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CHAPTER 184

An act to amend Section 21636 of, and to add Section 21636.1 to, the
Business and Professions Code, relating to secondhand goods.

[Approved by Governor August 24, 2018. Filed with Secretary
of State August 24, 2018.]

legislative counsel’s digest

AB 1993, Gipson. Secondhand goods: tangible personal property: dealers.
Existing law requires every secondhand dealer and coin dealer to report

the receipt or purchase of secondhand tangible personal property, except
firearms, to the statewide uniform electronic reporting system known as the
California Pawn and Secondhand Dealer System (CAPSS) that receives
secondhand dealer reports and is operated by the Department of Justice.
Existing law requires secondhand dealers to electronically report the receipt
or purchase of each firearm, as specified, to the Department of Justice in a
format prescribed by the department. Existing law also applies these
reporting requirements to pawnbrokers. Existing law requires every
secondhand dealer and every coin dealer to retain in his or her possession
for a period of 30 days all tangible personal property reported in accordance
with specified provisions. Existing law requires the 30-day holding period
to commence the date the report of its acquisition was made to the chief of
police or the sheriff and authorizes the chief of police or the sheriff or the
Department of Justice to authorize prior disposition of any property, as
described. Existing law requires every secondhand dealer and coin dealer,
during the 30-day holding period, to produce reported tangible personal
property for inspection by any peace officer or employee designated by the
chief of police or sheriff or the Department of Justice.

This bill would apply the 30-day holding period for tangible personal
property exclusively to firearms. The bill would eliminate references to the
chief of police or the sheriff and instead would require every secondhand
dealer and coin dealer to retain in his or her possession for a period of 30
days all firearms reported electronically to the Department of Justice. The
bill would require the 30-day holding period to commence the date the report
of its acquisition was made electronically to the Department of Justice.

This bill would require every secondhand dealer and coin dealer to retain
in his or her possession for a period of 7 days all tangible personal property
reported electronically to CAPSS. The bill would require the 7-day holding
period for tangible personal property to commence the date the report of its
acquisition was made to CAPSS. The bill, if 5 days have elapsed since
transmission of the report to CAPSS, would not apply the remainder of the
7-day holding period to tangible personal property sold by the secondhand

 

 95  



dealer or coin dealer if the secondhand dealer or coin dealer has made a
record of the sale that includes the buyer’s name and contact information,
as specified. The bill would also require a secondhand dealer or coin dealer
to retain the information collected under these provisions for a period of 21
days and to make the information available to, or to provide the information
to, a local law enforcement agency, as specified.

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 21636 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

21636. (a)  Every secondhand dealer and coin dealer shall retain in his
or her possession for a period of 30 days all firearms reported under Section
21628.2. The 30-day holding period with respect to firearms shall commence
with the date the report of its acquisition was made electronically to the
Department of Justice by the secondhand dealer and coin dealer. The
Department of Justice may for good cause authorize prior disposition of
any firearms described in a specific report, provided that a secondhand
dealer who disposes of firearms pursuant to that authorization shall report
the sale thereof to the Department of Justice.

(b)  During the 30-day holding period specified in subdivision (a), every
secondhand dealer and coin dealer shall produce any firearm reported under
Section 21628.2 for inspection by any peace officer or employee designated
by the Department of Justice.

(c)  Firearms subject to inspection as specified in subdivision (b) and
firearms held in pawn that are stored off the business premises of the licensee
shall, upon request for inspection, be produced at the licensee’s business
premises within one business day of a request.

(d)  Any person who conducts business as a secondhand dealer at any
gun show or event, as defined in Section 478.100 of Title 27 of the Code
of Federal Regulations, or its successor, outside the jurisdiction that issued
the secondhand dealer license in accordance with subdivision (d) of Section
21641, may be required to submit for inspection, as specified in subdivision
(b), any firearm acquired at a gun show or event within 48 hours of the
request of the local law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where the
gun show or event was conducted at a location specified by the local law
enforcement agency.

SEC. 2. Section 21636.1 is added to the Business and Professions Code,
to read:

21636.1. (a)  Every secondhand dealer and coin dealer shall retain in
his or her possession for a period of seven days all tangible personal property,
as defined in Section 21627, reported pursuant to Sections 21628 and 21630.
The seven-day holding period with respect to tangible personal property
shall commence with the date the report of its acquisition was made to
CAPSS.
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(b)  During the seven-day holding period specified in subdivision (a),
every secondhand dealer and coin dealer shall produce any tangible personal
property reported pursuant to Sections 21628 and 21630 for inspection by
any peace officer or employee designated by the local licensing authority
or the Department of Justice.

(c)  Tangible personal property subject to inspection as specified in
subdivision (b) and all tangible personal property held in pawn that is stored
off the business premises of the licensee shall, upon request for inspection,
be produced at the licensee’s business premises within one business day of
a request by the local licensing authority or the Department of Justice.

(d)  (1)  If 5 days have elapsed since the transmission of the report of
acquisition pursuant to Section 21628 or 21630, the remainder of the
seven-day hold specified in subdivision (a) shall not apply to any tangible
personal property sold by the secondhand dealer or coin dealer when the
following are present:

(A)  The secondhand dealer or coin dealer has recorded the sale in its
book of records.

(B)  The record of sale includes:
(i)  The name of buyer to whom the tangible personal property was sold.
(ii)  The buyer’s address.
(iii)  At least one of the following:
(I)  The buyer’s telephone number.
(II)  The buyer’s email address.
(III)  The buyer’s electronic address for receiving text messages.
(2)  In documenting the record of sale as set forth in paragraph (1), the

secondhand dealer or coin dealer shall record the information provided by
the buyer and shall not have any duty to verify the accuracy of the
information provided by the buyer.

(3)  The information collected pursuant to this subdivision shall be retained
by the secondhand dealer or coin dealer for 21 days following the date of
sale of the property by the secondhand dealer or coin dealer and shall be
available for inspection by a local law enforcement agency during this
period.

(4)  If a sale of property is made pursuant to this subdivision, and within
21 days of the sale a local law enforcement agency notifies the secondhand
dealer or coin dealer that the property has been reported stolen, the record
of the sale and all information contained therein shall be provided to that
local law enforcement agency by the secondhand dealer or coin dealer upon
written request by that agency.
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