Fingerprint Rolling Certification
California law requires any individual who rolls fingerprints manually or electronically for licensure, certification and/or employment purposes to be certified by the state Department of Justice (Penal Code section 11102.1). A certified fingerprint roller must begin using his/her certification number as soon as it is received.
Penal Code section 11102.1(a)(2) exempts the mandatory certification requirement for law enforcement personnel, state employees and employees of tribal gaming agencies.
Here is basic information for individuals interesting in becoming a Certified Fingerprint Roller in California.
Step One (1) – Review the Handbook
This handbook provides you with basic steps, and responsibilities for obtaining a Certification including background check information and disqualifying offenses.
Fingerprint Rolling Certification Program Reference Handbook, pdf.
Step Two (2) – Complete the Application for Certification
Complete the Application for Certification (Form BCIA 8372 3/11).
Application for Certification - Form BCIA 8372 - 3/11, pdf
PLEASE NOTE: You will need to provide your Social Security Number for identification and verification purposes. By law, applicants must furnish this standard data element or the Application for Certification will not be processed. Your Social Security Number will not be made available for public inspection.
Social Security Privacy Information, pdf
Step Three (3) – Get fingerprinted
Once you have completed the Application for Certification, you will need to be fingerprinted.
To find the Live Scan site nearest you, their hours of operation, and fees for fingerprinting services, please click on this link for a list of Public Live Scan Sites. If you have any questions, contact the Fingerprint Rolling Certification Program at (916) 227-6420 or email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Once you have decided on a Live Scan site, please complete and provide the following Request for Live Scan Service (BCII 8016) form to the Live Scan site for electronic processing of your fingerprints.
Request for Live Scan Service - Form BCIA 8016FP, pdf.
Please note: You must present valid photo identification when being fingerprinted. Expired identification information will not be accepted.
A fingerprint-rolling fee may be collected when you get your fingerprints taken. Since this fee varies widely among locations, you will want to review the cost before going to a fingerprinting site. Be sure to check for any restrictions on method of payment, such as cash or money order only.
There also is a criminal history processing fee collected by the DOJ and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) for the background checks and an additional $25 fee for the Certification. Total $74.00. While often paid by the agency you will be employed with, some applicants may be required to pay this fee themselves, so check with your requesting agency.
PLEASE NOTE: The DOJ does not accept manual hard card fingerprint impressions for Fingerprint Roller Certification submissions.
Step Four (4) – Mail completed Application Packet to the DOJ
NOTE: Due to the recent enactment of Senate Bill (SB) 174, Chapter 25, Statutes of 2009; Penal Code Section 11102.1 was amended to remove the notarization requirement for a person applying to become a certified fingerprint roller.
Effective January 1, 2010 the Application for Certification of Non-Exempted Individuals to Take Fingerprint Impressions (BCIA 8372) no longer requires the application to be notarized. If you have any questions, please contact the Fingerprint Rolling Certification Program at (916) 227-6420.
Once you have been fingerprinted, mail the Application for Certification to:
Department of Justice
Fingerprint Rolling Certification Program
P.O. Box 903387
Sacramento, CA 94203-3870