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TO: All Licensed Fircarms Dealers, Chiefs of Police, Sheriff’s Offices, Local Licensing
Authorities

During the past several months, local law enforcement agencies, the Department of Justice
(DOJ} and the federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) have
investigated several burglaries in the greater San Francisco Bay Area in which the victims have
been licensed firearms dealers. The burglaries occurred during the night or early morning hours
and forced entry was made to each of the premises. The loss is hundreds of firearms, valued at
thousands of dollars.

This bulletin provides important information that will help firearms dealers and law
enforcement agencies to combat this growing crime. Firearms dealers should be aware that
California Penal Code sections 12071(b)(14) and (15) regulate the security requirements for
licensed business premises. Dealers should immediately review these Penal Code sections and
ensure that their business premises meet or exceed the security requirements. Business procedures
should comply with these requirements whenever the licensee is not open for business. Also, see
Penal Code section 12071(c)(2) which defines a “secure facility”. The applicable sections may be
viewed on line in the Dangerous Weapons Control Law, available on the Firearms Division web

Pursuant to Penal Code section 12071(b)(15). the licensing authority in an icorporated
area of a county or within a city may impose security requirements that are more strict or are at a
higher standard than those specified in 12071(b)(14). In light of the recent burglaries, local law
enforcement agencies and licensing authorities are encouraged to consider taking action pursuant
to this statute.

Reporting Requirements for Firearms Dealers

Penal Code section 12071(b)(13) states that the licensee shall report the loss or theft of any
firearm that is merchandise of the licensee, any [irearm that the licensee takes possession of
pursuant to section 12082, or any firearm kept at the licensee’s place of business within 48 hours
of discovery to the appropriate law enforcement agency in the city, county, or city and county
where the licensee’s business premises are located.

Federal law also requires the theft of a firearm 1o be reported within 48 hours to the ATF.
The federal Firearms Theft Hotline is available 24/7 at: 1-888 930-9275. ATF also requires the
Federal Firearms Licensee Theft/Loss Report, ATF Form 3310.11, to be filed. The report can be
mailed or may be faxed to (202) 927-7862.
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Effective immediately, it is the policy of the California DOJ Firearms Division to require
firearms dealers, in addition to the above requirements, to report the thefi of firearms to the DOJ
Firearms Division. Telephone reporting within 48 hours is required, followed by a written report
within five (5) business days.

Attached please find the DOJ Fircarms Division Dealer Theft Report form. To report the
theft of firearms via telephone, please call (916) 263-4887 at any time. The report form is to be
faxed to (916) 274-5992 or mailed to:

Department of Justice
Firearms Division - Dealer Theft Report
P.O. Box 160487, Sacramento, CA 95816-0487

Dealers are encouraged to review the security requirements and ensure compliance with
the statutes. Dealers are reminded that the DOJ may remove from the Centralized List of Firearms
Dealers any person who knowingly, or with gross negligence, violates these statutes. If you have
any questions, please feel free to contact the Firearms Division Information Services Section at
(916) 263-4887.

Sincerely,

-

RANDY ROSSI, Director
Firearms Division

For BILL LOCKYER
Attormey General

Enclosures



CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

FIREARMS DIVISION

DEALER THEFT REPORT
Dealership Name CFD#
Licensee Person Reporting
Physical Address City ZIP
Telephone Number Fax
Email Address Cell
Date of Crime Time Day of the Week
Type of Crime: Burglary _ Theft ______ Robbery  Other

Name/Telephone of Law Enforcement Agency

| Crime Report Number

ATF Incident Number Date Reported
Description of Firearms
Make Model Caliber Serial Number
Certification

| hereby certify that the above information is true and correct.

Authorized Signature: Date:
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CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
FIREARMS DIVISION

DEALER THEFT REPORT
Continuation Sheet

Dealership Name: CFED#

Make Model Caliber Serial Number

Please attach additional copies of this sheet as necessary.

Certification

| hereby certify that the above information is true and correct.

Authorized Signature: Date:

et
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