1. Find out if you are eligible
You may qualify to waive the $25 Department of Justice fee to get your criminal history record if
you live in California and any of the following situations apply to you:
You receive public assistance like CalFresh / Food Stamps,
Medi-Cal, or Disability.
Your income is low for your area and your household size.
- You have no income.
We will ask you for a small amount of additional information. For example,
your EBT ID card number or an estimate of your monthly income.
I don't live in California
2. Fill out the form
We’ll need some personal information and your mailing address and ask you to verify and declare
with an electronic signature that the information you entered is true under
penalty of perjury.
The Department of Justice collects and uses personal information requested on the form to
process requests regarding a DOJ fee waiver. Any personal information collected by state
agencies is subject to the limitations in the Information Practices Act and state policy. The DOJ's
3. Print or email the form
Print the form (called Application for Live Scan Fingerprinting Services).
You can also save it, or email it to yourself to print it later.
This form will contain a fee waiver assigned number that will save you $25
on the total cost to get your criminal history record. You will still have
to pay a fee determined by the live scan fingerprinting service provider.
After you print the form: