About the AG

  • Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Instructions for Submitting Your Comments

You may submit a written comment on a proposed rulemaking during the open comment period. Each Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (Notice) specifies the commencement of the 45-day comment period. If your written comment is not received by the date specified at the end of the period, your comment will not be accepted nor considered for modification of the proposed rulemaking before adoption, amendment, or repeal.

Written Comments are to include:

To assist the Department in tracking all public comments, we ask that you include the following in your written comment:

  • Contact Information:
    Name
    Business Entity/State Agency (if applicable)
    Street Address
    City, State, Zip
    Email Address (if applicable)
  • Regulation Tracking Number and Title of Proposed Rulemaking
    E.g., DOJ-10-005 – Amendment to Child Abuse Reports Recordkeeping
  • Comments Relevant to the Proposed Rulemaking
    Effective comments should be based on understanding the laws, statutes and facts the agency uses to propose the regulation, and what the proposed rulemaking is intended to do.

Send written comments via:

  • Email the contact person(s) listed on the Notice
    –OR–
    the Department of Justice (DOJ) Regulations Coordinator at DOJRegulationsCoordinator@doj.ca.gov. The subject line should include the regulation tracking number and title of the proposed rulemaking. Comments typed in a Word document or PDF format may be included as an e-mail attachment.
  • Facsimile (FAX) to the contact person(s) listed on the Notice
    –OR–
    the DOJ Regulations Coordinator at (916) 324-5033. Please include the regulation tracking number and title of the proposed rulemaking on the cover page.
  • United States Postal Service at the address included on the Notice
    –OR–
    California Department of Justice
    Attn: DOJ Regulations Coordinator
    1300 I Street, Suite 820
    Sacramento, CA 95814
  • Attending a Public Hearing
    Under the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), an agency has an option as to whether it wishes to hold a public hearing on a proposed rulemaking. However, if an agency does not schedule a public hearing, and any interested person submits a written request for one within 15 days prior to the close of the written comment period, the agency must give notice of, and hold a public hearing. If a public hearing is scheduled, the time, date, and location will be determined in the Notice.

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]