PROPOSED TEXT OF REGULATIONS
California Code of Regulations
Title 11, Division 5
Chapter 10. Ammunition Vendors

§ 4260. Ammunition Vendor License Applications.

(a) Applicants for an initial ammunition vendor license must complete and submit Department of
Justice Ammunition Vendor License (Non-Firearms Dealer), form BOF 1021 (Orig. 01/2018),
which is hereby incorporated by reference. The application must be submitted with the fee
specified in section 4261 and a copy of the following:

(1) Any regulatory or business license required by local government.

(2) Valid seller's permit issued by the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration.
(3) Federal Firearms License if the applicant is federally licensed.

(4) Certificate of Eligibility pursuant to Penal Code section 26710.

(b) Applicants for renewal of an ammunition vendor license must complete and submit
Department of Justice Ammunition Vendor License Renewal Fee Transmittal, form BOF/CAV-
0012 (Orig. 01/2018), which is hereby incorporated by reference, with the fee specified in
section 4261.

(c) A firearms dealer licensed pursuant to Penal Code sections 26700 to 26915 is automatically
deemed a licensed ammunition vendor pursuant to Penal Code section 30385(d) and is not
required to submit an application for an ammunition vendor license.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 30385 and 30395, Penal Code. Reference: Sections 26700, 30385
and 30395, Penal Code.

§ 4261. Ammunition Vendor License Application Fee and Term Length.

(a) The annual application fee for an ammunition vendor license (initial and renewal) is $198
per location if the vendor is not on the Centralized List of Firearm Dealers.

(b) The term of an ammunition vendor license is one year from the date of issuance.

(¢) Ammunition vendors must submit to the Department of Justice;-a-eepy copies of renewals of
the permit and licenses specified in section 4260, subdivisions (a)(1), (a)(2), and (a)(3), within no
later than 30 days ef- after the permit or license’s-expiration expires. Failure to do so will
invalidate the ammunition vendor license until a copy of the renewed-license-is-renewal is
received by the Department of Justice.




(d) Ammunition vendors must maintain an active Certificate of Eligibility. Failure to do so will
invalidate the ammunition vendor license until the Certificate of Eligibility has been renewed
pursuant to section 4037.

t)(e) Ammunition vendor licenses will be automatically renewed for vendors who maintain
active status on the Centralized List of Firearms Dealers.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 30385, 30390, and 30395, Penal Code. Reference: Sections
30385, 30390, and 30395, Penal Code.

§ 4263. Vendor Fee for Processing A Private Party (Non-Vendor) Ammunition Sale.

(a) In addition to any applicable Department of Justice fee, an ammunition vendor may charge
the purchaser a fee(s) for processing the sale of ammunition between two private parties as
follows:

t&)(1) If the purchaser will be present for immediate delivery of the ammunition, the fee shall
not exceed five dollars ($5).

b)(2) If the purchaser will not be present for the immediate delivery of the ammunition, the
vendor may charge an additional storage fee as agreed upon with the purchaser prior to the
vendor receiving the ammunition.

Note: Authority citied: Sections 30312 and 30385, Penal Code. Reference: Section 30312, Penal
Code.



