December 8, 2005

Ms. Tricia Knight Initiative Coordinator Office of the Attorney General State of California PO Box 994255 Sacramento, CA 94244-25550



Re: Request for Title & Summary for Proposed Initiative

Dear Ms. Knight:

Pursuant to Article II, Section 10(d) of the California Constitution, I am submitting the attached proposed statewide ballot measure to your office and request that you prepare a title and summary of the measure as provided by law. Included with this letter is the signed statement required under California Elections Code section 9608, and a check in the amount of \$200.

Thank you for your time and attention to this important matter. Should you have any questions or require additional information, please contact me at 714-542-7610.

Very Truly Yours,

Rosemarie A	Avila		

INITIATIVE MEASURE TO BE SUBMITTED DIRECTLY TO VOTERS

The Attorney General of California has prepared the following title and summary of the chief purposes and points of the proposed measure:

(Insert 100 word title and summary)

To the Honorable Secretary of State of California:

We the undersigned, registered, qualified voters of California, residents of the afore-described County (or City and County), on the signature page of this petition section, hereby propose an amendment to the Constitution of the State of California relating to parental notification prior to the performance of an abortion on a pregnant unemancipated minor, and petition the Secretary of State to submit the same to the voters of California for their adoption or rejection at the next succeeding general election or at any special statewide election held prior to the general election or otherwise provided by law. The proposed amendment reads as follows:

SECTION 1. Declaration of Findings and Purposes

The People of California have a special and compelling interest in and responsibility for protecting the health and well-being of children, and promoting parent-child communication and parental responsibility.

SECTION 2. Parental Notification

Section 32 of Article 1 of the California Constitution is added to read:

- SEC. 32 (a) For purposes of this Section, the following terms shall be defined to mean:
- (1) "Abortion" means the use of any means to terminate a pregnancy except for the purpose of producing a live birth. "Abortion" shall not include the use of any contraceptive drug or device.

- (2) "Medical emergency" means a condition which, on the basis of the physician's good-faith clinical judgment, so complicates the medical condition of a pregnant unemancipated minor as to necessitate the immediate abortion of her pregnancy to avert her death or for which a delay will create serious risk of substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function.
- (3) "Notice" means a written notification, signed and dated by a physician or his or her agent and addressed to a parent or guardian, informing the parent or guardian that the unemancipated minor has requested an abortion.
- (4) "Parent or guardian" means either parent if both parents have legal custody, or the parent or person having legal custody, or the legal guardian of a minor.
- (5) "Unemancipated minor" means a female under the age of 18 years who has not entered into a valid marriage and is not on active duty with the armed services of the United States and has not received a declaration of emancipation under state law. For the purposes of this Section, pregnancy does not emancipate a female under the age of 18 years.
- (6) "Physician" means any person authorized under the statutes or regulations of the State of California to perform an abortion upon an unemancipated minor.
- (b) Notwithstanding Article 1, Section 1, or any other provision of this Constitution or law to the contrary and except in a medical emergency as provided for in subdivision (f), a physician shall not perform an abortion upon a unemancipated minor until after the physician or the physician's agent has first provided notice to a parent or guardian either personally as provided for in subdivision (c) and at least forty-eight (48) hours has elapsed after personal delivery of notice; or until the physician can presume that notice has been delivered by mail as provided in subdivision (d) and at least forty-eight (48) hours has elapsed after presumed delivery of notice by mail; or until the physician or the physician's agent has received from a parent or guardian a written waiver of notice as provided for in subdivision (e); or until the physician has received a copy of a waiver of notification from the court as provided in subdivision (h) or (i) or (j). A copy of any notice or waiver shall be retained with the unemancipated minor's medical records.

- (c) The notice shall be delivered to the parent or guardian personally by the physician or the physician's agent unless delivered by mail as provided in subsection (d). A form for the notice shall be prescribed by the Department of Health Services.
- (d) In lieu of the personal delivery required in subdivision (c) of this Section, notice may be made by certified mail addressed to the parent or guardian at the parent's or guardian's last known address with return receipt requested and restricted delivery to the addressee. To help ensure timely notice, a copy of the notice shall also be sent at the same time by first class mail to the parent or guardian. Notice can only be presumed to have been delivered under the provisions of this subdivision at noon of the second day after the notice sent by certified mail was postmarked, not counting any days on which regular mail delivery does not take place.
- (e) Notice as required by this Section may be waived by a parent or guardian. The waiver must be in writing, on a form prescribed by the Department of Health Services, signed by a parent or guardian, dated, and notarized. The written waiver need not be notarized if the parent or guardian personally delivers it to the physician or the physician's agent.
- (f) Notice shall not be required under this Section if the attending physician certifies in the unemancipated minor's medical records the medical indications supporting the physician's good-faith clinical judgment that the abortion is necessary due to a medical emergency.
- (g) Notice shall not be required under this Section if waived pursuant to this subdivision and subdivisions (h) or (i) or (j). If the pregnant unemancipated minor elects not to permit notification of a parent or guardian, she may file a petition with the juvenile court. If, pursuant to this subdivision, an unemancipated minor seeks to file a petition, the court shall assist the unemancipated minor or person designated by the unemancipated minor in preparing the petition and notifications required pursuant to this Section. The petition shall set forth with specificity the unemancipated minor's reasons for the request. The court shall ensure that the minor's identity be kept confidential and that all court proceedings be sealed. No filing fee shall be required for filing a petition. An unemancipated pregnant minor shall appear personally in the proceedings in juvenile court, and may appear on her own behalf or with counsel of her own choosing. The court shall, however, advise her that she has a right to court-appointed counsel upon request. The court shall appoint a guardian ad litem for her. The hearing shall be held by 5 p.m. on the

second court day after filing the petition unless extended at the written request of the unemancipated minor, her guardian ad litem, or her counsel. If the guardian ad litem requests an extension, that extension may not be granted for more than one court day without the consent of the unemancipated minor or her counsel. The unemancipated shall be notified of the date, time and place of the hearing on the petition. Judgment shall be entered within one court day of submission of the matter. The judge shall order a record of the evidence to be maintained, including the judge's written factual findings and legal conclusions supporting the decision.

- (h) (1) If the judge finds, by clear and convincing evidence, that the unemancipated minor is sufficiently mature and well-informed to decide whether to have an abortion, the judge shall authorize a waiver of notice of a parent or guardian.
- (2) If the judge finds, by clear and convincing evidence, that notification of a parent or guardian is not in the best interests of the unemancipated minor, the judge shall authorize a waiver of notice. If the finding that notice of a parent or guardian is not in the best interests of the minor is based on evidence of physical, sexual, or emotional abuse, the court shall ensure that such evidence is brought to the attention of the appropriate county child protective agency.
- (3) If the judge does not make a finding specified in subsection (h)(1) or (h)(2), the judge shall deny the petition.
- (i) If the judge fails to rule within the time period specified in subdivision (g) and no extension was requested and granted, the petition shall be deemed granted and the notice requirement shall be waived.
- (j) The unemancipated minor may appeal the judgment of the juvenile court at any time after the entry of judgment. The Judicial Council shall prescribe, by rule, the practice and procedure on appeal and the time and manner in which any record on appeal shall be prepared and filed and may prescribe forms for such proceedings. These procedures shall require that the hearing shall be held within three court days of filing the notice of appeal. The unemancipated minor shall be notified of the date, time and place of the hearing. Judgment shall be entered within one court day of submission of the matter. The appellate court shall ensure that the unemancipated minor's identity be kept confidential and that all court proceedings be sealed. No filing fee shall be required for filing an appeal. Judgment on appeal shall be entered within one court day of submission of the matter.

- (k) The Judicial Council shall prescribe, by rule, the practice and procedure for petitions for waiver of parental notification, hearings and entry of judgment as it deems necessary and may prescribe forms for such proceedings. Each court shall provide annually to the Judicial Council, in a manner to be prescribed by the Judicial Council to ensure confidentiality of the unemancipated minors filing petitions, a report, by judge, of the number of petitions filed, the number of petitions granted under subdivisions (h)(1) or (h)(2), deemed granted under subdivisions (j), denied under subdivision (h)(3) and granted and denied under subdivisions (j). Said reports shall be publicly available unless the Judicial Council determines that the data contained in individual reports should be aggregated by court or by county before being made available to the public in order to preserve the confidentiality of the unemancipated minors filing petitions.
- (l) Any person who performs an abortion on an unemancipated minor and in so doing knowingly or negligently fails to comply with the provisions of this Section shall be liable for damages in a civil action brought by the unemancipated minor, her legal representative, or by a parent or guardian wrongfully denied notification. In addition to any damages awarded under this subdivision, the plaintiff shall be entitled to an award of reasonable attorney fees. Nothing in this Section shall abrogate, limit, or restrict the common law rights of parents or guardians, or any right to relief under any theory of liability that any person or any state or local agency may have under any statute or common law for any injury or damage, including any legal, equitable, or administrative remedy under federal or state law, against any party, with respect to injury to an unemancipated minor from an abortion.
- (m) This section shall not take effect until 90 days after the election in which it is approved. The Judicial Council shall, within these 90 days, prescribe the rules, practices, and procedures and prepare and make available any forms it many prescribe as provided in subdivision (k). The Department of Health Services shall, within these 90 days, prepare and make available the forms prescribed in subdivisions (c) and (e).
- (n) If any one or more provision, subdivision, sentence, clause, phrase or word of this Section or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is found to be unconstitutional or invalid, the same is hereby declared to be severable and the balance of this Section shall remain effective notwithstanding such unconstitutionality or invalidity. Each provision, subdivision, sentence, clause, phrase or word of this Section would have been approved by voters irrespective of

the fact than any one or more provision, subdivision, sentence, clause, phrase, or word might be declared unconstitutional or invalid.

(o) Except for the rights, duties, privileges, conditions, and limitations specifically provided for in this Section, nothing in this Section shall be construed to grant, secure, or deny any other rights, duties, privileges, conditions, and limitations relating to abortion or the funding thereof.