About the AG

  • Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel

New Charity Registration Requirements And Fees

As of January  1, 2005, charities are required to register with the Attorney General's Registry of Charitable Trusts within 30 days after receiving assets.

INITIAL REGISTRATION. To register, an organization must submit Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Association or other organizing documents. A $25 initial registration fee is being applied for the first time for charities operating in California. This initial registration fee applies regardless of the charity's gross revenues or assets.

REGISTRATION RENEWAL. All charities registered with the Attorney General's Office must renew their registration annually, pay the registration renewal fee and, if applicable, submit required IRS Form 990 financial reports. Registration renewal fees are a sliding scale based on the charity's gross revenue.

Renewal Fee Charity Revenue
$ 0 Less than $25,000
$ 25 Between $25,000 - $100,000
$ 50 Between $100,000 - $250,000
$ 75 Between $250,000 - $1 million
$ 150 Between $1 million - $10 million
$ 225 Between $10 million - $50 million
$ 300 Greater than $50 million

COMMERCIAL FUNDRAISERS/FUNDRAISING COUNSELS/CO-VENTURERS. The annual registration fee for commercial fundraisers, fundraising counsel, and co-venturers is $350.

See FAQs

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]