About the AG

  • Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel

Contractors

Tips for Hiring a Contractor:

A contractor is a person or company that offers services like construction, home remodeling, painting, paving, roofing, or electrical work to improve your home or property. The decision to update your home can be a big and expensive one, so take your time before you make a decision about hiring a contractor. Be sure to get multiple bids and check references.

Hire only licensed contractors. Anyone performing home improvement work valued at $500 or more is required to be licensed by the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) and should be bonded and insured. Hiring an unlicensed contractor is risky: the quality of the work may be poor and you may be exposed to increased costs if your property is damaged, the work is incomplete or faulty, or if a worker is injured while on your property.

To Verify License Status or for Questions:

Verify license status online or by calling 1-800-321-CSLB (2752).

The CSLB also has a helpful summary of what you should know before hiring a contractor: http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Resources/GuidesAndPublications/WYSKPamphlet.pdf, and provides other helpful information including what to do when you have a dispute with a contractor: http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Consumers/Consumers.aspx.

Some Common Home Improvement Scams (often targeting seniors):

  • A contractor, or person claiming to be a contractor, comes to your door and offers to do roofing, painting, install solar panels, or perform other work at a reduced price. Once payment is made, the project is abandoned.
  • A deceitful contractor offers a free inspection, then lies about faulty wiring, bad plumbing, a leaky roof or other defects that put the homeowner in danger (scare tactics). This can cause a homeowner to panic and agree to unnecessary and over-priced work.
  • A contractor pushes for an immediate decision about work (high-pressure sales), which would make it impossible for the consumer to get competitive bids, check licenses, or review references.
  • A contractor takes more for a down payment than is allowed by law, claiming to need it for supplies and to pay workers. By law, a down payment cannot exceed 10% of the project price or $1,000, whichever is less.

To Report Complaints:

You can file a complaint with the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) online at https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/ConstructionComplaint/ComplaintFormProcess.aspx or by mail using their Construction Complaint form.

State & Federal Laws

You can search California laws on the Internet

California Law

View a checklist of significant California consumer laws

CA Dept of Consumer Affairs

Search U.S. laws on the Internet at U.S. Code

U.S. Code

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]