Firearms Reporting & Law Enforcement Gun Release Application

The California Reporting Information System (CRIS) is a web-based application that will allow an individual to report their firearms to the Department of Justice (DOJ) as outlined in California firearms laws and regulations. For your protection, the DOJ does not process credit card payments nor does it retain record of the credit card data. All payments are conducted through a third party payment application processing company using secured transactions.

Please be advised, due to circumstances beyond the control of the DOJ, application processing times may deviate. Factors, such as recent arrests, incomplete criminal history records, or other circumstances may contribute to the processing time frame.

Benefits of Using CRIS

  • Convenience – Ability to report your firearms through an online application form using the internet which will eliminate the need to mail the application to DOJ and save time.
  • Pay by credit card – The system accepts major credit cards such as Visa, Master Card, American Express and Discover.
  • Upload attachments – Firearm receipts, pictures of the firearm, police reports, or other documents that may be helpful for DOJ staff to process your application.

Benefits of Creating a CRIS Account

Creating a CRIS account is quick and free! Take advantage of the following benefits when you have a CRIS account:

  • View and print your firearm account history – You can view your account history by logging on to your account and CRIS will retain your online applications for up to 5 years.
  • E-mail notification – With an account, you will receive electronic complete, incomplete and reject notifications for your firearm submission.
  • Submit an issue – With an account, you may submit an issue by accessing "Report an Issue".
  • Save your cart – When you are logged into your account, any applications you have submitted to your cart will remain in the cart for up to forty-five days.
  • Streamlined processing – Save time completing future applications as your personal information is encrypted and securely stored. Thus, there is no longer the requirement to re-type your personal information for future transactions.

Help Me Identify Which Report I Need

To help identify the correct DOJ report to submit, please select one of the following options for more information:

Accessing CRIS

Additional Bureau of Firearms Links

Back To Top



Firearm Ownership Report

Pursuant to California Penal Code section 28000, any person who is not required by law to report the acquisition or ownership of a firearm, or any person who is otherwise exempt from the requirement of conducting a transfer through a licensed firearms dealer, may report ownership of a firearm to the DOJ by submitting a Firearm Ownership Report.

Use the Firearm Ownership Report if:

  • You are at least 18 years of age or older
  • You have either a California identification, driver license or military identification
  • You have a California residential (street) address
  • You are not prohibited from owning/possessing a firearm
  • The firearm is not an assault weapon as defined in Penal Code sections 30210 through 30530

New Resident Firearm Ownership Report

As defined by California Penal Code sections 17000 and 27560, a personal firearm importer is any person who moves into California with a firearm that was acquired from outside of this state and who intends to own and possess the firearm in California. A personal firearm importer is required to report ownership of their firearms by submitting a New Resident Firearm Ownership Report within sixty (60) days of bringing the firearms into California.

Use the New Resident Firearm Ownership Report if:

  • You are at least 18 years of age or older
  • You have either a California identification, driver license or military identification
  • You have a California residential (street) address
  • You are not prohibited from owning/possessing a firearm
  • You intend to own and possess the firearm in California
  • The firearm being reported was acquired outside of California
  • You are the owner of the firearm
  • You are not a licensed firearms dealer, licensed manufacturer or licensed importer
  • The firearm is not an assault weapon as defined in Penal Code sections 30210 through 30530

Collector In-State Acquisition of Curio or Relic Long Gun Report

Pursuant to California Penal Code section 27966, persons residing in California who possess a Collector of Curios and Relics Federal Firearms License and a valid Certificate of Eligibility (COE) may lawfully acquire curio or relic long guns from non-licensees without completing the transfer through a licensed firearms dealer. The person obtaining or taking possession of the firearms is required to submit a Collector In-State Acquisition of Curio or Relic Long Gun Report within thirty (30) days of taking possession of the long gun.

Use the Collector In-State Acquisition of Curio or Relic Long Gun Report if:

  • You are at least 21 years of age or older
  • You have either a California identification, driver license or military identification
  • You have a California residential (street) address
  • You are not prohibited from owning/possessing firearms
  • You possess a valid COE
  • You possess a Collector of Curios and Relics Federal Firearms License pursuant to Chapter 44 of Title 18 of the United States Code
  • The firearm being reported is a curio or relic (as defined by Section 478.11 of Title 27 of the Code of Federal Regulations)
  • The firearm transfer was conducted within California
  • The firearm is not a handgun
  • The firearm is not an assault weapon as defined in Penal Code sections 30210 through 30530

Curio or Relic Firearm Report

Pursuant to California Penal Code section 27565, persons residing in California who possess a Collector of Curios and Relics Federal Firearms License may acquire a curio and relic firearm while outside of California and subsequently transport the firearm into California. The person is required to submit a Curio or Relic Firearm Report within five (5) days of transporting the firearm into California.

Use the Curio or Relic Report if:

  • You are at least 21 years of age or older
  • You have either a California identification, driver license or military identification
  • You have a California residential (street) address
  • You are not prohibited from owning/possessing firearms
  • You possess a Collector of Curios and Relics Federal Firearms License pursuant to Chapter 44 of Title 18 of the United States Code
  • The firearm being reported is a curio or relic (as defined by Section 478.11 of Title 27 of the Code of Federal Regulations)
  • The firearm transfer was conducted out-of-state
  • The firearm is not an assault weapon as defined in Penal Code sections 30210 through 30530

Report of Operation of Law

Pursuant to California Penal Code sections 16990 and 27920, a person that is at least 18 years of age and who has a valid Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) may take title or possession of a firearm by Operation of Law, in-lieu of completing the transfer through a licensed firearms dealer. Some examples of Operation of Law include an executor or administrator of an estate, spouses, trustee in bankruptcy, etc. The person obtaining or taking possession of the firearm is required to submit a Report of Operation of Law within thirty (30) days of taking possession of the firearm.

Use the Report of Operation of law if:

  • You are at least 18 years of age or older
  • You have either a California identification, driver license or military identification
  • You have a California residential (street) address
  • You are not prohibited from owning/possessing firearms
  • You are receiving the firearm by Operation of Law, pursuant to Penal Code section 16960
  • You currently possess a valid FSC, or in the case of a handgun, a valid unexpired Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC), or a FSC exemption, pursuant to Penal Code section 31700
  • The firearm is not an assault weapon as defined in Penal Code sections 30210 through 30530

Report of Intra-Familial Firearm Transaction

Pursuant to Penal Code sections 16720 and 27875, a person that is at least 18 years of age and who has a valid Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) may take title or possession of a firearm by gift, bequest, intestate succession or by other means from an immediate family member, in-lieu of completing the transfer through a licensed firearms dealer provided that the transfer is infrequent and that the Report of Intra-Familial Firearm Transaction is submitted within thirty (30) days of the transfer.

Use the Report of Intra-Familial Firearm Transaction if:

  • You are at least 18 years of age or older
  • You have either a California identification, driver license or military identification
  • You have a California residential (street) address
  • You are not prohibited from owning/possessing firearms
  • The firearm being reported was acquired in-state as a gift from an immediate family member (as defined by Penal Code section 16720)
  • You currently possess a valid FSC, or in the case of a handgun, a valid unexpired Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC), or a FSC exemption, pursuant to Penal Code section 31700
  • The firearm is not an assault weapon as defined in Penal Code sections 30210 through 30530

Law Enforcement Gun Release Application

Pursuant to Penal Code section 33850, any person who claims ownership of a firearm that is in the custody or control of a court or law enforcement agency, and who wishes to have the firearm returned, is required to submit a Law Enforcement Gun Release Application.
Use the Law Enforcement Gun Release Application if:

  • You are at least 18 years of age or older
  • You have either a California issued identification, driver license, military identification or out of state identification.
  • You are not prohibited from owning/possessing firearms
  • You are requesting the return of a firearm in custody or control of a court or law enforcement agency
  • You are the reported owner of the firearm
  • You acquired the firearms from an immediate family member and have submitted an Intra-Familial Firearm Transaction Report, pursuant to Penal Code sections 16720 and 27875
  • You acquired the firearms as an executor or administrator of an estate and have submitted an Operation of Law Transaction Report, pursuant to Penal Code sections 16990 and 27920
  • You acquired the firearms from a spouse or registered domestic partner and have submitted an Operation of Law Transaction Report, pursuant to Penal Code 27920
  • The firearm is not an assault weapon as defined in Penal Code sections 30210 through 30530

Back To Top