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YOUR RIGHTS 
as a Victim of Sexual Assault 

How do I track the status 
of my sexual assault kit? 
In order to track the status of your sexual assault 
kit, please follow the instructions below: 

1.  Visit the California Department of Justice, 
Ofce of the Attorney General Sexual  
Assault Kit Location and Status Website at  
kitstatus.doj.ca.gov  or scan  
the QR code below with your smartphone. 

2.  Enter the name of the investigating law 
enforcement agency and your sexual assault 
kit number. 

If you are unable to locate your kit, please contact 
Victims’ Services Unit by phone or email.  

877-433-9069 

VictimServices@doj.ca.gov 

Sexual Assault Kit Number: 

Law Enforcement Case Number: 

Scan here to get 
your kit status. 

Additional Resources* 

Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN) 
The nation’s largest anti-sexual violence 
organization that works to help survivors and 
prevent sexual assault 
800-656-HOPE (4673) • www.rainn.org/resources 

National Domestic Violence Hotline 
24-hour confdential national hotline that provides 
support to survivors of domestic violence 
800-799-SAFE (7233) • Text START to 88788 
www.thehotline.org 

National Human Trafcking Hotline 
24-hour confdential hotline for victims and 
survivors of sex and labor trafcking  
888-373-7888 • Text 233733 
www.humantrafckinghotline.org 

ValorUS 
California-based coalition of rape crisis centers 
and sexual assault prevention programs 
916-446-2520 • www.valor.us 

*NOTE: The CA Attorney General’s Ofce does not control, support or 
have responsibility for the organizations and agencies listed above. 

https://kitstatus.doj.ca.gov
mailto:VictimServices%40doj.ca.gov?subject=Trouble%20Locating%20Sexual%20Assault%20Kit%20Online
https://www.rainn.org/resources
https://www.thehotline.org
https://humantraffickinghotline.org
https://www.valor.us


 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

KNOW YOUR RIGHTS 

Rights of Sexual 
Assault Victims 
You are not required to participate in the 
criminal justice system or receive a free sexual 
assault exam in order to keep your rights as a 
victim under the law. 

The following is a list of those rights, resources  
and information: 

You have a right to have a 24-hour  
confdential sexual assault counselor (victim  
advocate)  or  other support person(s) with  
you during any exam or interview. 

You have a right to ask for a temporary  
protection order. If you feel like you are in  
immediate danger, ask law enforcement for  
an Emergency Protection Order (EPO). Learn  
more about family law and civil protection  
orders here: www.courts.ca.gov/1260.htm. 

You have a right to track the status of  
your kit. You can get the name of the  
investigating law enforcement agency and  
your sexual assault kit number from the  
ofcer or medical provider. 

You have a right to a free copy of your  
crime report. To get your report, submit  
a written request to the investigating law  
enforcement agency. 

Did you know... 
You have the right to a free forensic exam, 
which should be conducted as soon as  
possible after the assault. 

Should you decide to get a physical 
examination, law enforcement will never use 
your DNA against you. 

You have a right to certain information  
about the testing of your sexual assault kit.  
•  Did your evidence provide the DNA profle  

of your attacker? 
•  Was the evidence DNA profle entered in  

the law enforcement database? 
•  Did the evidence DNA profle match any  

ofenders in the database?  
If your attacker is convicted, you have a right  
to their sex ofender registry information. 

The sexual assault kit must be taken to the 
lab and analyzed within 24 months. Your   
kit must be kept for 20 years, or until you  
turn 40 (if you were under 18 when the  
assault happened).  

You have a right to restitution, if a criminal  
case has been fled in the county, state, or 
federal court where the assault took place.  
Please refer to your Victims’ Bill of Rights: 
Marsy’s Law for more information or visit   
www.oag.ca.gov/victimservices/marsys_law 

You have rights. You have the right to get answers, the right to information, and the right to support and help. 

Resources 
California Victim Compensation Board 
(CalVCB) 
Helps reimburse victims for mental health 
counseling, loss of income, crime scene 
cleanup, relocation, medical and dental bills, 
and other costs related to the assault 
800-777-9229 • www.victims.ca.gov 

California Attorney General’s Ofce 
Victims’ Services Unit 
Provides information about the criminal 
justice process, refers victims to appropriate 
local services, resources, and community 
based organizations 
877-433-9069 • www.oag.ca.gov/victimservices 

For additional information visit 
www.oag.ca.gov/sexual-violence 

http://www.courts.ca.gov/1260.htm
https://oag.ca.gov/victimservices/marsys_law
https://www.victims.ca.gov
http://www.oag.ca.gov/victimservices
http://www.oag.ca.gov/sexual-violence



