
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

October 16, 2017 
 
 

Via E-Mail & Overnight Delivery 
North Bay Association of Realtors 
c/o Lisa Badenfort, Government Affairs Director 
2235 Challenger Way, Suite 100 
Santa Rosa, CA  95407 
lisa@northbayrealtors.org  
 
RE: California’s Anti-Price Gouging Statute, Penal Code Section 396 
 
Dear North Bay Association of Realtors: 
 

As your community knows all too well, the wildfires in California continue to 
rage, one of the worst disasters in our state’s recent memory.  Please accept my 
condolences to all who have been impacted by this catastrophe.   
 

As you also know, the fires have left thousands of displaced residents in a region 
that faced a housing shortage even before the fires erupted.  I urge you to educate your 
members who manage residential rental properties, and their clients, about their 
obligations under our state’s anti-price gouging statute, Penal Code section 396.   
 

The President and the Governor have declared states of emergency in California.  
These declarations triggered the protections of Section 396, which, with limited 
exceptions, prohibits raising the price of many consumer goods and services—including 
rental housing with an initial lease term of no longer than one year—by more than 10 
percent after an emergency has been declared. 
 

Section 396 does not restrict its protection to a city or county where the 
emergency or disaster is located.  It is intended to prevent price gouging anywhere in the 
state where there is increased consumer demand as a result of a declared emergency. 
 

Violators of Section 396 are subject to criminal prosecution that can result in a 
one-year imprisonment in county jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000.  Violators are also 
subject to civil enforcement actions including civil penalties of up to $5,000 per 
violation, injunctive relief and mandatory restitution. 
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My office and those of District Attorneys across the state are authorized to 
enforce Section 396.   We are encouraging consumers to report price gouging, and we 
will treat such allegations with the utmost seriousness.   
 

If you or your members have any questions, please contact Deputy Attorney 
General Vivian Wang at vivian.wang@doj.ca.gov or (415) 703-5530.  Thank you for 
your anticipated assistance to our state during this tragedy.  

Sincerely, 
 
 

  
XAVIER BECERRA 
California Attorney General 
 
 

 


