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This bulletin provides a brief summary of new and amended California firearms/weapons laws 
effective January 1, 2006. For more detailed language regarding these legislative changes, you 
may contact the California State Capitol Legislative Bill Room at (916) 445-2323 to obtain copies 
of the bills (order by statute year and chapter number) or you may access the full text of the bills 
via the Internet at http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/.  Additional information regarding firearms laws, 
including the full text of the Dangerous Weapons Control Law, is available on the Internet at the 
Department of Justice (DOJ) Firearms Division web site at http://www.ag.ca.gov/firearms. 

AB 1060 (Stats. 2005, ch. 715) (Liu) 

!	 Requires that all firearms that are in the inventory of the licensee be stored within the
 
licensed location and be secured as specified in (PC § 12071).
 

!	 Repeals provisions that allowed for the transfer of a firearm through a county sheriff’s
 
department on a form prescribed by the DOJ, in counties with a population of less than
 
200,000 persons (PC § 12084).
 

!	 Requires law enforcement agencies to report information related to firearms held by a law
 
enforcement agency for safekeeping directly into the Automated Firearms System (AFS)
 
that is administered and maintained by the DOJ (PC § 11108).
 

SB 48 (Stats. 2005, ch. 681) (Scott) 

!	 Makes ammunition vendors criminally liable for selling ammunition to underage purchasers 
unless they have checked bonafide identification (e.g., issued by a federal, state, county, or 
municipal government, or subdivision or agency thereof, including, but not limited to, a 
motor vehicle operator's license, California state identification card, identification card 
issued to a member of the armed forces, or other form of identification that bears the name, 
date of birth, description, and picture of the person). The law for the sale of ammunition is 
thus similar to the law for the sale of alcohol (PC § 12316). 

!	 Allows ammunition vendors to sell ammunition or reloaded ammunition that can be used in 
both a rifle and a handgun to persons at least 18 years of age but less than 21 years of age 
only if the vendor reasonably believes the ammunition is being acquired for use in a rifle 
and not a handgun (PC § 12316). 
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 SB 269 (Stats. 2005, ch. 683) (Dutton) 

!	 Exempts from unsafe handgun testing, as specified, single-shot pistols with a barrel length 
of not less than six inches and an overall length of at least 10 ½ inches when the handle, 
frame or receiver and barrel are assembled (PC § 12133). 

AB 86 (Stats. 2005, ch. 167) (Levine) 

!	 Restricts local law enforcement agencies from purging lost/stolen firearm records from the 
Automated Firearms Systems (AFS) until they are recovered.  Accordingly, local law 
enforcement agencies must now maintain records of lost/stolen firearms in their files 
indefinitely or until the firearms have been recovered or it has been determined that the 
lost/stolen records were entered in error.  Also, restricts local law enforcement agencies 
from purging records of firearms that are “Under Observation”.  Such records must be 
retained by the agency until the firearms are no longer under observation.  Consequently, in 
an effort to insure that above conditions are met, DOJ will no longer accept batch requests 
for purging of AFS law enforcement records. 

!	 Requires the DOJ to retain an Automated Firearms System (AFS) record of a lost/stolen 
firearm until the firearm is found, recovered, no longer under observation, or it is 
determined that the record was entered in error.  Requires information about lost/stolen non-
serialized property uniquely inscribed to be entered directly into the appropriate DOJ 
automated system (P.C. §11108). 

AB 88 (Stats. 2005, ch. 690) (Koretz) 

!	 Specifies that each illegal assault weapon or .50 BMG rifle possessed by a defendant can be 
the basis of a separately punishable offense, except as a first violation that involves one or 
two guns, subject to certain conditions as specified (PC § 12280). 

AB 1288 (Stats. 2005, ch. 702) (Chu) 

!	 Mandates the court presiding over a domestic violence case to issue or consider issuing a 
firearms prohibition order, where good cause for its issuance exists, even if the court did not 
issue a stay away order in the domestic violence case.  Relinquishment of any firearms 
owned or possessed by the subject is required if such an order is issued (PC § 136.2). 

!	 Allows law enforcement to advise certain domestic violence victims if the state database 
reflects that their abuser purchased or possesses a firearm.  A victim who received this 
information could disclose it to others only to the extent that he or she believed it necessary 
to protect himself, herself, or a third party from bodily harm (PC § 11106). 
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 SB 489 (Stats. 2003, ch. 500) (Scott) (2003 bill - Provisions are operative beginning 1/1/2006) 

!	 Requires that effective January 1, 2006, no semiautomatic centerfire pistol model may be 
added to the roster of handguns certified for sale in California unless it has a chamber load 
indicator or, if it has a detachable magazine, a magazine disconnect mechanism.  Also 
effective January 1, 2006, no rimfire semiautomatic pistol that has a detachable magazine 
may be added to the certified list of handguns for sale in California unless it has a magazine 
disconnect mechanism.  Handgun models that have been placed on the roster prior to the 
new requirements becoming operative may remain on the roster without these features 
(PC §§ 12126, 12130). 

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Firearms Division, Firearms 
Information Services Section, at (916) 263-4887. 

Sincerely, 

RANDY ROSSI, Director 
Firearms Division 

For	 BILL LOCKYER 
Attorney General 
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