
Sexual Assault Survivor’s  
Bill of Rights 

You have rights. You have the right to get 
answers, the right to information, and a 
right to know. This card explains key rights, 
options, and helpful resources. 

You Decide
It’s your choice to:

• Get a physical exam, 
• Be part of a criminal case, or 
• Report the assault. 

No matter what you choose, you keep your rights.

Questions? 
Ask a health care provider, law enforcement 
officer, or contact your local rape crisis center. 

You Have a Right to Know…
You can:
• Have a 24-hour confidential sexual assault 

counselor (victim advocate) or other support 
person(s) with you during any exam or interview.

• Ask for a Court Order to protect you. 
» For protection from the attacker right away, 

ask a law enforcement officer for an Emergency 
Protective Order. 

» Learn about Civil Protection Orders here: 
www.courts.ca.gov/1260.htm.

• Ask about test results and evidence from the assault.
• Ask the officer for a case number and how to find 

out what happens next.
• If you need help to pay for your costs related to the 

assault, learn more and apply at:  
www.victims.ca.gov/victims/howtoapply.aspx

• Note: You may have to take part in the criminal 
case to qualify for CalVCB.

Agency: __________________________________

Contact Name: ____________________________

Phone:  ___________________________________

Police Report / Case No.: ____________________

Notes: ____________________________________
__________________________________________
__________________________________________
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Contact Name:  ____________________________

Phone:  ___________________________________
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Notes:  ____________________________________  
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You Have a Right to Get Answers 
• Was your evidence analyzed within 18 months?
• Was the evidence used to make a DNA profile of 

your attacker?
• Was a DNA profile entered into the law enforcement 

database? Did they find matches to the profiles?

You Have a Right to Information, Including:
• A free copy of the crime reports. (Ask in writing to 

your local law enforcement agency.)
• The attacker’s sex offender registry information, 

if convicted.
• Evidence from the rape kit. The rape kit must be:
» Taken to the lab and analyzed within 24 months, 

and
» Kept for 20 years, or until you turn 40, if you were 

r 18 when the assault happened.unde

Facts: 
• DNA evidence on the body can last from 12 hours 

up to 7 days. 
• DNA and other kinds of evidence may break down 

if exposed to heat, water, or other materials.

Sexual Assault Forensic  
Evidence Tracking (SAFE-T) 

Contact the California  Attorney General’s Victims’ 
Services Unit for a general location and status of 
rape kit based on data entered into the SAFE-T 
database. Or contact the local law enforcement 
agency that handled your case.

Resources* 
Local Rape Crisis Center
Contact your local rape crisis center for support, 
advocacy, and information about their services. 

California Victim Compensation Board (CalVCB) –  
Helps reimburse victims for mental health 
counseling, loss of income, crime scene cleanup, 
relocation, medical and dental bills, and other  
costs related to the assault.  
800-777-9229 • www.victims.ca.gov

California Coalition Against Sexual Assault (CalCASA) –  
Working to end sexual violence through prevention, 
intervention, education, research, advocacy and  
public policy. 916-446-2520 • www.calcasa.org
Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN) –  
The nation’s largest anti-sexual violence organization. 
800-656-HOPE • www.centers.rainn.org
National Domestic Violence Hotline –  
800-799-7233 • www.thehotline.org
National Human Trafficking Resource Center Hotline –  
24-Hour Hotline:  
888-373-7888 • www.humantraffickinghotline.org
California Attorney General’s Office - Victims’ 
Services Unit – Connects victims to local victim support 
and information resources. Provides information and 
updates on the appeals process.  
877-433-9069 • www.oag.ca.gov/victimservices  
For more information, contact: 
www.oag.ca.gov/sexual-violence

* The CA Attorney General’s Office does not control, support, or have 
responsibility for the organizations and agencies listed above. 
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