements promulgated by the Commission, cannabis cultivated by an 
artisan cultivator may be labeled as consisting of an officially recognized strain using standardized nomenclature 
developed pursuant to this section. 

§ 27890. Hemp. 
Any industrial cultivation and or use of cannabis per the statutes of the California Industrial Hemp Farming Act, 
Division 24 (commencing with Section 81000) of the Food and Agricultural Code, shall be exempt from all 
regulations, restrictions, conditions and taxes set forth by this Act, with the exception of the "California Cannabis 
Genetic Repository" set forth in section 27880 of this Act. 

Chapter 9. Labor Practices. 
§ 27900. Labor Standards. 
(a) The commission shall have the ability to enact Labor Peace Agreement provisions and employee certification 
requirements two (2) years after the passage of this act provided that no cannabis business having less than 100 
employees shall be subject to such provisions. 

SEC. 5. Section 11357 of the Health and Safety Code is repealed. 
SEC. 6. Section 11358 of the Health and Safety Code is repealed. 
SEC. 7. Section 11359 of the Health and Safety Code is repealed. 
SEC. 8. Section 11360 of the Health and Safety Code is repealed. 
SEC. 9. Section 11361 of the Health and Safety Code is repealed. 
SEC.10. Section 11485 of the Health and Safety Code is repealed. 
SEC.11. Section 81007 of the Food and Agricultural Code is repealed. 
SEC.12. Section 81008 of the Food and Agricultural Code is repealed. 
SEC. 13. Section 81009 of the Food and Agricultural Code is repealed. 
SEC.14. Section 81010 of the Food and Agricultural Code is amended to read: 
This division shall not become operative unless authorized by federal law. 

SEC. 15. Federal Law Enforcement Cooperation. 
(a) Nothing in this division shall prohibit the State of California from cooperating with the federal government to 
control the importation of cannabis to, and the exportation of cannabis from, the State of California. 
( c) The distribution or transport of cannabis from California to other states is prohibited, unless authorized under the 
law of the recipient state, and for so long as required by the United States Code and the Federal Department of Justice. 

SEC.16. Liberal Construction. 
This Act shall be liberally construed to effectuate its purposes. 

SEC. 17. Severability. 
The provisions of this Act are severable. If any provision of this Act or its application is held invalid, that invalidity 
shall not affect other provisions or applications that can be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 
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SEC. 18. Conflicting Measures. 
(a) The provisions and intent ofthls Act shall be given precedence over any state law, statute, regulation or policy that 
conflicts with this section, and the policy and intent of this Act shall prevail over any such contrary law, statute, 
regulation or policy. 
(b) If this measure is approved by the voters, but superseded by any other conflicting ballot measure approved by 
more voters at the same election, and the conflicting ballot measure is later held invalid, it is the intent of the voters 
that this Act shall be given the full force of law. 
(c) If any rival or conflicting initiative regulating any matter addressed by this Act receives the higher affirmative 
vote, then all non-conflicting parts shall become operative. 

SEC. 19. Amendment. 
The provisions of this Act may be amended by the Legislature to further the purposes of this Act by a statute passed in 
each house by roll call vote entered in the journal, two-thirds of the membership concurring. 

SEC. 20. Defense by the State. 
State authorities, including, but not limited to, the California Attorney General, shall protect and defend this Act from 
any and all challenges in the courts of any jurisdiction to final judgment. 

SEC. 21. Cannabis Applicant Privilege. 
Article 12 ( commencing with Section 1065) is added to Chapter 4 of Division 8 of the Evidence Code, to read: 
Article 12. Cannabis Applicant Privilege 
1065. (a) An Applicant within the definition of Section 27110 of the Business and Professions Code, whether or not a 
party to the action, has a privilege to refuse to disclose, and to prevent another from disclosing, a confidential 
communication between the Applicant and the California Cannabis Commission if the privilege is claimed by any of 
the following persons: 
(1) The holder of the privilege. 
(2) A person who is authorized to claim the privilege by the holder of the privilege. 
(b) The Commission shall inform an Applicant of any applicable limitations on the confidentiality of communications 
between the Applicant and the Commission. This information may be given orally. 
( c) The court may not compel disclosure of information received by the Commission when sought by the federal 
government in order to investigate or prosecute violations of federal cannabis prohibitions unless there are verified 
allegations of violence or threats of violence. 
( d) The court may permit the disclosure of information received by the Commission when it is essential to a fair 
adjudication of any factual or legal dispute between the Commission and an applicant, subject to appropriate 
protective orders. 
(e) When a court rules on a claim of privilege under this section, it may require the person from whom the disclosure 
is sought or the person authorized to claim the privilege, or both, to disclose the information in chambers out of the 
presence and hearing of all persons except the person authorized to claim the privilege and those other persons that the 
person authorized to claim the privilege consents to have present. 
(f) If the judge determines that the information is privileged and shall not be disclosed, neither he or she nor any other 
person may disclose, without the consent of a person authorized to permit disclosure, any information disclosed in the 
course of the proceedings in chambers. 
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