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CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE  

TITLE 11. LAW 
DIVISION 5. FIREARMS REGULATIONS 

CHAPTER 14. CARRY CONCEALED WEAPONS LICENSES 
 

TEXT OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS 

The original text published in the California Code of Regulations has no underline. Changes are 

illustrated by blue underline for proposed insertions and red strikethrough for proposed deletions. 

 

Article 2.  CCW DOJ Certified Instructors. 

§ 4410. CCW DOJ Certified Instructor Qualifications and Applications. 

(a) CCW DOJ Certified Instructor applicants must have a valid Certificate of Eligibility (COE) 

issued pursuant to Penal Code section 26710 and California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 

4030 et seq.  

(b) Applicants must be at least 21 years old. Applicants shall provide a copy of a valid California 

driver license or California identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, 

demonstrating the applicant is 21 years of age or older. Applicants with a federal non-compliant 

California driver license or identification card shall also comply with section 4045.1. 

(c) Initial and renewal applications must be completed and submitted on the Concealed Carry 

Weapon Program DOJ Certified Instructor Application, Form BOF 1034 (Orig. 01/2024Rev. 

02/2024), hereby incorporated by reference. Initial applicants must submit a copy of their active 

or unexpired training certification from one of the following entities: 

(1) Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, Department of Consumer Affairs, State 

of California-Firearm Training Instructor; 

(2) Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST), State of California-

Firearms Instructor, or Rangemaster, or Concealed Carry Tactics Instructor; or 

(3) Authorization from a State of California accredited school to teach a firearm training 

course.; 

(4) California Highway Patrol or California Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation-Firearms Instructor, Weapons Instructor, or Rangemaster; or 

(5) National Rifle Association (NRA)-Law Enforcement Instructor or Basics of Personal 

Protection Outside the Home Instructor. Basics of Personal Protection Outside the Home 
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Instructors must additionally be both an NRA Certified Pistol Instructor and Personal 

Protection in the Home Instructor. 

 (d) Within six months before submitting their application, initial and renewal applicants must 

pass a live-fire shooting qualification course on a firing range. During the qualification course: 

(1) The applicant must display safe weapon practices at all times.  

(2) The applicant must use a serviceable holster and magazine pouch with at least one 

reload.  

(3) The following shooting exercises shall be performed using a standard B-27 target:  

Distance Weapon 

Location 

Rounds Special 

Instructions 

Time Limit Number of 

Times 

3 yards combat ready 2 none 3.0 seconds 2 times 

3 yards holstered 2 hands up 5.0 seconds 2 times 

5 yards combat ready 3 failure drill 4.5 seconds  2 times 

5 yards holstered 2 object in hands 5.0 seconds 2 times 

7 yards holstered 6 none 10 seconds 1 time 

 

“Hands up:” This sequence of fire will be performed with the applicant’s hands elevated 

around chest level. 

“Failure drill:” Two shots to the body, and one to the head. 

“Object in hands:” The applicant simulates holding an object, drops the object, and 

performs the sequence of fire. 

(4) The total rounds fired during the qualification is 24. One point is awarded each time a 

round hits the intended target. The minimum passing score is 19 points. 

(e) A CCW DOJ Certified Instructor’s certification is valid for four years provided that the CCW 

DOJ Certified Instructor maintains a valid COE. To remain valid, a COE must be renewed 

annually. 

(f) A CCW DOJ Certified Instructor who has had their certification revoked may not reapply for 

certification earlier than one year from the effective date of the revocation.  

   

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 26165 and 26225, Penal Code. Reference: Section 26165, 

Penal Code. 
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§ 4412. POST-Certified Firearms Instructors May Serve as CCW Instructors. 

Any active or honorably retired peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with 

Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2 of the Penal Code, who is certified as a Firearms Instructor by 

the California Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) may provide the 

course of training described in Penal Code section 26165. Such officers are exempt from the 

application procedure described in section 4410. Reserve peace officers appointed pursuant to 

Penal Code section 830.6 do not qualify for this exemption. 

 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 26165 and 26225, Penal Code. Reference: Section 26165, 

Penal Code. 




