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Businesses/Stores

This PowerPoint is for the new applicants who wants to apply
for California Pawnbrokers (PBs) and Secondhand Dealers
(SHDs) license.
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This PowerPoint is for the new applicants who wants to apply for California Pawnbrokers (PBs) and Secondhand Dealers (SHDs) license. 



Licensing Overview

The new applicants will inquire about obtaining the SHD/PB license by contacting the Department of Justice (DOJ)
and or Law Enforcement Agency (LEA). The DOJ will refer the new applicants to the Licensing Authority or LEA.

In addition to the LEA's process, the LEA provides the fingerprint/Livescan (8016 form). The LEA provides the on-line
JUS 125 link and collects the non-refundable $300 fee. The LEA mails the 5300 fee to DOJ.

Upon the results of the livescan, DOJ mails to LEA. LEA will determine the approval or denial of the SHD/PB license.
For Pawnbrokers, applicants are required to have a $100,000 Surety Bond and a 520,000 Surety Bond. In lieu of

100,000 bonds, a financial review from a certified public accountant certifying the applicant has 100,000 liquid
assets excluding real property. Refer to Financial Code: 21304 (a).
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* Where do | go to apply for a
. Secondhand Dealer or Pawnbroker
Ian|re license?
= . & * The inquiring business must go to the
9. - NP local Law Enforcement Agency for more
* A ” information and assistance.

e Who do | need to contact?

e The inquiring businesses can call the local
Law Enforcement Agency or contact the
California Department of Justice CAPSS
Unit at 916-210-3212 or send an email to
capss@doj.ca.gov.
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Application For Secondhand Dealer Or Pawnbroker License

Required fields are denoted with an asterisk *

A. TYPE OF APPLICATION *

I:::IApplicatinﬂ For Pawnbroker License (21300 FC)

I:::IApplicatinﬂ For Secondhand Dealer License (21641 B&P)

Financial Code Business and Profession Code
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Business and Profession Code

21300. (a) The chief of police, the sheriff, or, where appropriate, the police commission shall accept an application for and grant a
license permitting the licensee to engage in the business of pawnbroker, as defined in Section 21000, at the address indicated on
the application, to an applicant who has complied with the requirements of Sections 21303, 21304, and 21305 and has not been
convicted of an attempt to receive stolen property or any other offense involving stolen property. Prior to the granting of a
license, the licensing authority shall submit the application to the Department of Justice. If the Department of Justice does not
comment on the application within 30 days thereafter, the licensing authority shall grant the applicant a license. All forms for
application and licensure, and license renewal, shall be prescribed and provided by the Department of Justice. A fee shall be
charged to the applicant by the Department of Justice, as specified in Section 21642.5 of the Business and Professions Code, for
processing the initial license application and funding the single, statewide, uniform electronic reporting system set forth in
subdivision (j) of Section 21628 of the Business and Professions Code. The licensing authority shall collect the fee and transmit
the fee to the Department of Justice. In addition, the police chief, sheriff, or, where appropriate, the police commission, may
charge a fee to the applicant not to exceed the actual costs incurred to process the application and to collect and transmit the fee
charged by the Department of Justice.

(b) For the purposes of this section, “convicted” means a plea or verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo
contendere.

(c) Notwithstanding subdivisions (a) and (b), no person shall be denied a pawnbroker’s license solely on the grounds that he or
she violated any provision contained in Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 21000) or Chapter 2 (commencing with Section
21200), or any provision contained in Article 4 (commencing with Section 21625) or Article 5 (commencing with Section 21650)
of Chapter 9 of Division 8 of the Business and Professions Code, unless the violation demonstrates a pattern of conduct.

JDIS


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Select the type of application:

Hyperlink


Financial Code

21641. (a) The chief of police, the sheriff, or, where appropriate, the police commission, shall accept an application for and grant
a license permitting the licensee to engage in the business of secondhand dealer, as defined in Section 21626, to an applicant
who has not been convicted of an attempt to receive stolen property or any other offense involving stolen property. Prior to the
granting of a license, the licensing authority shall submit the application to the Department of Justice.
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B. LICENSING AGENCY

Mame

LICENSING AUTHORITY
OR

ORI NUMBER

Mailing Address

ADDRESS, SUITE#, BUILDING#

CITY, CA, ZIP CODE

C. BUSINESS OWNER(S)
Name * DOB{mm/dd/yyyy) * Home Phone *

+ADD ANOTHER OWNER

JDIS
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D. BUSINESS INFORMATION

Name * Phone *
Address Line1™*
Address Line 2

City * ZIP Code *

BUSINESS OWNERSHIP *

{8 INDIVIDUAL

() PARTNERSHIP

' i

(C) CORPORATION

JDIS
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BUSINESS OWNERSHIP *

(_JINDIVIDUAL
()PARTNERSHIP

(@) CORPORATION
Corporation Address
CORPORATION

Name * Phone *

AddressLinel ™

Address Line 2

City * State ZIP Code ™*

California

JDIS
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E. OFF SITE STORAGE LOCATION

Will property belonging to the business be stored off the business premises?

O‘r’es @No
F.MULTIPLE SECONDHAND DEALER OR PAWNBROKER BUSINESSES

Do any of the parties to this application have a financial interest in any other secondhand dealer or pawnbroker businesses in California?
O‘r’es @No
G. STORE ADMINISTRATOR

Name * Email Address * Verify Email Address *

store.administrator@example. store.administrator@example.c

H. CERTIFICATION

[:}As the person responsible for completing the application for the business, I certify under penalty of perjury that the information on this application is true and
complete to the best of my knowledge.

SUBMIT APPLICATION




/ S California Pawn & Secondhand Dealer System (CAPSS)
¥4  APPLICATION FOR SECONDHAND DEALER OR PAWNBROKER LICENSE

JUS 125

* Review your entries and
NELCENREET Y],
changes by using the EDIT

L. BUSINESS OWNER(S)

Stephen Test Store

THIS APPLICATION button.

05/10/2000

s Once everything has been

0. BUSINESS INFORMATION

R updated, use the SUBMIT
button at the bottom of the

page.
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California Pawn & Secondhand Dealer System (CAPSS)
APPLICATION FOR SECONDHAND DEALER OR PAWNBROKER LICENSE

Q Your application has been submitted successfully.

Thank you for submitting your new Application For Pawnbroker License (21300 FC) license application. Your Application will be processed and you will be notified when the status of your
application is updated. If you have any questions, please contact your Licensing Authority.
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Licensing Authority

* Livescan-$32 Fingerprint + rolling fee
* Department of Justice will send the Livescan
result to the Licensing Authority
» Collect Non-refundable $S300 fee
* Licensing Authority will collect the non-
refundable 5300 fee and send it to the
Department of Justice
* Review other required documents for Pawnbroker
applicants
* The Licensing Authority will determine the
approval or the denial of the Secondhand Dealer
or Pawnbroker applications
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CAPSS Licensing (staging) <capss-stg@doj.ca.gov> Capss-stg

California Application For Pawnbroker License (21300 FC) License Approval

* You will receive an email
notification regarding the
a p p roved a p pI icatio n . Dear Stephen Test Store,

Your Application For Pawnbroker License (21300 FC) has been processed and approved by DOJ Test Sac
County. A paper License Certificate with the license number 000002206 will be mailed to the business

address on file.

* To check the status of the [E_—_
application, contact the REAEEISER
local Licensing Authority
or Law Enforcement
Agency.
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State of California
Office of Attorney General
Department Of Justice

Pawnbroker License
In accordance with the provisions of Sections 21300 and 21301 of the Financial Code, license number 000002206
is granted to

Stephen Test Store

to conduct business at:
3068 Kilgore Rd
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670

e et The Licensing Authority will
print the license and mail it to

your business once the
Feb 07, 2020 Feb 07, 2020 Feb 07, 2022 appllcatlon has been approved

Licensing Agency:
DOJ Test Sac County

Issue Date: Original Issue Date: Expiration Date:

Mame of Issuing Officer: Title of Issuing Officer:
Test Only

Signature of Issuing Officer:

Failure to renew this license prior to the expiration date specified above will result in the license being revoked. A new license will be
required, including an initial application and all associated fees.

This license is not transferable and must be visibly displayed on the business premise.

This license does not affect the power of a city, county, or city and county to charge a fee or tax upon the conduct of business
specified above.

This license enables the buginess shown above to engage in the business of a pawnbroker and secondhand dealer at the address
shown above in accordance with the provisions of Division & of the Financial Code.
JUS126 (Rev. 07/2014)




Username and Password

— A& T

CAPSS Id (staging) <capss-stg@doj.ca.gov> Capss-stg

() You Wl” recelve an emall CAPSS Account Activation

ﬂ If there are problerns with how this message is displayed, click here to view it in a web browser,

with the CAPSS auto-
generated user name and Dear Stephen Test Store,
h ow to O bta i N a p dasSWoO rd You have been granted access to the California Pawnbroker and Secondhand Dealer System (CAPSS). In

order to gain access to the system, vou must first set vour password. To set your password, please click on the
. 7 link below. Please make a note of vour CAPSS Username.
* Click on the “RESET

CAPSS Usernams
PASSWORD” link to create.

Thank You,

CAPSS Team

JDIS



Username and Password

California Pawn & Secondhand Dealer System (CAPSS)
RESET PASSWORD

RESET PASSWORD *

UserName *
Password* @ Help

Verify Password *

CLEAR RESET PASSWORD




California Pawn & Secondhand Dealer System (CAPSS)
PASSWORD RESET COMPLETION

PLEASE USE THESE LINKS TO ACCESS CAPSS

SUBMIT & SEARCH JUS-123 MANAGE USER ACCOUNTS

LOG IN TO CAPS5 LOG IN TO CAPSS ID
(CAPSS.DOJ.CAGOV) (CAPSS-ID.DOJ.CA.GOV)
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